We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel fab-rooms not so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Met

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Met to your Saves list
The Met
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hotel fab-rooms not so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed overnight 25 january with my boyfriend ...entrance, hotel reception and grand staircase were gorgeous and full of character. We stayed in room 415 which was small. The room had some modern elements but was let down by the old fashioned tv and old wardrobe doors. The bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean. Although the bathroom was very clean the sealant around the bath area was very messy and had some mould on them. It was snowing when we arrived so was pleased that the room was nice and warm and water was hot. Drinks in the bar were also pricey, A coffee and a pint of beer came to £8.05 ! All that said we did enjoy our trip n the hotel is really central and 5 mins walk from train statio but it is definitely not 4*plus

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Ajt1967,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at The Met Hotel.

It was pleasing to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay and that you appreciated the character of our wonderful building.

I will ensure that maintenance are immediately sent to room 415 to change the bath sealant as this is totally unacceptable and for this I apologise.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to The Met at some point in the future.

Thank you once again,

Best wishes,

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    283
    265
    153
    115
See reviews for
53
279
88
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We wanted an hotel in the middle of Leeds for an overnight stay and had found others too expensive. We had noticed this beautiful building on previous visits so looked it up online. The price was very reasonable and the whole place was clean and comfortable. It's a lovely old hotel with creaky floorboards and tiny windows and lots of character. The food was excellent value but the bed was old and not too comfortable but for the price I cannot complain about this. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear GripDave,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Met Hotel. We always appreciate feedback of all kinds from our guests.

It was really pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of the character that our hotel has to offer.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to The Met in future, please dont hesitate to contact our Operations Manager on Joseph.Farrar@principal-hayley.com if you would like to arrange this.

Many Thanks

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked a one night bed, breakfast and dinner package for a Saturday night on the 19th January for my husband for Christmas. As a leeds United supporter he could go to the home match. I was a bit concerned when i read some of the reviews on trip advisor but should not have worried. We stayed in room 329 whcih was at the front of the hotel. The room was large with a king size bed (very comfy) a sitting area with a sofa, chair, work desk and television and a very big bathroom. Yes there were a few scratches on the some of the furniture but nothing major. the room was very clean and extra towels and pillows were in the wardrobe.

We had dinner in the resturant. The food was good but the service a little slow due to the large function in the main ballroom. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Drinks from the bar are a little more expensive.

Overall a lovely hotel in a great location - less than 5 minutes walk from the bus station and main shopping areas.

Room Tip: room 329 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Alibel,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at The Met Hotel. All feedback we recieve from our guests help us to improve our current standards and procedures so that we are able to develop as a business.

It was really pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay and made use of many of our facilities.

We would be delighted to welcome you and your husband back to The Met any time that he wishes to come over and catch a Leeds United game. Please feel free to arrange this directly with our Operations Manager at Joseph.Farrar@principal-hayley.com

Best wishes

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our second stay at this lovely old hotel, its very central so no taxis needed, we enjoyed our breakfast, food and service very good. Our room was a little cold, but as soon as we mentioned this to reception they sent us a heater up which made a huge difference.My husband and i will almost certainely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a larger refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel itself is stunning to look at. Our room was a bit of a let down when we walked in, as the tv was on the welcome page but was grey and wibly, making it look a bit eerie as we walked in. More than happy with the small size of the room for the £50 deal we got, but had we paid the £100 + price I'd have been disappointed.

A newspaper was delivered which they tried to charge us for, but the lady on the desk apologized and took off the charge when we explained.

Parking - £20 and not adjacent to the hotel. We parked long stay at the nearby train station for around £9 for the whole of Sat/Sun.

Room Tip: (Loch Fyne is 2 minutes walk away and has amazing reasonably priced food)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullguy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The location is good. Close to the train staion and various shops and bars.
The room rate was quite good. £66 for a twin with breakfast.
The hotel looks nice upon arrival, the front desk staff were very helpful.
Very disapointed with the cost of parking. £20+ is ridiculous. Cheaper to park on the main street on a meter but then this can be inconvenient to have to get up early and top the metre up.
The room had an old building feel to it so it did have a bit of character. The bed was comfy but was woken rather early with the sound of creaking floorboards from the room above. There was no hair dryer in the room which I find unacceptable in todays day and age.
The breakfast was ok, I have had better. An egg station and fried eggs was missing which I always like to have when staying in a hotel. Again the staff where helpful and polite.
Would I stay here again? Yes but there are better in Leeds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for almost 3 months - whilst it is definitely good value for money - this is not a hotel that speaks the typical comfort that a 4 star hotel does. Compared to Middle East Hotels, this is really a 2 star - in UK terms, perhaps 3.

The cleanliness is just about acceptable - but the hotel is noisy and the lobby sometimes just does not smell pleasant. The chandeliers and curtains can be dusty (if that kind of thing is important to you), but the worst part is that this hotel's rooms suffer from an awful lot of noise from about 5- 630 am with neighboring buildings rolling trash cans on the cobblestone street. It's terribly noisy and the hotel was unable to do anything to resolve this despite several complaints. The only option available eventually was to throw eggs at the fellow who did this every morning!

All in all, this was an average stay. If you really want a 4 star experience, try around Granary Wharf with other hotels - or perhaps even Quebec Hotel on Quebec Street.

If you're really squeezed for budget - this is the hotel for you. If you're after quality and comfort, this isn't the hotel for you.

And no free Wifi? I know The Met is a listed building, but this is the 21st century folks, time to move on!

Room Tip: Do not get rooms facing Quebec Street or King Street- they're NOISY early in the morning. Go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Asif N,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts to us leaving a review. We take all reviews extremely seriously and it is through these reviews that we are able to analyse and review our current standards and procedures.

It was disapointing to hear that you did not have a 100% pleasurable experience whilst staying with us at The Met and for this I must apologise.

If you would like to provide us with more information regarding your stay then please contact our Operations Manager at Joseph.Farrar@principal-Hayley.com and he will be more than happy to help.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Met? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met

Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, the Met is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Met reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Met, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.