We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth avoiding” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Leeds Parkway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Leeds Parkway to your Saves list
Mercure Leeds Parkway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Otley Road, Leeds LS16 8AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth avoiding”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Myself and numerous colleagues stayed at the Mercure Parkway for approximately 6 weeks whilst on a training course for work. During this time we stayed in various rooms throughout the hotel - some better than others, but none were particularly spectacular and all suffered from terrible road noise from traffic nearby. The water presuure in there more upmarket 'studio' rooms was so poor you'd struggle to get wet in the shower (no bath either). Rooms were reasonably clean, although the bathrooms in some of the rooms had mould around the shower screens. The 'free' wifi was so slow it was pointless, but you could of course pay for an uprated high speed (£9 for 2 hours I recall!). The food was poor at best and massively over priced - as were the drinks behind the bar (£4.20 for a can - not draught - of ale). Breakfast had a really poor selection, to be honest, it was that bad we stopped going. The way the hotel is managed has much to be desired. It's really a shame as the hotel does have potential. There are much better alternatives to this one within a 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Flyerjet,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologise that we did not meet your expectations and have taken your comments on board and discussed them with the heads of departments concerned. Whilst we did have positive comments from the other members of the training programme that we chatted to during their stay, I apologise once again for not meeting your expectations.

I hope that we could persuade you to use the hotel on your next training course where I hope that your stay with us would be remembered for all the right reasons

Yours sincerely

Stewart Woodeson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    185
    104
    51
    26
See reviews for
78
215
18
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I booked a pre-ordered sandwich lunch here for a group of walkers. I visited the hotel and spoke to gentleman on reception who took our booking, gave me a copy of the sandwich lunches ( nothing else on offer apparently). Some days later I received a phone call from the hotel (sounded like the Functions Dept) asking for a deposit. I had to pay £150 deposit which was refunded on the day. We were seated together in The Bistro which was nice but the hot sandwiches were clot cold including the skinny chips. The home made soup and chunk of bread was dried Tomato soup from a packet and the chunk of bread was a 1 inch slice off a white baguette. At least the soup was hot. When I mentioned that lunch was not very good for everybody they implied that it was our fault as we were 20 minutes late getting to the dining room. So to conclude, don't use this hotel for group lunches, use the many public houses that do excellent lunches for groups and really want the business. No deposits either.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Gill L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on your visit although it is a shame that we were not aware of your feelings until reading this review. I shall discuss the matter with both our restaurant manager and our head chef and investigate why the food was not piping hot as it should have been.

Once again, please accept my apologies. Kind regards,

Stewart Woodeson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

we have just returned from a three day weekend at this hotel, and I must say we could not have had a better time! excellent service and wedding facilities the staff could not do enough for all the guests, and a special mention has to go to Diane on reception this lady knows her job, and was able to sort out any booking quiries with professionalism, Jay was also on reception and is perfect for front desk, smiley, friendly, and patient. If you were thinking of this hotel for your wedding as a guest, I would say don't think twice, service, food, rooms, venue and party at night were all great. great choice Paul and Nikki congratulations .

Room Tip: we were in a family room with a balcony, looking out on the wooded area and pool, on the 2nd floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Mary Ann C

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel - I am delighted that you enjoyed Paul & Nikki's wedding with us, in particular the service that the staff provided. I shall ensure that your comments are passed onto all the staff mentioned.

Once again, thank you for your comments and kind regards,

Stewart Woodeson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

It's well over 30 years since I last stayed in this hotel when I used to visit the area on business. With youngest offspring now at Leeds University, we decided to book 2 family rooms for a short weekend visit and provide him with a break from Student Halls of residence. When we arrived and noticed wedding guests also arriving at the same time, we began to fear the worst envisaging hotel resources being overrun as a consequence.
Could not have been more mistaken. The rooms were excellent, the leisure facility was a welcome addition, the staff were so friendly and the food was absolutely spot on. This hotel is obviously big enough to be an events hotel, as well as looking after the other guests.
On the last day we had a lovely walk in the nearby wildlife park which was really refreshing and the weekend was rounded off when one of the restaurant staff (sorry I cannot remember the name) averted a disaster by discovering my wife's purse which she had left at the breakfast table.
Thank you to all the staff who made our short stay very enjoyable and would have no hesitation in staying again and will now be on the look out for Jupiter Group hotels when staying at other UK destinations

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Speedwaydthom,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us to make us aware of your experience - the staff will be delighted with your feedback and I shall find our member of breakfast staff who found your purse and thank them personally - believe it or not, someone left their briefcase with laptop and ipad inside at breakfast last week!

I'm glad you had a superb time and am glad that we lived up to your expectations. Please don't leave it another 30 years before coming to visit us again!

Kind regards,

Stewart Woodeson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just had my daughter's wedding at this hotel. The staff were fantastic! They could not have done more for us. A special mention for Martin, who made sure that the day went smoothly! Everyone worked so hard for us. Thank you, each and every one of you for all your hard work. You were amazing and made sure that we had an amazing weekend! Xxxxx

Room Tip: All I can say is that the room we had overlooking the gardens, with a balcony, was lovely .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Else B

Thank you very much indeed for such a lovely review - I'm delighted that you are delighted!

I have just seen Martin and he's over the moon with your feedback - thank you for recognising both his and the rest of the staff's efforts. Please come back soon, but not for a marriage next time, at least not involving Nikki!

Kind regards,

Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

After staying at the hotel for a family wedding, my wife and I were so impressed by the lovely welcoming staff that we decided to stay an extra night. We arrived to a warm welcome from Dianne on reception, who couldn't have been more helpful. The bar staff were all pleasant and friendly. Martin made sure the wedding reception, with 180 guests, went as smooth as it could have possibly gone. Billy catered for our every need and we couldn't fault any of the rest of the staff. The hotel is a little tired in places but immaculately clean and it is well worth a visit for the hospitality of the staff. We will certainly be coming back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear John Wozo,

Wow! Thank you for such a good review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the wedding and the service our staff provided during your stay - I will speak to both Diane and Martin today to make them aware of your review and thank them personally for their efforts. It it lovely to read a review such as this so thank you very much for taking the time to make all aware of your experience. Come again soon!

Kind regards,

Stewart Woodeson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Leeds Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leeds Parkway

Address: Otley Road, Leeds LS16 8AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Leeds Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in large mock-Tudor building on 2-1/2 acres next to Golden Acre Park & Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Leeds Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leeds Parkway Hotel Leeds
Ramada Leeds
Leeds Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Leeds Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.