We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Met

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Met to your Saves list
The Met
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Right in the centre (so bear that in mind if you expect a quiet night!) great for a weekend away and not bothered at all by road noise as expected it being in the city. There are a small number of parking spaces onsite, with more avaliable in a public carpark nearby.

Staff service was good, check in quick and requests for extras delivered promptly. In particular, the F&B Supervisor looking after us the first evening (Had a two day spa package which included a brilliant pizza buffet) and in charge of the breakfast room on the first morning was both efficient and friendly and seemed to work twice as hard as everyone else!

The standard of the bedrooms and public areas are what has knocked down my overall score - at first glance the lobby is grand and impressive, but when you get closer, you start to notice the dust all over the chandelier, dirty mugs and litter all around the coffee station in the lobby and bizarre plastic/leather seating. The bedrooms, whilst cleaner than the public areas, seem lacking in comfort - giant kingsized bed with one flat pillow per person, and vast areas of space with little to no furniture, made the room feel like a prison cell! Not even an armchair to sit in.

I would return to this hotel, for its location alone, but only if the price was right as I wouldn't want to pay 4* price for a hotel which, I feel, is more three star.

Room Tip: Rooms over the entrance with the bay window are huge (even though they are sparce) but will have ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Herindoors1985

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience at The Met. It is through comments such as yours that we are able to assess our offering to our guests.

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your experience on your “Sparty” weekend. Your comments regarding the public areas and the bedrooms will certainly be addressed immediately.
I hope that we are able to welcome you back to The Met at some point in the near future

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    262
    241
    142
    104
See reviews for
50
257
83
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here in June 2013. The building is impressive and the staff smart and friendly. However the room (308)was in much need of a refurb.

Carpet stained in the room where the bath had overflowed sometime in the past
mould around the bath tiles/seal

Beds were uncomfortable and small (Premier Inn are much better).

Noise from the road during the night, not helped by single glazing.

Noise was also apparent during the night from what sounded like a lift, although the room is not near the lift.

On the plus side the room was spacious and breakfast was very nice.

On the whole if it wasn't for for the fact I had got a good price on the stay from a 3rd party website I would have marked it lower than 2.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Soulie60


Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. It is through these reviews that we are able to constantly check our current service and offering.

The Met is currently going through a continual process to upgrade the facilities of our bedrooms which we offer. Your comments are very well received and will be used as part of this process to ensure that future guests do not experience the same difficulties that you have faced.

I would be delighted to welcome you back at some point in near future so that you may judge these changes for yourself

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

When you walk in the hotel it is impressive and you think "oh this is nice" and the you get given the room and eat the food!! The room (216) was possibly the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in and the bed was not big enough to be a double. The duvet cover was about emporer size though but the duvet cover didn't fit which is probably why they tucked three quarters of it under the mattress to make you feel like you are sleeping on a slope. I stayed two nights and on both nights I ordered room service (staying alone) and both nights it was less than average and for too expensive. £25 for a sandwich, chips, half a coke and a bit of cheese. I complained but the chef had gone home so hard luck to me! I would definitely not stay here again, would have been better to stay in a budget hotel rather than pay £130 to stay here for two nights! I would tell people to avoid!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Susan G

Thank you for your review, it is through these reviews that we are able to constantly assess and monitor our current offering to our guests.

It is disappointing to hear that you did not have a 100% enjoyable stay.
Your comments regarding the food and the bed are certainly ones that I will address immediately with our team.
I would also welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay with you in more detail.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to The Met at some point in the near future so we are able to show to you the true quality that we pride ourselves on

Kind Regards
Simone Sansom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the met hotel Located 2 mins from the train station you could not ask for a more central location. The hotel itself was excellent stayed on the 4th floor .

The rooms were nice and cosy not to small with everything you needed. Tea coffee making ,iron and board, hairdryer, tv ,internet and a huge bathroom.Breakfast was excellent serving cereal ,friut,full english . The staff were well trained , polite and very helpful.

really enjoyed our stay and have already recommended to a friend whom is a frequent visitor to leeds.

leeds itself is a great location to explore york 20mins and manchester 40mins by train and not expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Carol1158798

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience at The Met. It is through comments such as yours that we are able to assess our offering to our guests.

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have already been able to recommend us to your friends.
I hope that we are able to welcome you back to The Met at some point in the near future

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

My better half and me stayed here when visiting leeds, the rooms were very spacious and well presented with a lovely bathroom. The hotel restaurant was pricy (£16 per main course) but the food was well cooked and delicious, I'd recommend trying it but be prepared to squint at the bill. For the price I'd say the hotel is amazing value and would recommend it! Very helpful staff and great service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Alexthedodds

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience at The Met. It is through comments such as yours that we are able to assess our offering to our guests.

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and I hope that we are able to welcome you back to The Met at some point in the near future

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there last year for 2 nights. We got a tiny room with so tiny bed that we couldn't sleep at night I even think that the duvet was single. When one of us moved a little bit form a straight position other one almost fall from the bed. We didn't sleep well and we didn't woke up for a breakfast because we were so tired after night. Cleanless of the room wasn't very good. I noticed holes and some stains on towels. We decided to eat a dinner in tempus restaurant. Food was good but we wait so long... I know that I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Patricia K

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience at The Met in 2012.

Its disappointing to read that you didn’t have a great experience when you visited us last year. Please let me assure you that various procedures and actions have been put into place to prevent a repeat of the incidents which you described.
I do hope that you will return to us soon so that you are able to witness the changes that the hotel has made to ensure customers satisfaction is at its absolute premium

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

They tried to charge me for food they never brought. The bar is unmanned. They had a huge event on and sleep was impossible. WARNING: This is not 4 star. It's a Blackpool style B&B experience. I know this sounds like I'm a loon who rants when upset. I'm not. I prefer just to decide not to buy something again and bite with my feet but this place is horrid. Can't wait to leave and will never ever come back. Arghhhhhhh!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear FelicitasMedia

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience.

It was disappointing to read that you had a number of difficulties during your stay.
I would very much like the opportunity to discuss this with you further and would appreciate it if you would contact our Operations Manager on Joseph.Farrar@principal-hayley.com

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Met? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met

Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, the Met is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Met reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Met, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.