We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Leeds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Leeds to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Leeds
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wellington St., Leeds LS1 4DL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip. Didn't have particular expectations but was pleasantly surprised. To the hotel's credit: a) the reception staff are very friendly b) the gym is well equipped c) room was spacious, with some nice finishing touches. Perhaps there could have been a little more information about facilities in the room. All said-n enjoyable stay, and if back in Leeds would strongly consider using again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some excellent customer feedback.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be assured I have passed on your kind comments to all of my team, as they serve as a great motivator.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Leeds as your preferred hotel of choice and may I thank you again for your recommendation to future potential guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Leeds very soon.

Kind Regards
Matt Byram

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    329
    109
    55
    27
See reviews for
123
247
50
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheddar, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

One of the most enthusiastic welcomes at reception I think I've ever had...even though I'd never stayed here before! Good check in. Comfortable room with a few nice touches, that you often don't get in hotel chains like this, including a complimentary bottle of water, biscuits, a couple of mints and some aromatherapy spray/fluid for a good nights sleep (not that I needed it). Breakfast was fine. Only niggle was I couldn't get onto the free wifi. About a 15 minute walk from the centre and 10 minutes from the train station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some excellent customer feedback.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be assured I have passed on your kind comments to all of my team, as they serve as a great motivator.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Leeds as your preferred hotel of choice and may I thank you again for your recommendation to future potential guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Leeds very soon.

Kind Regards
Matt Byram

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Having stayed here many times over the last 15 years, it is nice to see that something's haven't changed. The hotel is still quite a grand affair, just a little tired in places (nothing that a makeover wouldn't correct).

The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel presents everything you would expect in the Holiday Inn group.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some excellent customer feedback.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Leeds as your preferred hotel of choice and may I thank you again for your recommendation to future potential guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Leeds very soon.

Kind Regards
Matt Byram

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had a good nights stay last night.

Great location near the city centre, only about 10 mins walk to the main shopping area. The hotel has a reasonable amount of parking at £10 for an over night parking.

We had a great, warm welcome from the front desk staff, Matt & Hayley were very welcoming. Our room was not ready, but we had arrived early, which was not a problem. We left our bag and went into Leeds shopping.

We had taken the deluxe double room, which was clean and tidy but a little dated in its decor and furniture. We had chocolates and a bottle of wine in the package. I must be honest don't bother getting it, you would be better getting a bottle from the supermarket. I had to take it to reception as it was not drinkable in my opinion, and they offered a couple of drinks in the bar as an alternative.

We had a good nights sleep and well cooked breakfast. Again we got a warm welcome by the restaurant staff. On check out Matt was on duty again and made time to ask how our stay had been and time in Leeds.

Yes we would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get the drinks package and chocolates in your room, buy and take with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some excellent customer feedback.

I am delighted to read that in the main you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be assured I have passed on your kind comments to all of my team, as they serve as a great motivator.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Leeds as your preferred hotel of choice and may I thank you again for your recommendation to future potential guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Leeds very soon.

Kind Regards
Matt Byram

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

After a long days work I was hoping to relax in the room with some room service and good tv. Unfortunately the hotel made sure this did not happen. After getting up every 2 minutes to answer the phone or door to sort out poor wifi and having to send back my incorrect room service order 3 times I lost the will to continue. I wouldn't stay here again if it were the only hotel with rooms available in a 300 mile radius.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback regarding your recent stay.

Here at the Crowne Plaza Leeds we strive to provide each of our guests with the highest level of service and customer care and I deeply regret that on this occasion, we have failed to deliver this.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests enables us to target problem areas and, wherever possible, take the necessary actions to ensure problems can be avoided in the future.

On a final note, may I once again apologise for the shortcomings experienced during your short break in Leeds.

Kind Regards

Matt Byram
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was our first visit to the Crowne Plaza in Leeds and pleased to find the hotel is so central to everything in the city centre. The new Trinity Shopping Centre is just a short 10 minute walk from the hotel. We parked our car in the underground car park at the hotel which was highly recommended due to the major demolition work ongoing at a building close by causing cars left in the open to be affected by the dust. No doubt this demolition work will be concluded very shortly. The person on reception welcomed us to the hotel and after checking us in offered to recommend restaurants in the city centre if we required.
We had booked a Deluxe room for our stay and were extremely pleasantly surprised to receive an upgrade to the Compton Suite on the 6th floor. The suite was well furnished throughout and extremely comfortable. The view from our room unfortunately overlooked the demolition site and a fair bit of noise could be heard during the afternoon which lasted until 6pm and restarted at 8am the next morning.
After spending some time in the city centre and visiting the new Trinity Shopping Centre we decided to eat in the Grill Restaurant in the hotel. We were extremely surprised to find the restaurant completely empty when we entered and during our meal only one other person entered the restaurant and by 7.30 the staff had started to set some of the tables for breakfast service. The menu in the restaurant seemed extremely limited which could be the reason for the lack of guests. Meals in the first floor bar would have provided us with an alternative option.
The Grill restaurant appeared quite soulless and I feel the hotel is missing a trick by not embracing it`s potential. Would like to see it being developed into a vibrant place to eat and the first choice for guests staying at the hotel. The staff in the restaurant are extremely welcoming and obliging, especially at breakfast, and are a credit to the hotel.
Parking at the hotel is charged at a daily rate of £15 which is OK for a city centre hotel.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza hotel and will hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some excellent customer feedback.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be assured I have passed on your kind comments to all of my team, as they serve as a great motivator.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Leeds as your preferred hotel of choice and may I thank you again for your recommendation to future potential guests.

I will certainly take on board your comments with regards to our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Leeds very soon.

Kind Regards
Matt Byram

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

You know what you should get with a Crowne Plaza and this one doesn't let you down. You get a very warm reception when checking in and the staff are the same.Rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Breakfast is very good as well.
Will return again

Room Tip: Go for a 6th floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some excellent customer feedback.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be assured I have passed on your kind comments to all of my team, as they serve as a great motivator.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Leeds as your preferred hotel of choice and may I thank you again for your recommendation to future potential guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Leeds very soon.

Kind Regards
Matt Byram

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Leeds

Address: Wellington St., Leeds LS1 4DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Leeds
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located in downtown area, 1/4 mile from Leeds train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Leeds Hotel Leeds
Leeds Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Leeds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.