We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for work and leisure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cavendish St | Off Kirkstall Road, Leeds LS3 1LY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Epworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for work and leisure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hotel staff were excellent and very helpful. It was also very well maintained and my room was clean. Good amount of desk space for working with a laptop and free wifi worked and was quite fast. Breakfast was well managed and there was a good selection. Front of house staff were extremely helpful and attentive. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    188
    61
    14
    5
See reviews for
67
106
20
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

In October, I was accommodated in the Holiday Inn Express, Leeds City Centre for 4 nights, my first visit to one of this brand. The "City Centre" name is stretching it a bit, as it is a 20 minute walk to the aforementioned City Centre! However, I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel and the room offered basic essentials (including, my own measure of "acceptable", a box of tissues in the bathroom!), was clean, fresh and housekeeping was first class. The buffet breakfast is faithfully replicated at other "H.I. Express" locations in other cities and is simple and totally adequate. The Staff in Leeds were extremely helpful and guided me to the adjacent Convenience Store and the local Pub, which serves excellent food and beverages. Due to it's distance from the Centre, a simple dinner menu was available from the restaurant every evening for a restricted time. I found that the facilities were totally sufficient and reflected the best value for money that I have experienced in some time. I would recommend this Hotel to both my Colleagues and Friends, for business and leisure travel.

Room Tip: Sited in an industrial/student area, but I did not experience any extraneous noise or disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Friendly greeting by helpfule , cheerful and efficient staff in this Holiday inn express, which is convenient for city centre, just off inner ring road near hospital and university. Standard format decor and facilities.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the lift doors To avoid being distrurbed by guest returning to their rooms afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good budget hotel with excellent breakfast thrown in. On site parking only£3.50 if you are a loyalty club member. Clean comfortable and within walking distance of the town centre....about a mile. Rooms could do with a choice of pillows but other than that very good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay. We should have a
choice of firm and soft pillows in the room and I wonder if the tags were missing on this occasion.
I apologise for this and thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The holiday inn express leeds is what you would expect from a holiday inn - clean, modern, comfy bed. Staff are friendly, and welcoming. Its called city centre, but is 20 min walk from town centre, with nothing around apart from a spar shop and lots of flats. The hotel overlooks a busy dual carriage way, so if you do not like traffic noise ask for a room not facing this. The company have changed their policy and now you have free wifi everywhere - which for a business traveller is welcomed.

Room Tip: Hotel overlooks busy dual carriage way, so ask for room on other side for a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel on the 17th October - staff could not do enough and room was spotless and so comfortable - many thanks.
First time we have ever stayed at a Holiday Inn Express but after this experience we will use this chain again.
We will definitely stay at the Leeds City Centre hotel again.
Well done and thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel because I was attending a concert at the arena and thought this would be a good place to stop over. Although the location says Leeds City Centre it is a bit out of the way, if you are traveling in by coach I would advise getting a taxi from Leeds coach station - I found this the easiest option. The hotel was very nice and the staff were helpful and friendly. There is no room service available but I ordered from the restaurant/bar and when my food was ready the staff called my room and I went down to collect it and take it back to my room, this was great as we were in a bit of a rush so we could eat and get ready at the same time! The rooms are very clean and quite spacious and the breakfast was basic but nice. I would stay here again

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the car park, I was woken up by somebody continuously beeping their hor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Our hotel is located near to the new Leeds First Direct Arena which is a short taxi ride or a 15 minute
walk away.

I’m sorry you were woken up by a car horn; I believe this was a one-off caused by a taxi driver (not
from the hotel) who could not get out the car park barrier and thought it would be a good idea to
sound his horn! My team did deal with him at the time and report the incident to the firm
concerned.

Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre

Address: Cavendish St | Off Kirkstall Road, Leeds LS3 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a central location and good value at the modern Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre hotel. Park in our secure car park, and enter Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre's vibrant Lobby where you can take advantage of free WiFi and our friendly staff are waiting to greet you. Our contemporary 7-story hotel is set in leafy grounds and you can help yourself to a complimentary hot breakfast each morning before taking the 15-minute walk into Leeds' city centre. Handily located just off the A65 and 8 miles from Leeds Bradford Airport, Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre is easy to reach by car. Catch up on work with wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and host events for up to 35 guests in our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. You're a short drive from major businesses in Leeds city centre. Hop on a bus at the stop outside our hotel or stroll to the city centre's cosmopolitan shopping and nightlife in minutes. You can watch Leeds United FC play at Elland Road Stadium or enjoy cricket at Headingley Stadium, both 10 minutes' drive from the hotel. Choose from simple, tasty meals on the evening menu in Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre's inviting Great Room. Unwind with a glass of wine on leather sofas and bring your laptop to surf the web via free wireless Internet. You can watch TV on the big screens and chat to our friendly staff in the bar. Rooms feature air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and en suite shower room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Hotel Leeds
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.