We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - Going Back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AM Kitchen and Bar

AM Kitchen and Bar
4 Trevelyan Square | 24-26 Briggate, Leeds LS1 6EP, England (Formerly Leeds Marriott Hotel)
113 242 2626
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 1,446 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great - Going Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were a large group of about 20 but we were all served at the same time and the food was still hot. Great start. What was even better is that the food was fabulous. They are brilliant with the flavours and spices and the meat was very tender. Loved it. And yes, there was a wait betwen courses but I liked that as I didn't feel stuffed at any time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmKitchen A, Manager at AM Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear 186411Hotels

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for AM Kitchen & Bar, I am happy to hear that the food was fabulous, we always aim to please our customers at AM. Myself and the staff hope to see you back at the restaurant in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    77
    24
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HUDDERSFIELD
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is our new favourite place for curry. We used to go to Akbars but find the Leeds branch too noisy and you always feel rushed there. AM is a much nicer experience. The staff are lovely and the food is much better. The great selection tempts you to try something different each time you visit and we have never been disappointed. Oh and it's a beautiful old building, facinating. We are converts and will be back soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmKitchen A, Manager at AM Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear TRACYHuddersfield
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for AM Kitchen and Bar, I am pleased to hear that AM is your new favourite place for curry. We always aim to satisfy our customers. Myself and the staff hope to see you back at the restaurant very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Stunning venue and lovely food - but service very slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We ate here on Saturday night, it was not busy and we had prebooked our table.

The resturant is lovely, the food was delicious however the service was extremely slow. We were there for 90 minutes and we only had a main course!!

Would definately re-visit but ensure your not in a rush....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmKitchen A, Manager at AM Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Claireser

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for AM Kitchen & Bar, I am glad you liked the stunning venue and you mention how delicious the food was. I am surprised to hear the service was slow as we do not operate like this at AM kitchen & Bar and I am currently looking into this matter. Myself and the staff hope to see you back at the restaurant in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great fun the best in Leeds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I really love kitchen AM its a shame they don't market it more as they aren't always very busy. I'm not complaining its quiet at times- i just want to rave about it. I love curry and I've tried all the curry restaurants in leedd and it's the best one by far so spread the word.!! The food is fresh, tasty, great quality and lots to choose. It's non greasy and fantastically presented. The staff are also very friendly. A really great place try it you will not be disappointed its fantastic!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmKitchen A, Manager at AM Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear KT007
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for AM Kitchen and Bar. I am pleased to hear you visit the restaurant regular and that you are never disappointed, we always aim to please our customers at AM Kitchen and Bar. We look forward in seeing you back at the restaurant very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Even though we didn't prebook on a Saturday evening. We had a 20 minute wait to be seated and the staff were rushed off their feet but were fantastic and couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome. I'm not a spicy food person and there is not much choice if you don't like spicy foods etc but my wife enjoyed her Chicken Korma and has gone back this week with her work colleagues

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmKitchen A, Manager at AM Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Chizzy73
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for AM Kitchen and Bar, I have passed your nice comments onto the staff. I am pleased to hear your wife is coming back to the restaurant with her work colleagues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AM Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to AM Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AM Kitchen and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.