We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Leeds Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Leeds Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Leeds Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Millgreen View Ring Road, Leeds LS14 5QF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Filthy, dirty hotel with filthy dirty rooms and the staffs attitude match it very well!!! Bar staff rude and arrogant, food is disgusting. obviously desperate for the money as people allowed to drink as much alcohol as they want well past the point of drunk every night!

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    83
    80
    65
    88
See reviews for
42
110
32
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed on Saturday (10th November) which was supposed to be for one night but we couldn't manage it as the room was in a terrible state. There was DRIED BLOOD on the bed sheet to which we asked if the sheets could be changed, obviously this was too much trouble so they only changed the bedsheet. The sink was full of toothpaste and had soap scum and water marks on the taps in both the bath and sink! The floor had not been hoovered, moths and flies on the floor by the window. Inside the draws were full of receips, dust and hair. One of the pillow cases looked as if they were mould growing on it. Overall a terrible room. The worst me and my parter have every stayed in, ever. Will not be going to any of their hotels again. Disgusting and room smelled like mould. So so so dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here first time and the shower in the room did not work and the lifts did not work. This weekend we risked it again. Arrived to find that our double room booked and paid for in advance was not available due to the hotel had overbooked the rooms and they had put us in a twin which was not acceptable. Did not even have the courtesy of telling us they had done this, we noticed as we began booking in. We had no option as no hotels near our venue had rooms available, so after complaint they gave us a reduction on the price but it ruined our weekend. The room stunk of smoke and we then found it was a smoking room. The rooms were tired but beds comfortable. The breakfast was adequate but cold and the toaster did not work. Will never use this hotel again even if an offer was available. Twice bitten...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Visited just last week, easy access just on ring road. Easy to find. 20 mins from city centre, well worth the money breakfast was brilliant the staff very friendly and polite would happily stay here again. Work was ongoing so looks like there's a bit of a revamp going on but dispite other reviews think this place might have had a bit of a raw deal.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here overnight with weekend coach break. The rooms are a bit dated. but there is a note in rooms stating they are due to be made over. The service was great and so was the food. Very good evening meal, and everything you could want for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I spent one night in October, to reduce my travelling to and from Leeds for social events.
The building would seem to hark back to the 60s or so, but the public areas were reasonably fresh.
My room was a bit tired looking, with contrast marks on the wall where something had previously been. It was reasonably clean, and I'll assume that the long hair in the bath came from the cleaner as she bent over the bath scrubbing it ;)
Tea and coffee making facilities, a TV, and ensuite bathroom, along with free wifi in the reception. The room was generously heated too, and I had to turn it off during the night.
I could feel the springs through the mattress a bit, and I heard others complaining about it.

It is located next to a busy junction, but set a little back. You can hear cars, but it isn't massively intrusive. Get earplugs and you won't noticed it at all.

I don't know what others paid, but I know that I could have paid double, and been in something of a lower standard. At least with such a hotel you have chains of command to raise complaints with. Don't expect any comeback in a poor, privately run B&B.
I was very happy with what I got for the price I paid.
I also added the breakfast for a fiver, and it was varied and tasty for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A group of 6 of us stayed here fro one night on September 16th. Not the best, to be polite. Arrived earlier than check-in, with a welcome from one receptionist and another member of staff (always seen around the lobby area with a clip board). Although in the end, we were laughing and carrying on with these members of staff, due to alcohol intake/lack of sleep on our behalf, I could have felt quite unwelcome with there look and attitude of these members of staff when we entered, as if we shouldn't be arriving at this time.
Being told we cannot check in, no help, no consideration at all, we then asked if we could leave our bags which they stored in the back office area for us and then entered the wonderfully light, open and modern bar area (this is sarcasm). with the bar shutter still being down, we were served and the drinks pushed through the gaps on the ends of the bar.
We then realised we would have 3 hours to wait to check in so asked if early check in was available, which was answered with a laugh, still no answer now! so we drank up and headed into town, not wanting to find out what the food would be like in the hotel... otherwise this review could be even worse, if the breakfast is any reflection.
Ohh... before we did leave, one girl in our group required to straighten her hair, the receptionist allowed her to enter the reception and sit behind to use the socket, slightly unprofessional?
So we arrived back at about 5/6-ish to check in, this took approximately 30 minutes, moving rooms trying to get us as close as possible, ended up 2 were together, another room at the other side of the hotel, in what seemed to be another building. We didn't sit around, rooms were old, but functional, tired and worn. Bathroom a little worse and older (old not in a vintage or stylish way I might add). And we headed out.
Returning at about 2am-ish, no staff presence at all... went to bed, went to each others rooms, in and out a little bit, maybe slightly noisy, but no one seemed to care, and went to sleep in quite an uncomfortable and small bed at around 4. Woke up by housekeeping at around 8am, great!
Told breakfast was included when we checked in... it wasn't! Sat down to be told we would be paying £6 each. Hard, stale and pointless, as if we were in a small, run down B&B in some European country. There was also beef at breakfast (untouched obviously) if anyone fancied that... i paid £6 for one slice of toast, an egg and possibly half a jug of apply juice (perfect hangover cure by the way...).
One thing I did notice was the amount of staff in the morning, the 'clip-board' lady, a receptionist, 2 people serving about 6 people for breakfast, 3 chefs in the breakfast room at one point, a man who acted like a member of staff but just had his bingo coat on and his newspaper in hand and 2 other people wondering about, looking important (uniform standards shocking too, in case this will spoil your trip, as it would mine). Checked out, got another member of the group to do this... never to go again, hopefully, please...

Room Tip: Expect nothing, get less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Leeds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Leeds Hotel

Address: Millgreen View Ring Road, Leeds LS14 5QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Leeds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Leeds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Leeds North Hotel Leeds
Leeds Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Leeds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.