We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every dimension” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veritas Ale & Wine Bar

Veritas Ale & Wine Bar
43 Great George Street, Leeds LS1 3BB, England
0113 242 8094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #198 of 1,387 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every dimension”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful tasty food catering to a range of budgets. Fascinating beers. Attentive and friendly staff. You could spend £100 a head in a posh restaurant and come away less satisfied. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    45
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks, good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We went here after searching through tripadvisor and seeing that it had good reviews. Went with friends to begin a night out and the location is great for this as it's round the corner from Nation of Shopkeepers and The Victoria. Also right next to Town Hall and would be perfect for pre theatre food. The menu is very good, not too big and not too small, with plenty of variety and also a few specials. We were really impressed with the food and presentation and the price was extremely reasonable (£9-£13 for a main). This place combines posh pub grub with classics. We only had main courses and were well satisfied afterwards. Drink choice and price is also really good. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So well done on the inside but no idea how to sell itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This place is owned by the same company as Arcadia in Headingley and shares the same problem. It projects a very unstylish image from the outside looking in. Veritas is a terrible name for a bar, just as it was a terrible name for Robert Kilroy-Silk's political party. So they have that all wrong.

Looking at the content, the bar is impossible to fault. Good wines and ales, sorry, exceptionally good wines and ales with calm, relaxing, effortlesslessly classy decor and surroundings. The perfect mixture, both very stylish and unassuming and unpretentious.

The pub food is reasonable in value and quality without going over the top. Consistent, you know what you're getting and won't be disappointed. The place excels in beer, of which there is much choice and nearly all of it is premium and very high quality.

A recent discovery but already a must for a night out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent quality pub grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We called in here for a bite to eat before meeting friends and were plesantly surprised. The quality of the food was excellent, especially given the price. Menu choice is reasonably small, but personally I prefer that they do a few dishes well than lots badly. Menu is split in the middle between traditional pub grub, steaks etc, and some more interesting dishes, so I doubt anyone would struggle to find something to eat.

Atmosphere wise, we were sat in the centre, and there was a bit of an echo, so not a place for intimate private conversation, but thats the only minor issue really, and there were some side tables in fairness, so we know for next time!

Location is next to the hospital (LGI) so it is a little way out, but not so far as you'd struggle walking there from town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice place in central Leeds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I found this place walking around on a very cold evening in Leeds. So I did not know anything about it. We have been courtesy welcomed and showed a nice table.
Staff has been fantastic from the beginning. We were quite hungry so ordered a selection of starters and mains. The food was fine. Starters are particularly interesting and well presented. Mains also good. Except some weird combination, e.g. Cod on linguine. But we are not local and the result was actually intriguing. Very good selection of ales. I'd leave the wines.
The place is nice, cool atmosphere and relaxing. What else would you ask for a evening with friends?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veritas Ale & Wine Bar also viewed

Saltaire, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Veritas Ale & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veritas Ale & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.