We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quality hotel at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Queens - Leeds to your Saves list
The Queens - Leeds
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Northants
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Quality hotel at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in November whilst attending a seminar. I found the staff to be extremely helpful and attentive.
Yes there are areas of the hotel where the decoration has seen better days, but overall the decor reflected the tasteful characteristics of the building.
The full English (help yourself) breakfast was excellent, with the usual continual style breakfast as an option.
I thought that the main bar prices were reasonable in comparison to similar hotels.

Check out was quick and painless.

Room was quiet and very comfortable.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear HonestJohnNorthant

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was pleased to read that on the whole you very much enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    586
    237
    104
    60
See reviews for
149
642
121
494
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed hear for a couple of nights whilst at a conference/Exhibition.

The hotel is a fantastic old place but could do with a little tidying in places.

Having said that the period features that remain are very nice.

Was upgraded to a King suite I think she called it which was quite nice, Room had a small living room attached with a second TV. A little dated in style but clean and tidy, and very comfortable good view of the city too.

Staff were friendly and helpful and its central postion by the station is fantastic for the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Mark W

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, thank you too for your thoughts regarding the décor, you are correct the hotel during the refurbishment did its utmost to keep many of the original period features. Pleased that you had the opportunity to stay in one of our King Junior suites, next time I would urge you to try QClub, it really is life at the top.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This former railway hotel has a certain class about it!

Location - With an indoor entrance into Leeds Railway station and facing onto City Square, the location couldn't be more perfect. The central business district around Park Square, the retail quarter around Briggate and the civic area around The Headrow are all less than five minutes walk away. The Riverside, Universities, Victoria Arcade, Leeds Market and Coach Station are less than ten minutes walk away. As well as the Railway station, the hotel is located close to cheap car parks on Whitehall Road and buses serving this part of the Leeds Loop.

Service - Personally, I found staff to be courteous and beyond welcoming. This isn't the most exclusive hotel in the city, but it does encourage feelings of nostalgia to a bygone age.

Decor and Atmosphere - The art-deco features are pretty nice, although in the bar area this was added to by some garish modern enhancements including vile blue 'mood' lighting.

Overall - A great stay, an old fashioned gem. There are some deals to be had, but if you're looking for the most exclusive hotel in the city, there are others which beat the Queens hands down. However, none of the modern, sterile hotels have the "old-school" charm of this former Railway hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Upsource

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with the wider travelling community. I appreciate your kind review and will certainly pass on to the team as I am sure they will find it a great source of motivation.

Do visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was booked for me by my company and I was quite happy with the result. The room was huge, the bed was comfortable and the hotel was beautiful. I had a beautiful view from my room on the second floor (Rm 110). I did find the light switches and the lights somewhat confusing but it may have been me more than the room (;-). The staff was quite nice and the common areas were also beautiful. It wasn't inexpensive but... I feel like it was a nice value. It is very convenient to the train station (literally on top of it) and there were a number of attractive restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: My room (110) was on the front and had a great view of an attractive square right across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear BobAmick1954

Thank you for your lovely review of The Queens. I am thrilled you had a super stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel to others. We look forward to making you welcome again soon.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have just been involved in organising a black tie event for 350 people at The Queens. Nothing was too much trouble and the service was outstanding. We had booked a standard double room which was fairly small but had everything we needed and was exceptionally clean. Our room was 235 on the second floor and overlooked the exit of the train station... After reading others comments, I must add that we had no problems with noise etc from the commuters or taxis etc

The food at the event was lovely and there was a wide selection of food for breakfast.

Bar service was fairly slow in the main bar area during the afternoon but the service and food made up for that.

All in all, a pleasant experience... A hotel I'd certainly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear 550MelC38

Thank you for choosing The Queens to help you celebrate your event, I was delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations. I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to be your host venue in events to come.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coelbren, Neath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the Queens hotel Leeds during a conference in November 2012. We were met at the main entrance where our vehicle was parked for us in the underground car park. The staff were quite welcoming and appeared very efficient throughout our stay. The hotel is centrally situated and within easy walking distance of pubs and restaruants. The double room was well equipped and furnished to a high standard. There was a corporate meal where the staff served up to 200 delegates and they coped very well. A lovely hotel and a very enjoyable visit to Leeds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Eric B

Thank you for your lovely review of The Queens. I am thrilled you had a super stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel to others. We look forward to making you welcome again soon.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrickfergus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Great location but that was it !! I was in room 435 which looks onto the bus/ train station so no sleep for me ! Air con didn't work so room was cold and uncomfortable. Food however was the worst of all - cheap mince with lumps of fat in lasagna and tasteless. Bar closed up at 1 am even though I was a resident. Never again I'm afraid - investment needed to bring this hotel up to scratch. Such a shame as a great location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear MervynCarrickfergus

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at our hotel. I was disappointed to learn that you did not have a satisfactory stay with us and at this late stage can only offer you my most sincere apologies. I do believe your experience on this occasion to be most untypical of our usual high standards of service as evidenced by many other reviewers scoring their stay with us as either excellent or very good. I have noted your comment regarding the quality of food and can assure you that this will be addressed. I will certainly discuss the air conditioning issue with our maintenance manager.

I would genuinely welcome an opportunity to redeem our excellent reputation and therefore hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens - Leeds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.