We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, fantastic food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veritas Ale & Wine Bar

Veritas Ale & Wine Bar
43 Great George Street, Leeds LS1 3BB, England
0113 242 8094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #200 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service, fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Have visited this place a few times for casual drinks and always wondered about the food, spent New Year's Eve here and it was worth every penny, gorgeous food, great service and atmosphere.. As a vegetarian I'm often disappointed with the options for me in restaurants, but veritas menu was inventive and tasty! Would defo recommend and can't wait to visit again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaylaMTT, General Manager at Veritas Ale & Wine Bar, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Lovely to hear that you there were some good vegetarian dishes on the new years eve menu. Our new menu is going live approximately 19th February and just to give you an idea of the vegetarian options: for starters "roasted butternut squash, blue cheese and almond salad" or for main " spinach, pea and Yorkshire fettle tagliatelle with lemon dressed pea shoots". Sounds yummy. Come and try it out and let us know what you think. Many thanks for taking the time to write us a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    45
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great dog friendly pub with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great atmosphere, great service, great beer, great food... What more could you ask for? Well you can bring your dog! This is a treasure of a pub for a city centre, six of us ate here and we were all very happy with our food, from the Yorkshire deli platter that we had as shared nibbles to start with to the truly wonderful daim cake. The service was great, friendly and relaxed and our two dogs were welcomed, even given their own bowl of water. We will definitely be back again, highly recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaylaMTT, General Manager at Veritas Ale & Wine Bar, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Great! It is unusual indeed to see dogs in a city centre pub, but we love (well behaved) dogs here. We know they are just as important to you as being able to choose from a great selection of cask and sampling quality locally sourced home made food. We hope to may welcome you , the friends and the dogs many more times. Thank you for your fantastic review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“NYE 2013 - Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went here on a recommendation wanting something a bit special for NYE and Veritas served up an epic 6 course taster menu with drinks to match each course. The mix of fish, meat and vegetarian dishes were all top quality, and the drinks were very well chosen. Staff are lovely, it's also decked out very nicely and I thought it was excellent value for what we had so I'm definitely looking forward to going back again. One's of Leed's hidden gems!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaylaMTT, General Manager at Veritas Ale & Wine Bar, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We loved working New Years Eve. Great customers and a fantastic atmosphere. I must say the food looked excellent. And tasted excellent (yes, we did manage to sample some of the dishes).
Good to read that you had a great evening and we hope to see you again soon. Many thanks for an excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's a pleasure...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went to Veritas for the New Year's Eve special dinner: 5 courses with matching wines selected by the establishment. The food here is generally good, though not quite reaching 'wow' standard on the whole. An exception was the halloumi with mint sauce and various grains and wild rice, which was surprisingly delicious. The wine offering was somewhat eccentric in places (Sauvignon blanc with venison?), but the wines were all very pleasant. It was good to see a port offered as the wine to accompany the cheese course, though the volume offered was miniscule. Commendably, a free top up was supplied when we asked for a bit more.

But what really matters is that Veritas is as close as you can get in Leeds to a proper wine bar, and it serves a good selection of real ales too: amazingly, in third-of-a-pint volumes as well as the conventional pint and half-pint sizes. It's a pleasant environment: especially if you tend to miss the ambience of the wine bars of old. It feels relaxed and comfortably old-fashioned, in a good way; the staff are friendly and obviously care about the kind of place they're running. There are no glaring faults, and on each visit I've left with a feeling of good will, and a certainty that I'd be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaylaMTT, General Manager at Veritas Ale & Wine Bar, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding New Years Eve. The feedback from everyone was great and we are very pleased to start the new year on such a positive note. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to may welcome you many more times at Veritas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Friendly Atmosphere plus good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our walking group of 13 were made very welcome and the staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Food was of a high standard served in attractive means and the staff were keen to ensure we were satisfied by checking regularly that we were okay. Good selection of beers and other drinks. No rushing us so totally relaxed and happy experience. (Christmas time do)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaylaMTT, General Manager at Veritas Ale & Wine Bar, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Fantastic to hear that you and your party had a good time at Veritas. Christmas time is always busy and it is twice as rewarding to receive an excellent review on tripadvisor during this time. A great Christmas presents for us, many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veritas Ale & Wine Bar also viewed

Saltaire, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Veritas Ale & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veritas Ale & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.