We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all true” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Leeds Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Leeds Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Leeds Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Millgreen View Ring Road, Leeds LS14 5QF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Buckinghamshire, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It's all true”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I actually dislike writing bad reviews. I try to look for a positive and the friendly barman was the only thing that I can think of - and as someone else said on another review, the bedlinen was clean. The rest of the hotel was not clean and I couldnt get any food at 9.20pm. Not even a biscuit on the tea tray. I was miserable, I can tell you. Communal areas were scuffed and dirty and needed desperate renewal. My husband booked this hotel on my behalf in an emergency and quite honestly he is lucky to still be married to me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    82
    79
    65
    88
See reviews for
42
109
31
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I recently spent the weekend in yorkshire and sayed for one night at this hotel.
On arrival first impressions were not good, empty beer cans and bags of rubbish outside hotel entrance.
my room was spacious with tea/coffee facilitys, flat screen tv, hairdryer, iron no wifi.
the bed was comfortable and clean.what let this room down was the poor standard of house keeping. carpets not vacumed, dust and marks on furniture.
The bathroom had mould around the bath/shower and damp on the ceiling.
there was some traffic noise but i expected that as i chose the hotel for its easy access to the motorway.
the food in the restaurant was good as was the service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Wolverhampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very glad i only had to put up with this place for one night. I've never stayed in such a dirty place. Carpets throughout the public areas are stained and threadbare. Doors and walls are bashed and dented.
Our room was positively filthy. The flat radiator was covered in old stains and drip marks which had not been wiped off. There was thick dust all along the skirting boards.
The kettle didn't work as it had a damaged bare wire.
Our twin room only had one set of towels provided.
Breakfast was terrible. Food had been sitting there so long it had congealed and the bags of bread put out for us to make our own toast were out of date!
We witnessed reception staff being rude to other guests.
This place isn't just tired and in need of a facelift, it's a health hazard.
Wish there was a no rating option, it doesn't even deserve the one i had to select!

Room Tip: Avoid them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I booked an overnight stay here for myself and 4 friends, this hotel is in dire need of a total overhaul, tired and shabby furnishings, stained carpets, dirty windows, i won't go on. The staff were nice and helpful and the breakfast was good, but the hotel was poor.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A party of five of us stayed one night thank goodness 4 nonsmokers and 1 smoker - we had one twin and one double smokers room and one single non smoking room,,,,,
The corridor leading to the two smoking rooms badly smelled of smoke as did the rooms! We did tell reception who said they had no other rooms!!
The hotel is dated in desperate need of an update everywhere!
Coach parties were obviously their priority and this was confirmed at breakfast which was from 8.30 to 10.30 we went in at 9 but had to wait for the coach parties to use their allocated tables!!!
The male receptionist was very helpful and cheerful as was the restaurant manageress

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night June 1st, it was shabby ! Reception was disorganized , room grubby, the radiator had stains on it . Breakfast was totally disorganized, had to keep asking for things to be replenished. In fact the only good thing i can say about this hotel , at least the bed linen was clean !!! N

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We booked a room at the Britannia hotel Leeds Bradford as we had an early flight. I was telephoned on the day of our stay to say that the rooms had been double booked and we had been transferred to this hotel.
Upon arrival it didnt look great - there were some tramps in the car park (where we had to leave our cars for a week!) and it was heavily littered.
The member of staff was polite and friendly but very slow. There is a charge of 50p to use a debit card and £2 to use a credit card.
The rooms were very dated, failry clean and basic.
Having read a few other reviews it looks like double booking is something Britannia do often- they will allow their 2 hotelsin Leeds to be booked and they will swap you to the one which has the room. Not ideal when you have booked to stay at the airport for an early flight. The travel time from this hotel to the airport is 20 mins early morning and 35-40 in the day.
Next time I will book in the travel lodge or stay at home.(thankfully our cars were there when we got back!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Leeds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Leeds Hotel

Address: Millgreen View Ring Road, Leeds LS14 5QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Leeds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Leeds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Leeds North Hotel Leeds
Leeds Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Leeds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.