We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming pool & Sauna” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Leeds City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Leeds City to your Saves list
Hilton Leeds City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neville Street, Leeds LS1 4BX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #38 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Swimming pool & Sauna”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I came for a Spa day, so didnt actislly stay at the hotel.
Disappointed to say the least,
Didn't have my booking when I arrived.
Given robes & slippers & pointed in direction of pool. There was meant to be hot drinks available but were not offered them, there was no where really to sit & relax. One lounger & 2 sofas, the latter being used as a dumpUng area for robes as no where else to put them.
Swimming pool is an L shape and looks to be an after thought show-horned in to a small space.
The large separate jacuzzi wasn't working. The pool temp was tepid & the small jacuzzi in the pool was same temp and just bubbled a bit, not exactly a jacuzzi.
You can't really swim in the pool, too shallow, never came much higher than my chest, and as it was fairly crowded kept bumping into people.
We found the steam room & sauna, and spent maybe another 2mins in there.
Then we left, didn't want to stay any longer.
As this is a Hilton hotel, I expected high standards. The pool area was in poor condition, part plastered walls, and generally felt old & tired. The changing facilities were quite small, only 1 cubicle, so unless you are happy to get changed in front of everyone else, you may have to queue.
Showers were good, powerfull & clean.
Very glad this was a "deal" and only paid abt £15 for 2 people.
Would not come back for leisure facilities.
My mum was waiting in the bar, and she said the menu prices are very high, although we never ordered anything so I can't comment on that.
Come on Hilton, buck your ideas up!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear MrsDoc09
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback via Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Your feedback is very much appreciated.
I have noted your constructive feedback in regard to your Spa Day and our Leisure Club, and have discussed your concerns at great length with my Livingwell Manager. I am sorry for the disappointment caused to you in regard to the Spa Day which was offered to you by Serenity and that your full experience did not meet your expectations.
On a lighter note, I am delighted to note that you particularly enjoyed the showers which were made available to you, during your visit.
Thank you once again for taking the time to comment, your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards

Steven J Hall
General Manager Hilton Leeds City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    388
    279
    111
    63
See reviews for
90
338
62
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel does not live up to the Hilton reputation for quality accommodation. I booked three rooms for my family for a special occasion but felt that the housekeeping was well below par. All three rooms were missing dressing gowns and slippers; one room was missing toiletries and our adjoining rooms had an unpleasant fishy smell. The spa and pool area, and indeed the whole hotel, looked tired and in need of an overhaul. On the plus side, the staff are very pleasant and friendly and the buffet breakfast was truly excellent. On the whole, this stay was not good value and we will not revisit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your epic review on Tripadvisor, following your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Your comments are very much appreciated. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment in regards to your stay with us. I am sorry to read that you were missing dressing gowns and slippers/toiletries. We have Management on duty 24/7 and they would have been delighted to assist you.
Your constructive comments have been noted in regards to our hotel. I am delighted to read that you found my team pleasant and friendly. I am sorry that you feel unable to return to our hotel, due to your experience.
Kind regards

Steven J Hall
General Manager Hilton Leeds City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Was more like a premier inn/ travel lodge standard. Clean & basic. Location is quite good, near to bars/restaurants, but we wouldn't say it was worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to comment via Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Your feedback is very much appreciated. I am sorry to read of your disappointment.
Thank you once again for taking the time to comment, your feedback is very much appreciated.
Kind regards

Steven J Hall
General Manager Hilton Leeds City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidmas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Have just returned from an unbelievably bad experience at Serenity Spa within the Hilton at Leeds.
After arranging a spa package with treatments for a friends birthday surprise, we arrived at the Hilton hotel excited for the day ahead. We arrived to an extremely busy pool area full adults teenagers and young children. We were unable to sit and relax by the pool because it was so crowded even though we had been assured on booking that there would be ample room for our group of 10 ladies. The steam room was 'out of order' and as the jacuzzi was full we were unable to use it. Only three of our party decided to go ahead with the massages booked and the rest of us decided to have coffees and wait in the reception area. We were horrified as all the massages were done at the same time, in the same room....this room being a conference room in the hotel!! They were disturbed by someone walking into the room during treatment and the noise of children running through the corridor outside!! The only positive was that the duty managers customer service skills were fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Your feedback is very much appreciated.
I have noted your constructive feedback in regard to our Leisure Club, and discussed your concerns with my Livingwell Manager to ensure that all guests requirements are met at all times. I am sorry for the disappointment caused to you in regard to the spa treatments which were offered to you and your party by Serenity, Please be assured that the appropriate corrective re-training has since been carried out. I am sorry, once again, that the treatments did not meet your expectation.
On a lighter note, thank you for your kind comments in regard to my Duty Manager who spoke to you, during your stay with us.
Thank you once again for taking the time to comment, your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards

Steven J Hall
General Manager Hilton Leeds City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night just to get away an do a bit of shoppin an seein Leeds the hotel was loverly inside and out the bar an reception staff were very friendly and helpful our room was a double very spacious and clean the only slight problem I had was the restaurant the menu was very little and we paid 20.00 for a steak an it came with 6 chips were still very hungry after other than that excellent would definitely return

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Your feedback is very much appreciated. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
I have noted your constructive feedback in regard to the steak and chips, that you ate in our City 3 Restaurant. Please be assured that I have discussed your concerns at great length with my Executive Head Chef, who will ensure that the appropriate corrective re-training will be carried out. I am sorry for the disappointment caused to you.
Thank you once again for taking the time to comment, your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards

Steven J Hall
General Manager Hilton Leeds City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed one night but rooms and beds lovely and breakfast buffet really nice.staff all pleasant and helpful.security good on evening as they monitored people coming into the hotel room by room.close to train station,may need a taxi to get to some pubs restaurant but good location overall.all sorts of ppl staying- couples,hens,business men.no real noise.will come back

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind feedback noted on Tripadvisor, following your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Your comments are very much appreciated. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you once again for taking the time to comment. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards

Steven J Hall
General Manager Hilton Leeds City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Leeds City for a short break recently. The location of the hotel is ideal - easy to find by car or rail, on-site parking, easy walking distance to pubs, restaurants, shops etc. Staff were all courteous, friendly and very helpful. Great breakfast, lovely room. Represented great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor, following your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Your comments are very much appreciated. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you once again for taking the time to comment. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards

Steven J Hall
General Manager Hilton Leeds City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Leeds City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leeds City

Address: Neville Street, Leeds LS1 4BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leeds City 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Leeds City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leeds City Hotel Leeds
Leeds Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Leeds City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.