We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beds , rooms a bit small but a good central location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Met

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Met to your Saves list
The Met
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Scotland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent beds , rooms a bit small but a good central location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

The second time I've stayed here. This time, the restaurant roof had apparently fallen down the previous evening so the hotel wasn't operating at full bore. Had a meal with a group in a separate room which was well served and cooked so no issues there at the end of the day. The beds are extrremely comfortable but the rooms are a bit small and old fashioned.
A very good location right in the centre of Leeds, only about 100yds from the Station.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    283
    263
    153
    114
See reviews for
53
278
88
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

Booked with Hotel Connexions . great rate. Very central.
Parking was limited , and judging by the scratches on the walls many drivers had trouble negoiating the very narrow entrance and you have to rveerse out to exit ( even more difficult)!)
Hotel staff very helpful. Place was spotless. Unfortunately the restauraunt was undergoing mmeregency repairs, and breakfast was to be served in another room.
Room was small clean , and comfortable.
TV had lost it's tuning and I could only access one channel., not reuqired because Leeds is v vibrant, LOADS of places to eat and drink.
I found SOUZ le NEZ , under QUEBEC's Hotel- - very busy French restaraunt, bustling and delightful. the Sea Bass was beautifully cooked, and half bottle of champagne was great with it! ( Not cheap- but v v good)
AND walking distance from the MET.
Definitely would return.
Felt safe staying as a single female.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

I stayed at The Met for a weekend with a large group of friends for my hen party.

I was impressed by the hotel's facilities, the welcome at reception, the lobby, bar and lounge are all nice and well maintained. The breakfast was fab too.

I must agree with others though that the rooms are quite small. When we opened our twin room the door hit the first bed! My friend who had a single room had the same size room as us.

Other than the size of the rooms I can't fault it, we had a great stay and all my friends enjoyed it. Great location, just 3 mins walk from the station and easy walk to the clubs, bars and shops.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

I stayed at the Leeds Met for a conference and was disappointed to find that the internet access was both limited and expensive.

The rooms were clean but seem to be variable quality - mine and my colleague's were quite different in terms of size and lighting. The bed in my room was so soft I considered the floor as a more comfortable option. Catering was ok, but nothing more. Lunch was the same each day, morning coffee indistinguishable from tea!

Overall I have to give this a thumbs down, but it may be ok for an overnight stay in a city centre location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ischiascrap
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

I booked my hotel room only via lastminute.com. I booked a double deluxe room. The room was on the 4th floor room 412.
What a huge disappointment!! The bed was a very small double, the bed looked as if it had not been made correctly the ends not tucked in properly!!! The bathroom was un inviting with mould around the bathroom tiles and edges. The plug hole was blocked with the previous occupants hair!!
Paid £65.00 for this room which had views of the back of the hotel.The bedroom decor is tired and dated. Bathroom needs attention.
Room had no air conditioning, had to put electric fan on all night.
But the real let down is the hotel's car park. It charges paying guests 1-5 hrs £5.00 or £10.00 for 24 hrs. What a rip off!!!
This was not explained by the reception staff on arrival, so avoiding a wheel clamp charge of £140.00 I opted to park my car on the side street. Making sure I wake up before 8 am before traffiic warden write me a penalty for £40.00. As side street parking in leeds is also very expensive during daytime.
If travelling to leeds, find hotel where parking is at no extra cost and have peace of mind all night.
This hotel is a big let down, I will not be returning it's too expensive, and the price unfortunately does not warrant it been, classed as 4 star.

  • Liked — check out time
  • Disliked — expensive car park charges by hotel should be free to paying guests!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

Well all i can say is make sure you are not allocated room 303 as a double unless you want to be very close at all times. The room was little bigger than the double comfortable bed.The bathroom was tiny. W hen you sat on the toilet you could touch the sink with your head if you leaned over slightly. Great if you have a touch of the old D&V , however there was no window in the bathroom and no extractor fan.In comparison 2 friend staying in room 230 had a huge room and fantastic bathroom , yet there was no price differential. Come on met sort it out. Nice breakfast.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — room size, and lack of window in bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

Have been to the met before for a conference so knew the main facilities were ok, but immediately entering the room I was disappointed. Fifth floor twin with little room to swing a cat, and as some other revieweres have noted, very dated, shabby and lacking in any facilities.

The bar and restaurant were staffed by friendly, if somewhat undertrained staff who were helpful but not overly on the ball with service.

The food was fine and room service was quick.

I would rather have stayed in a travel lodge or inn in hindsight, but expectations were a lot higher than acheivements.

Definitely no a four star in my opinion, but ok if you want close to the station or amenities, although there are several better within the same type of distance.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Entering it
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Met? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met

Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, the Met is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Met reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Met, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.