We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good authentic Indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AM Kitchen and Bar

AM Kitchen and Bar
4 Trevelyan Square | 24-26 Briggate, Leeds LS1 6EP, England (Formerly Leeds Marriott Hotel)
113 242 2626
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 1,446 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good authentic Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The food was great, proper Indian food cooked from scratch and not some packet sauce rubbish. Free popadoms as well, which was a bonus.
Service was fine, the staff were very attentive, don't understand where all the complaints regarding service come from. Very unsual decor, I believe the premises used to be a jewellers.
Minus points, the toilets could be cleaner and some sauce served with our starters wouldn't have gone amiss.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    77
    24
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chislehurst
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It started off so well...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Having read the existing mixed reviews on here we decided to give it a go and make our own minds up. The restaurant is very quirky inside and quite dark but suited to the ambient. The pro's were free poppadoms & sauces and very tasty food. The cons were the lack of service once they took our plates away. We sat there for half an hour before we finally caught someone's attention. No offer of more drinks, coffee or dessert, no hot towel as per other tables.

Such a shame as the food was good and beautifully presented and then the service let it down.

If you have plenty of time to spare then go - otherwise, I'm sure there are other restaurants in the area that offer the same menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Should be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've had the room service here before staying in the Marriott. It was ok. The restaurant is leased and part of the Marriott building. Arriving later this time at the Marriott and in need of a convenient meal close by I gave the restaurant experiance a try.
It looked as though most of the clientele was Marriott based.
My meal was Shami Kebab, then Handi Ghost, keema rice and garlic naan.
Completely underwhelming.
Service was good. Decor/surroundings are lovely. Wish I'd gone elsewhere though.
Can't help but think that this place could and should be really good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
665 reviews 665 reviews
380 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
379 helpful votes 379 helpful votes
“Room Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

As this restaurant is part of the Marriott Hotel their standard menu also happens to be available via room service. This was a great plus point. The food I ordered was very simple (chicken tikka starter & chicken tikka biryani) and very tasty. Perhaps I just spend too much time alone in hotel rooms but I found myself saying out loud how nice it was.

So of course I cannot comment on staff or ambiance of the restaurant - but the food was great and, by a mile, put any other room service offer in its place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmKitchen A, Manager at AM Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Sleep007

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for AM Kicthen & Bar. I am pleased you liked the food, next time you are in Leeds it would be nice for you to come and dine in the restaurant so you can enjoy the surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

decent but not the best I have had, Pakora came with no sauce so was very dry,,,Fish was quite tough (over fried) in the Fish Kahari...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmKitchen A, Manager at AM Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Sleep007

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Am Kitchen & Bar, I am pleased to hear you liked the food. Next time you are in Leeds it would be nice for you to come and dine in the restaurant so you can enjoy our lovely surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AM Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to AM Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AM Kitchen and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.