We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family mini-break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Leeds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Leeds to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Leeds
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wellington St., Leeds LS1 4DL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barnsley
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Great for a family mini-break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I decided to treat my children to an overnight stay as it was the German Christmas Market in Leeds and we wanted to try a restaurant we had heard about. I picked this hotel as children were free and there was a pool. The hotel was great, we expected to have to pay for parking but as it turns out we didn't which was a bonus. The staff were friendly and the breakfast excellent - perhaps too much choice as my two boys could not make their minds up.

Two small flaws though, firstly the family room was not very big and there certainly was nowhere for adults to sit and relax after the children were in bed. This is a common fault in family rooms though.

Secondly, WIFI if I have paid for a hotel I do not then expect to pay for WIFI and especially not at extortionate rates. I can understand a small guest house charging but when it's a large chain then it's not on. It's something that people expect these days rather than an extra.

Other than that we had a great stay and would use it again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    366
    117
    58
    28
See reviews for
147
288
50
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in Leeds for a stag night and booked 5 rooms here about 4 months in advance. The room rate was £55.00 room only, non refundable on the advance rate. An excellent price for a hotel that is a 10 minute walk from the train station and pretty much bang in the city centre.

Parking was plentiful and it is just off the ring road so not difficult to find either. It should be £12.00 for a 24 hour period but none of us were charged so definitely can't complain.

We opted to purchase breakfast for £10.50 upon check in (it's £15.00 otherwise) and am glad we did. The food was not greasy or dried out at all, everything was as you would expect from a big hotel and all options were catered for.

There was a few other hen/stag parties here but the clientele looked to be primarily couples or families with the single sex parties being the exception. There was no noise and the the beds were comfortable so a good night sleep as well. The furniture looked slighly dated but there was absolutely nothing wrong with it at all. The TV was modern and had full coverage of all channels.

Given the prices available at the advance rates it would be foolish to overlook this hotel. There is also a fully equipped, modern gymnasium and swimming pool should you feel the need to use them.

Overall, a pleasant experience at a very competitive price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked at the last minute - do it via their website rather than any "clearing house" website, since they guarantee to match the best available price. Directions on website appeared complex but Satnav took us to the door.
Reception very friendly and efficient. We've only stayed there once before (3 mths ago) yet Andrew remembered us and upgraded us to an executive double room (actually a suite). Bar staff v friendly and prices reasonable. Overall well worth a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in Leeds after a day at Wetherby Races. The hotel is in a very good spot and has ample parking. The service from the check in staff was really efficient and friendly. As for the rooms ours had 2 double beds and was a decent standard. The hotel is cracking value for money if you secure a cheap deal then would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Chose this hotel to take my two grandsons, aged 7 and 5, on an overnight break. Room was lovely, spacious and clean with verything we needed. Breakfast was fabulous and the staff were helpful and kind and child friendly. Which is more than I can say for the dinner in the restaurant. My 5 yr old chose pizza from the child menu. It was two triangles of bread with raw beef tomoato coverd in melted cheese. He said "This isn't a pizza grandma!" Too true. My duck was inedible- like shoe leather and the second attempt was not much better. In fairnss I was not charged for the dinner and the waitress was aplogetic and somewhat embarrased. The pool was great and the kids had a ball. Shame the dinner spoiled things for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay 3rd-5th November, took advantage of a BBE meal deal which limited us to the set menu on the evenings, but each section had 6 or more choices. The evening food was top quality, cooked and presented to perfection, on each of the 3 courses, making this 'more than food' taking it to excellent cuisine, a BIG congratulations to the chefs and to Adam the restaurant manager.
Breakfast is self service with plenty of choice and is of a good standard.
Our stay was also made that little bit extra special by Andrew on reception, who welcomed us to the hotel and along with the other staff members my birthday that litle bit more special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont Saint Peter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night on a business trip on 29th October. The room was plenty large enough and comfortable and quiet and I did sleep well.

However the bathroom was in need of an update and quite grubby looking in places, also some attention needs to be paid to the bedding as the bedcover that covers the feet end of teh bed was covered in stains and quite revolting.

There was also a strange speaker looking thing dangling under the sink that did not work.

Breakfast was ok ish but really not worth the extra £11 I had to pay as it was not included in the room cost. Parking also not included at £13 a night. Overall cost of £118.95 for a standard room seemed a bit high vs quality of room, location etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Leeds

Address: Wellington St., Leeds LS1 4DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Leeds
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located in downtown area, 1/4 mile from Leeds train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Leeds Hotel Leeds
Leeds Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Leeds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.