We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leeds Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Leeds Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Leeds Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Trevelyan Square | Boar Lane, Leeds LS1 6ET, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Maidenhead, UK
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

The key issue of a good nights sleep were fulfilled: Good quality bed, great bed coverings, curtains that shut out the light and no noise to disturb you.
Bedroom and bathroom were clean, well maintained. The bathroom looked just a tad dated. Very nice bathroom amenities, tea/coffee and iron and ironing board (thank goodness for Americans there)

Breakfast is good, fantastic orange juice (one of the best that I have had). Good selection of everything that you could want, just a few items starting to dry up under the buffet lamps.

(PS to hotel - there are about 6 light bulbs that need changing in this area!)

The reception coming in and out were friendly and efficient.

There is no car parking to the hotel, you get directed to an NCP around the corner at £4.50 overnight rate. Good central location if you need Leeds centre.

All in all, an enjoyable stay, little to fault.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    403
    147
    53
    19
See reviews for
113
355
66
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

We have stayed many times at the Leeds Marriott and everytime we have enjoyed our stay. All the front of house staff fall over themselves to help you.

Check-in is always a breeze and on our recent stay we booked a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast rate. At check-in the inclusive meal situation was explained and that we could choose from the main menu and any sides were chargable and steaks carried a supplement.

During the course of the meal we were asked to settle our bar bill for the drinks consumed at the table prior to completing our meal, no issue really but when we waited for our deserts for over 30 minutes we were told by I hope an inexperienced waitress that 'well you have had a free meal'!. I couldn't believe what I was hearing and took it up with the restuarant manager who apologised on here behalf.

All the rooms have recently been refurbished and offer the Marriott Revive Beds which are so soft and comfy you don't want to get out of them!.

The hotel is really well positioned for the shops, city centre and nightlife, but because of this it can get very rowdy at the weekends with endless stag and hen parties.

The bar area is starting to look a little neglected and I would hope this would be addressed by the hotel operators as its the only real area of the hotel that lets it down. The hotel is always full at the weekends and you often have to sit in a make shift extension of the restuarant for breakfast in the bar area if you time it wrong.

Overnight parking is across the courtyard in the NCP car park which is a little on the steep side @ £13 a night but then again you are in the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
572 helpful votes 572 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

Stayed at the Marriott for two nights (Fri/Sat). Got great deal at 66pounds B&B per night (for 2!) by booking on their own website 21 days in advance. We flew into Leeds/Bradford and got the bus into Leeds (3.40 for the two of us!). Hotel just around the corner from the train station.
Had booked the hotel as a treat for my hubbie to have dinner at Anthony's restaurant which happened to be nearer the front door of the hotel than our room was! Great for staggering home after our consumption of great food and wine!

Because of the cheap price we had paid - I had expected to get a tatty room the size of a broom cupboard - how I was wrong.

The room was beautifully appointed on the 6th floor, spotlessly clean and more than adequate for our needs. THE BED - what can I say - both it and the fluffy pillows were great and two good night sleeps were had by both of us (usually I find it hard to sleep in hotels). Bathroom too was spotless with range of toiletries and good quality fluffy towels.

Great range of food for breakfast and we were offered complimentary room service for the Sunday morning.

Employees we came in contact with were extremely professional, helpful and friendly.

Location is fab and Leeds was a very pleasant surprise. Great range of both high street and high end shops within easy reach and the major shopping streets are traffic free.


The hotel is a great choice in a great location and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it. I look forward to returning in the near future!

  • Liked — Location, Cleanliness, Comfort
  • Disliked — Having to leave on the Sunday!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

Needed somewhere to stay for just one night whilst in Leeds for a concert at the University. For such a short weekend stay, was tempted to go for my usual low end option choice, but ended up deciding to pay a little bit extra for the Marriott. Money very well spent. Hotel in great location, right in the centre of town, but also quiet as set back just off main road. Room extremely clean and comfortable, swimming pool and gymn excellent for working off the Saturday night ale, and a fantastic range of good quality breakfast food. Saved on parking by leaving the car all weekend in a nearby street, for just £3 in the parking meter. Taxi to the University £6. If you're looking at a low end option for a weekend break in Leeds, don't. Upgrade to the Marriott, the breakfast alone is worth the extra!

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

We have had frequent stays in Leeds since 2003 - our son was a student @ Leeds Met Uni and now lives + works there.

We have subsequently frequented several of the city centre hotels on numerous occasions so feel adequately informed to comment on the various 4* establishments in Leeds.

The main choice of hotel for us is location, and this is where the Marriott beats its competition as it is right beside the main shopping area of Briggate. Others are quite close including Queens Hotel, Malmaison + Park Plaza but we have found the overall ambience and friendliness of the staff more inviting at the Marriot which ultimately wins it for us.

The bedrooms are now of a standard to be expected of a 4* hotel with a very comfortable bed and an adequate bathroom with toiletries and nice fluffy white towels. Of all the hotels we have stayed in Leeds city centre, the Marriott also provides the best breakfast, providing a more edible + tasty choice.

The hotel can, I suppose be a little difficult to locate when you are going for the 1st time but we always head for the NCP car-park on Swinegate where on checkout of the hotel you are given a discount of 10% from the concierge desk off the parking fees.

Hope this helps. Have a great stay in Leeds. We always have a fantastic time|

  • Liked — location, location, location!!!
  • Disliked — Sometimes too busy at breakfast especially Sun. - advise getting down before 09.30am!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

This hotel is very centrally located in the town centre and is right opposite the main shopping street.

The main issue with the central location is the difficulty trying to access it by car - the Leeds one-way system is notorious. The car park is at the rear of the hotel -it is operated by NCP expect to pay c£13 for an overnight stop. Payment can be credit or debit card, this is the only positive here!

The check-in was one of the best I have ever witnessed -absolutely spot on.

My allocated room was well appointed with a large double bed and the customary excellent pillows that are my main highlight of using Marriott.

However the room was slightly noisy as it faced the station and a few night clubs that are at the rear of the hotel. Friday & Saturday nights could be an issue.

The hotel bar was excellent -order the chips at £3.50 (lots) We also used the Georgetown Restaurant just outside the hotel which is a weired fusion of Thai, Indian, & Malaysian -I didn't rate it. The food was flavoursome, but over complicated with small portions; and it is expensive. My tip is use the hotel bar menu -check out the club sandwich.

Breakfast was okay, with lots of choice.

Generally this is a good hotel -I felt it was much better than the Crowne Plaza which is located further down the street.

  • Liked — Check in
  • Disliked — Slightly noisy rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Leeds Marriott over the Easter weekend for a short shopping break.

I'd read on here that the hotel could be a bit of a nightmare to find so set off armed with my trusty satnav. Three (!) circuits of Leeds' charming ring road later, we eventually managed to find the carpark and get to the hotel.

Check in was friendly and efficient. We had asked for a high floor and got a room on the 5th floor which was ideal.

The room was very good. We had a large and very comfortable bed, plenty of storage space and a well stocked mini bar. There are good tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and ironing board and a good shower/bath.

The Health Suite was very good with pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna.

We only ate breakfast during our stay but that was likewise excellent. We were going to pop into the Bar one evening but atmosphere wise it was a bit like the Moon so didn't bother. The location of the hotel cannot be faulted and the staff we encountered were very polite and friendly. Overall an ideal base for exploring Leeds City Centre and all of its shops.

  • Disliked — Finding it, an absolute nightmare!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leeds Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeds Marriott Hotel

Address: 4 Trevelyan Square | Boar Lane, Leeds LS1 6ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Leeds
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#10 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leeds Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern elegant 4 star hotel in the heart of the City Centre.The Leeds Marriott Hotel is a short walk to the train station, Victoria Quarter, Royal Armouries Museum & The Trinity Shopping Centre is just across the road from the Hotel.Leeds Bradford International Airport is approximately 20 minutes Taxi ride away.Our upscale hotel evokes European charm and welcomes you with friendly staff and wonderful amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Leeds Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Leeds
Leeds Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leeds Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.