We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings For The Met” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Met

Save Saved
You added The Met to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Met
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 89 hotels in Leeds
Gateshead, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings For The Met”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

we stayed here for a birthday celebration. There was 13 of us travelling on the train with superbreak holidays. For the money we paid we cannot really complain about our experience however if you are paying full price for this hotel i can understand why some people feel the need to complain. Our check in was relatively simple but once we got everyone else off to their rooms the birthday girl pushed her luck and asked for a complimentary upgrade. This was seen as no problem however after some jiggery pokery on the computor the receptionist decided she did not have the authority to give an upgrade. We are still waiting for the manager to recontact us to authorise this upgrade.... However 13 chocolates and a piece of strawberry was sent to our room so all was not lost !!!!!!... The heat in this hotel is overpowering. If they cooled things down a bit they could probably charge less for their rooms. The windows were permanently open in the room despite it being March.
All our rooms on the fourth floor varied in size but were all more than adequate with clean sheets and clean towels. We dont go away to watch tv so werent bothered about the old sets. The shower was hot and powerful. The room on the fifth floor was massive with a huge bed, The single was spacious with a good three quarter bed rather than a single.
Breakfast was hot and tasty however i have never been to a hotel where you need to order a fried egg with your waitress. Your waitress does not ask you if you need a fried egg so once you have filled your plate from the buffet and look for the fried eggs they are nowhere to be seen. The chef was filling the sausage tray when i was at the buffet,. when i asked where the eggs were he said to order with the waitress and promptly walked off without offering to fry/order one. Bizarre. Needless to say seeing as how my plate was already full i had to make do with scrambled egg. There is a small sign at the buffet but by the time you see this it is too late.... eggs were promptly ordered the next day prior to filling our plates however they still arrive at your table while you are half way through your breakfast...Very strange.
The location of this hotel is great... Not far from all the shops and bars and two minutes from the train station. Because of this and if the price is right we would stay here again. I think you have got to ignore the shabbyness of the woodwork here. I'm sure if i was as old as this hotel my sills would be looking a bit shabby......
Good stay for a good price so cant complain really,,, Sort the eggs and cool the place down and very good rating would be on the cards

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Gatesheadgirlie,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your experience with us at The Met Hotel. It is through this feedback that we are able to develop and improve upon the service that we offer to our guests.

I am so pleased to hear that you and your party had a wonderful weekend away despite some mixed experiences during your stay at The Met Hotel. I am so pleased that you were able to comment on most aspects of the hotel in your review and your comments I will be raising with my team to ensure that we are able to meet the demands of the modern day traveller in the future.

Once again thank you for your review

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    241
    214
    128
    91
See reviews for
41
227
81
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Check in was quite slow, only one member of staff on the desk. The hotel rooms were clean, tidy, well decorated, everything you could want. All the public areas were again clean, tidy, and well decorated. Breakfast was good, can't comment on any other meals as I didn't eat in hotel The only area in the hotel you could get wi fi were public areas, with wired Internet in room (this for me was a mega disadvantage as I only had my iPad with me). The thing that made this stay memorable was Dom the night member of staff, he really looked after me, and some other guests who had got in at silly o'clock after being out clubbing. So cheers Dom!! Would I stay here again absolutely :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Julian158158,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your experience with us at The Met Hotel. It is through this feedback that we are able to develop and improve upon the service that we offer to our guests.

It was nice to read that you had a pleasurable experience at The Met Hotel, despite some initial teething problems. The points you have mentioned are certainly ones that the hotel has highlighted on our ongoing hotel improvement action plan.
I will also pass on your wonderful comments to Dom, who I am sure will be delighted to hear them.

Once again thank you for your review

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip with colleagues. Checking in took over 20 minutes. Room ok but bathroom extremely small and awkward to get in and out of the shower over the bath. The window wasn't double glazed so very noisy and at 1am I hard to stuff loo roll into the sash windows to stop the rattling. Food - one word awful!! Generally hotel needs a good cleaning and more staff in public areas. Defo not 4 star

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Gorgeous H,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your experience with us at The Met Hotel. It is through this feedback that we are able to develop and improve upon the service that we offer to our guests.

It was very disappointing to hear that you had a mixed experience whilst staying at The Met Hotel and were not able to truly experience the high standard of service and quality to which we pride ourselves.
Please rest assured that I will be looking into your comments with immediate effect to ensure such happenings do not reoccur.

Once again thank you for your review

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel last weekend for a family wedding (wedding breakfast at the hotel). We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. The room was slightly small but perfectly adequate and had all facilities needed, great bathroom. All the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and looked after everyone very well at the wedding. With family in Leeds, we would stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Jo M,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your experience with us at The Met Hotel. It is through this feedback that we are able to develop and improve upon the service that we offer to our guests.

How wonderful to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience whilst staying at The Met Hotel for a family wedding. I am very pleased that you were able to experience the true service and quality that we pride ourselves on here at The Met.
I do hope that you may choose to return to us at some point in the near future for maybe a leisure break.

Once again thank you for your review

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Was booked here as part of a works training course and this was the only hotel which had a large number of rooms available at short notice.

As with all central hotels in Leeds parking is an issue, and their small pay and display carpark capitalises on this (£20 for 24hrs).

Initial impressions on arrival are mixed, clearly once a stunning building and looks impressive, but looking closely whilst sat at traffic lights opposite allowed us to see it needed love and tender care. The reception area is impressive and gives the impression that this place deserves its 4 stars. However check-in took an age and queues quickly built.

Up to the room and I appear to have got lucky in that I got a disabled room which was double thd size of everyone else's, but even this wasn't generously proportioned. The bathroom was tatty, needs a good clean and regrouting. The room also lacks double glazing which in a city centre location is a must. One positive was the room had good quality bedding.

We ate at the restaurant, Tempus. The menu was uninspiring - but this was nothing compared to the lack of quality of the food that then arrived. It wasn't even cheap and cheerful - it was just cheap pre-packed/instant rubbish. I had sausages and mash slathered in hideous gelatinous and I swear almost poisonous gravy. It was in edible due to the saltiness of the gravy. Service was poor at best, waiting staff loitering but not actually doing anything. Bar staff slow beyond belief.

Overall in a city like Leeds where there is so much quality in terms of both hotels and restaurants this place is a poor option and I doubt me or any of my colleagues will return by choice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mazza82,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your experience with us at The Met Hotel. It is through this feedback that we are able to develop and improve upon the service that we offer to our guests.

It is very disappointing to hear that you had a mixed time whilst staying at The Met Hotel. The comments you have made are certainly not the service and quality that we strive for and to hear that on this occasion we fell short of those standards is extremely disappointing.
Please rest assured that your comments will be discussed at our next Head of department meeting and issues will be actioned immediately

Once again thank you for your review

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went away to Leeds for the weekend and decided to go to the met. The lobby and reception areas are clean and presentable but then we were shown to our room. We got the lift to the top floor then had to walk the extra flight to the attic. Our room was small with dints and scuffs in the walls. The bathroom was tired to say the least with mould in the grout and sealant. The ceiling tiles were broken and falling down. The Television was 5 years overdue for scrapping with next to no reception.

In this day and age there is no excuse for such poor accommodation. I would have rather saved my money and gone to a premier lodge.

If I ever go to Leeds and there is no accommodation apart from the Metropole then I'm bunking down with the homeless under the arches!

Room Tip: Go to the hilton!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear JamieT,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your experience with us at The Met Hotel. It is through this feedback that we are able to develop and improve upon the service that we offer to our guests.

It is very disappointing to hear that you did not have a pleasurable experience at The Met Hotel. This is certainly not the service or quality that we pride ourselves on. Please rest assured that we have an ongoing development plan that will bring all of our rooms inline with the current wants and demands of the modern traveller., most of which has already been completed.
I would hope that at some point in the future you may allow us another opportunity to host your stay in Leeds so that we may offer you a true reflection of the service and quality to which we pride ourselves.

Once again thank you for your review

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 13.4.13 following our son's wedding being held there. The foyer, reception, dining room, stairways all led us to believe our room (508) would be just as good as this 4* introduction to the Metropole; how wrong we were.

The room is tiny, the bed is not a single nor quite a double. The TV only shows black and white pictures of the 5 channels available. The tea and coffee facilities are on a pullout tray beneath the tv, but the runners do not work. There is a chain on the door, but nothing to attach it to. The window does not stay up, maybe to prevent the rotting wood from spreading further into the room. I appreciate that someone has to have the back yard view but the room is so hot you have to have the window open, propped open by a can of deodrant. The bathroom looks modernised on first impression but actually is quite used and tired, the shower (when eventually mastered) decides to run hot and cold as it feels like it.

We wanted to complain the following morning but our son had held his wedding there and didnt want any further confrontation ...... the hotel had double booked their honey moon suite and so my son and his new wife failed to receive the full package the Metropole offer couples. Another negative experience from this hotel. Their room was much better than ours, and their other guests, I believe the higher floor your room is on, the quality deteriorates.

Breakfast was included and I will say the quality of the food and dining room was excellent. It was 7.00 - 11.00 am and this is a huge time frame to maintain a high standard, which they did. We ate at 10.00 am and the service we received was similar to the late risers!

The standard rooms for this "4*" hotel are NOT worth the money and if you are offered room 508 - asked to be moved.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 508!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear ShelleyPick,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your experience with us at The Met Hotel. It is through this feedback that we are able to develop and improve upon the service that we offer to our guests.

It is very disappointing to hear that you did not have a pleasurable experience at The Met Hotel whilst attending your sons wedding - this is certainly not the experience we wish for anybody particularly the parents of our bridal party.
Please rest assured that I have immediately tasked our maintenance team to tackle room 508 to ensure that it is brought inline with the rest of our superb rooms.
I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay with you further and would be grateful if you would take the time to contact our Operations Manager Joseph.Farrar@principal-hayley.com

Once again thank you for your review

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Met? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met

Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, the Met is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Met reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Met, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.