We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arti Restaurant

Arti Restaurant
285-287 Roundhay Road, Leeds LS8 4HS,, England
0113 249 0999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #457 of 1,368 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were big fans of Arti when it was in Harehills and then in Chapel Allerton and are delighted that it has now re-opened, this time on Street Lane. This is a great little restaurant which includes South Indian food on its menu along with an excellent range of other dishes. Everything we have tried so far has been good, especially the lamb chops, fish masala and dosas. The service is excellent and the atmoshere very friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    3
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Food was great! Service was terrible!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Went here with friends for dinner. We arrived at 5 when the place was only opening. When we walked in there was noone around. We saw a man stick his head out from the back of the restaurant and we asked if they were open as there was noone there. It appeared he did not speak english as he ran out and got someone else.

The man that came seated us and was rather nice but he was trying to serve us our drinks and take orders on the phone at the same time (out at the front of the restaurant). We were half way through ordering drinks and he had to go and answer the phone and take someones order! we then ended up having to call him back about 20 mins later to take our food order!

We were a while waiting on the food but it was actually worth the wait because the food was very nice!! I was surprised at how good it was because after seeing the service i was worried about the quality of the restaurant but maybe we just got a bad day!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“AArti now risen from ashes of old Arti - fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Excellent as always, missed Shamil's cooking for the last couple of months. But now he's opened up at the old Curry Lounge, about @Home on Strret Lane, Leeds. Opposite the petrol station. Food top notch indian cuisine to die for. Go and see for yourself, you will not be disappointed

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Aartis on Street Lane Leeds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have been missing Artis at Chapel Allerton since it closed as we regularly travelled from York to eat fantastic dosas and vegetarian curries and felt it was well worth the trip. We agree with the previous reviewer that it is great news that the chef has taken the plunge and opened as Aartis on Street Lane. We visited with friends on Saturday night and were delighted to be served with fantastic food by friendly waitresses. The starters were especially delicious and our friend said the lamb curry was the best he had tasted!
We wish this new venture every success and will return very soon. If you enjoy good Indian food we recommend Aartis ,it i well worth seeking out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Where is Arti now?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Arti Restaurant moved to Chapel Allerton about 5 years ago and then, sadly, closed a couple of months ago but the good news is that its talented chef has reopened as Aarti Restaurant in the former Curry Lounge premises on Street Lane in Roundhay. This is easily my favourite Indian restaurant with lovely food including a wide selection of South Indian dishes. Small, friendly and very reasonably priced, this the place to go if you are lucky enough to be in the vicinity!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arti Restaurant also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Arti Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arti Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.