We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for an evening beverage!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town Street Tavern

Town Street Tavern
16 - 18 Town Street | Horsforth, Leeds LS18 4RJ, England
0113 281 9996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for an evening beverage!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Brilliant atmosphere, lovely little courtyard, good selection of drinks, really friendly staff. A must visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    31
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and choice of ale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Relaxed atmosphere, lovely food, nice beer garden and good choice of ale. Perfect Sunday lunch ding and chilling out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and really friendly staff! Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were visiting friends in Horsforth this week and spotted this on Tripadvisor. Popped in mid-week for lunch and really enjoyed.

Definitely somewhere you might walk past and not give a second glance too as it looks far more like a drinking pub rather than a spot for lunch, but it is definitely worth going in.

The landlord is really friendly and the have a great range of beers and ales. Small menu with starters, mains and light bites plus about 5 dishes on the specials.

We had the meat loaf which my other half said was really good and which came with homemade chips, coleslaw and corn on the cob. I had two starters; posh mushroom on toast and mackerel pate of the specials. Both nice, but the pate was definitely the highlight. Lots of big chunks of mackerel in it rather than the bland mush that you sometimes get. Finally our friend had the light bite pork pie with chips and mushy peas. Even the portion for the light bite was huge and he said it was excellent - at less than £6 a bargain as well.

The only thing it could do with is some music - wouldn't mind what, but on a quiet lunchtime it would just breakup the silence a little.

Definitely one to visit again next time we are up in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent pub, restaurant and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our recent visit to Town Street Tavern was an excellent choice for our treat lunch! With a big choice of heart warming, traditional pub food (which we were craving!) to a wide selection of real ales it really doesn't disappoint. There are also lighter lunch choices as well as restaurant style food which also look amazing. Not only this, the quality of the food is excellent, all homemade with big portions at a very reasonable price. The chilli dip we had with our burgers was amazing! We have visited a number of times before with family, little ones, friends and big groups. Each time we have been welcomed by the friendly bar staff and owner. We have thoroughly enjoyed each visit and will be returning soon. It is well worth a trip for either lunch, an evening meal or just a pint of real ale!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice beer, food a little disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've eaten a few times here before, The beer is always well kept and there is always a really good selection, but found our recent visit quite disappointing.

We visited on a lunchtime and although not busy, the food we ordered took over 45 minutes to arrive. When it did it was not up to the standard we had come to expect from the Town Street tavern.

I ordered the fish and chips, the batter was very soggy, the chips felt as though they had been warmed up in a microwave ( some parts hot some cold) and the peas were tinned.

My wife had the sausage and mash which was better, but still not great. It's a real shame because it's one of the few local places which normally has a great mixture of beer and food.

Perhaps we got it on a bad day, but I feel there are much better places ( Coopers in Guiseley for instance) which offer a nicer experience and certainly are much better value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Street Tavern also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Town Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Street Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.