We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better steak at my local Weatherspoons” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gaucho

Gaucho
21-22 Park Row | Leeds, Leeds LS1 5JF, England (Leeds City Centre)
0113 246 1777
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gaucho is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 1,368 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $61 - $62
Cuisines: Latin, Argentinean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Description: Gaucho source the finest grass-fed beef in the world from Argentina, along with an offering of many other Argentine specialities which range from Latin American style ceviche to chorizo, Gulf de San Jorge lobster, Patagonian lamb and Argentine gambas to traditional empanadas and fine wine. We also offer the largest wine selection in the world outside of Argentina in our restaurants and guests can buy many of the wines from our wine boutique, Cavas de Gaucho on Swallow Street. With seasonally changing menus served across all of our restaurants, we also offer The Gaucho Lunch menu, either two or three courses, between Monday and Friday.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Better steak at my local Weatherspoons”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Saturday 4th May 2013


1. Great venue, totally over priced £30 - 40 steaks
2. 3 different unheard of beers £4.50 a half
3. My wifes welldone fillet was so hard she could hardly cut it - what chef would present that
4. Salad soaked in oil
5. Complicated menu
6. Why do i want to see a wooden board of meat, to show me the cuts

I had my first taste of Argentinian steak at 'Meat' cafe in Nice France, beautiful. I had a taster menu at Gaucho, i can honestly say i could cook better from my local butcher. One mistake from the chef...... but not 4

How can can Gaucho Leeds be as expensive as the Cote du Zure - easy RIP OFF

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    118
    52
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The steaks are always good in Gaucho but then they should be for the money they charge. The wine list has eye watering mark ups & is massively overpriced for the wines they are serving. There are many alternative restaurants that are comparable in quality, with better service & wine lists that offer a greater range of prices & choice

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorks .barnsley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great steak at a price !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a meal at this restaurant in april 13
I knew it was a pricey establishment when we booked.
The steak and service were both good but i have had better for much less.
We sat down at 9 30 pm and the place was chocka block. A little too close for comfort.
Overall the food was well presented and of a good quality and the restaurant had a good atmosphere but it was just a tad too expensive for what it is .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the 4th time we have been here and every time we come away happy. The service is wonderful and the food is Devine. Abby was our waitress and she was excellent, knowledgeable, polite and friendly. The blonde female manager (sorry I can't recall the name) was fantastic. She arranged for two complimentary strawberry Bellinis when she found out it was our anniversary. We go to Gaucho when it's a special occasion and they always make it more special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We visited Gaucho's in Leeds on a Tuesday night. We were given a table to have pre meal drinks where we got to try three wines that were being promoted. Once we had our drinks we where shown to our table the setting is great it has leather walls with cow hind backed seats and big chandeliers. We got our menu's and the waitress arrived with a board of meats to talk us through the different cuts. This was great as we all made our choices from the information provided. I got the Gaucho's tasting plate this is a must for all foodies. I would also recommend the apple pancake for dessert after mine was attacked by others they ended up ordering it too. The cost can be on the high side depending what you order but if you like great steak go here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaucho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.