We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value city hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cavendish St | Off Kirkstall Road, Leeds LS3 1LY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Suffolk UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good value city hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

I have stayed at this Hiexpress on two separate occassions recently and will probably stay again. For me the hotel was exactly what I needed i.e. somewhere clean and well presented with comfortable beds and a secure car park near to the centre of Leeds.
My room was clean, big enough and had a decent bathroom and airconditioning. The aircon was great as the room looked over a noisy road and the window was kept shut at night.
Service from reception, the bar and dining area was polite and efficient. Unlike other budget hotel chains breakfast is included in the lead price at Hiexpress and this a bonus. The breakfast was simple, self service but hit the spot perfectly.
Food is served in the evening but from studying the menu it was very basic and appeared grossly overpriced. I would recommend taking a walk for dinner as there are plenty of restaurants nearby.
As a budget hotel this is a good one but make sure you get a good deal on the tariff before you go. Then it will be good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    173
    56
    13
    5
See reviews for
61
96
19
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

I stayed here for a long weekend and would definitely recommend it. The rooms are a good standard, but are basic, so if you are looking for a bit of pampering this may not be the hotel for you. We didn't spend much time at the hotel, so it suited us as a base. This hotel is a few minutes drive from the centre of the town.

The room we had was a decent size, and the bathroom although quite small was clean and had a good shower. There was also tea and coffee in the room which is always handy.

The breakfast was very good. There was plenty on offer and included yogurt, fresh fruit, toast, mini muffins and the usual hot English breakfast.

I can't really fault this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We chose this hotel for two reasons: proximity to University of Leeds (purpose of visit was for daughter's graduation) and price (2 nights for the price of 1). Staff were polite, helpful and efficient. Rooms were comfortable. Ours had a double bed and an area where previously there had been a couch/sofabed, so there was quite a space to one side of the room, but it was better to have space than none. The TV worked well and there was tea and coffee making facilities. Towels and bedlinen were fine and the duvet and bed were very comfortable. The shower worked well with plenty of hot water. We stayed quite late in our rooms the first morning whilst my husband went into town - it was raining - until around 11am and that was no problem re. cleaning, although we did offer to vacate the rooms if necessary. Breakfast was fine. Lots to choose from and always refilled. Free Independent Newspaper. Quite a modern breakfast/restaurant area. Very pleasant. There is a bar, but we did not use it. Still, useful to have. It's not in the centre of town, but we walked from the station. I suggest you take a bus or a taxi. On leaving the four of us got a taxi (ordered kindly by the hotel receptionist) for under a fiver - probably cheaper than the bus, to the main railway station. During our stay we walked around the area and there were little 'corner shops' and a few pubs, but you have to explore your way around. We just headed off in the direction we wanted to go and discovered lots of places. The receptionist gave us a map, which came in very handy. The walk into town is only about 20-30 minutes at a slow pace depending on which route you take. The hotel was very clean and we really enjoyed our stay there. The hotel has a large car park. We slept well, with little noise from outside. Our view overlooked a main road and a building site, but we weren't there for the view and there was no work taking place. We were overall very happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

The hotel was clean and tidy and the room was very adequate for our needs. Its not really in the city centre tho and although the staff were very friendly when asked were the nearest shop was the staff were stumped. I also found it hard to find but that was probably just my sat nav but the hotel is not signposted and is surrounded by tall student apartments so it was hard to see from the direction we were coming from. Limited selection of meals at dinner but there was a good selection of sandwiches from snack area. The bar ran out of Baileys as well. Breakfast was good although the toaster machine was burning everything no matter what setting it was on so it took a little longer using the conventional toaster.

All in all a good experience and a pleasant few days away in Leeds. If I was staying in Leeds again I would probably stay here again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Altho' not actually located in city centre, it would only take a 5-min walk - instead we took advice from helpful staff in reception and caught buses on nearby main road, at cost of just £1/each way. (Numbers 49,50 & 18 buses are very regular and take a couple of mins into centre).
Our room was spacious, quiet and had a view. Aircon worked well and large bathroom, with walk-in shower was good.
Breakfast is a bit basic, with just sausages & scrambled egg as the hot offering, with toast, but there was fruit and cereal as well - ok, if viewed as just fueling up for the morning! Free daily paper was nice.
We were satisfied and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you back at the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel twice now as my first Holiday Inn choice (Royal Armouries) was full on both occassions. If you want the absolute basics then this hotel is for you. The rooms are very sparse and the TV screen is probably the same size as the screen on my Blackberry! My main complaint is the choice of food on the evening menu. There's about 5 choices of which none appealled to me - burger, fish and chips, pizza, microwave looking curry - no thanks!. My colleague ordered the stonebaked pizza and believe me it truly was STONEBAKED!. The Broccoli and Pasta bake was luke warm, garlic bread was disgusting and to charge over £10 for this is just not on! I am a Priority Club member and entitled to an upgrade but as all the rooms are standard, this was not possible. The only perk was 1 free drink during my two night stay. I did not enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that the food was not to your liking. We are committed to offering the key facilities that our guests need, without unnecessary and expensive frills. We know that many guests don't want to fork out for expensive restaurants so we try to offer a simple menu of popular items so that those who wish to dine in our hotel can do so but we are more than happy to recommend restaurants within the area. Thank you once again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, UK
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

I've stayed here twice now, and think its worthy of a review.

The hotel is around a 15-20 minute walk from the city centre of Leeds, Its easy enough and around £6 for a taxi back after a night out!

There is plenty of parking and at weekends this is £3 per night which is very reasonable.

The room are spacious and modern, always very clean - staff seem quite friendly.

The breakfast is well stocked and included, sausages and scrambled egg is the hot option...

What's great about this place is the price - I paid £49 for two nights, a bargain if I may say so!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Thank you for taknig the time to write a review and hope to see you back at the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre

Address: Cavendish St | Off Kirkstall Road, Leeds LS3 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a central location and good value at the modern Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre hotel. Park in our secure car park, and enter Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre's vibrant Lobby where you can take advantage of free WiFi and our friendly staff are waiting to greet you. Our contemporary 7-story hotel is set in leafy grounds and you can help yourself to a complimentary hot breakfast each morning before taking the 15-minute walk into Leeds' city centre. Handily located just off the A65 and 8 miles from Leeds Bradford Airport, Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre is easy to reach by car. Catch up on work with wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and host events for up to 35 guests in our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. You're a short drive from major businesses in Leeds city centre. Hop on a bus at the stop outside our hotel or stroll to the city centre's cosmopolitan shopping and nightlife in minutes. You can watch Leeds United FC play at Elland Road Stadium or enjoy cricket at Headingley Stadium, both 10 minutes' drive from the hotel. Choose from simple, tasty meals on the evening menu in Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre's inviting Great Room. Unwind with a glass of wine on leather sofas and bring your laptop to surf the web via free wireless Internet. You can watch TV on the big screens and chat to our friendly staff in the bar. Rooms feature air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and en suite shower room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Hotel Leeds
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.