We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Chinese food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ho's

Ho's
115 Vicar Lane, Leeds LS1 6PJ, England (Quarry Hill)
0113 242 8828
Improve this listing
Ranked #305 of 1,368 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese, Cantonese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Quarry Hill
Leeds
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely Chinese food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

In the past, if we wanted to eat Chinese food in Leeds we would have gone to the Lucky Dragon before it sadly closed for the impending redevelopment of the area. We subsequently found Ho's and were suitably impressed, so much so that we've been going there ever since. We've always received excellent food at a very reasonable prices. The manager, Vincent, always greets us when he's on duty and always remembers our names, amazing memory! He's helped us with the menu many times and often suggests dishes that we otherwise wouldn't have chosen, or gets the chef to prepare dishes a little differently for my particular taste, I like things a little more spicy from time to time.
The service is very friendly, very efficient and the surroundings are very pleasant, I think it's probably our favourite Chinese restaurant now. Can't fault it. Give it a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    43
    15
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Milford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Truly the best chinese in Leeds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We've been to Ho's several times and every time the service and the food is excellent. The portions are on the large side so that goes down very well with my other half. We mostly go with a group of friends. Every time we take some different friends - they always want to go back again. A really high proportion of the diners are chinese which is the best recommendation you can have in my book. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous and we've had complimentary deserts on quite a few occasions. This is my favourite place to eat and i look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“EPIC epic EPIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

this is THE BEST chinese me and my partner have been to. it will have your traditional chinese menu choices and then some. but the quality is something else. JUST DELICIOUS. don't go to a restaurant to pick on the staff and the decor and the rest of it. THE FOOD SHOULD SPEAK FOR ITSELF and this restaurant delivered.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Dim Sum for Years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We tried Ho's restaurant because we were at a loose end one Tuesday lunch time in January. The restaurant is on the first floor (over the bakery) and was quite contemporary in its decoration. . Staff were helpful and most spoke Engli We could see it was a serious place as it was full of a buzzing, young, Chinese clientele, there was only one English menu given to us, with some Chinese standards, set meals etc. There were also two menus in Chinese on the table. When we asked if they had any Cheung Fung however, another menu, in English, appeared as if by magic, which was the translated Dim Sum menu. Having ordered a series of dumplings, cheung fung, buns etc. accompanied by some soft noodles and Jasmine tea we were not even offered knives and forks! The Dim Sum doughs and pastry are obviously made in house and the prawn dumplings were each topped with prawn roe, yummeee! It is in a totally different league to the pre-made Dim Sum found in the more touristy establishments around Gerard Street in London. Portion sizes were more than adequate. At last a worthy successor to the Lucky Dragon in Leeds. We will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rude and Moody Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The staff in this place really kill the mood of your meal out. The girl that took our order spoke very poor english, couldn't smile, and didn't look like she could be bothered. The manager (the fatter guy on the floor) was rude and moody, shouting at staff, dumping plates down on tables, refusing to talk to customers, not bothering to fulfil simple requests such as 'could you bring me a knief please', and huffed and puffed at every little task he was charged with. The floor also shakes when he thuds up and down the restaurant. On the plus side, the food was decent priced and portion size good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ho's also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Ho's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ho's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.