We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Cafe Rouge's poorer restaurants” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge - Leeds Headrow

Cafe Rouge - Leeds Headrow
Unit 2, The Light, The Headrow | The Light, Leeds LS1 8EH, England (Leeds City Centre)
0113 246 1620
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #727 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Portsmouth Uk
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“One of Cafe Rouge's poorer restaurants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We really like CF so decided to go in for breakfast. Although it was cold outside, the restaurant was cold and unwelcoming. We were waved to a table by the only apparent waiter. The order was taken in a somewhat surly manner although not unhelpful. Drinks arrived quite swiftly followed by food. Like the restaurant - it was cold. On cold plates too! No check back to make sure our food was ok. No question when we paid the bill. Come on Cafe Rouge...you can do much better than this!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    32
    27
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Unspeakably slow service. Quite a sweet girl but after she had taken our order for a steak sandwich and a cooked camembert, it took 30 minutes for the food to appear. Inexcusable in somewhere that calls itself a cafe and is modelled on brasserie lines. The food was served by a rather sulky waiter, who had to be asked for mustard and ketchup for the steak sandwich and chips. Ketchup came in a messy bottle with bits of old ketchup stuck to the rim. The chips were tepid. The steak was really quite nasty. The French bread okay. What was irritating is that there weren't many people in there. So why did the food take so long?
The Cafe Rouge chain is owned by an anonymous private equity group. Presumably nobody in it knows anything about food or restaurants.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Extremely poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

After a day's shopping and a return visit to Tropical World, a favourite with my youngest daughter, we decided to relax over a drink or two in Cafe Rouge before returning to our hotel to change before dinner.

This restaurant is tucked away behind Brown's on the Headrow in Leeds. We arrived around half 4 in the afternoon on a Saturday. The restaurant wasn't particularly busy and there seemed to be plenty of staff on hand.

Having been shown to our table it took almost 15 minutes, and plenty of gesturing, to get the staffs' attention. We ordered Kir Royale, lager and an Orangina for my 12 year old. Drinks were delivered reasonably quickly.

The venue is a good place to relax but almost but there's not much to look at if you like to watch the world go by as the restaurant is situated within a mall that houses other restaurants, a hotel and a cinema. We decided on a second round and again became frustrated by the lack of attention from the staff. When we did get served we ordered and asked for the bill immediately.

Drinks eventually came and the bill a little while later. You'll not be surprised that it took an eternity for them to come over and allow me to settle it!

Not sure how they'd cope when it gets busy. What should have been a relaxing affair became a time of frustration.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice enough but too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I can't say I went in with high expectations of French cuisine with Cafe Rouge being a chain. Our meals were all perfectly acceptable though - nothing mind-blowing, but nice enough. The staff were efficient and reasonably friendly too - one of the kids meals came out with different side dishes than had been ordered and they sorted this out quickly. It's too expensive for the quality of the food though (we had some Tesco vouchers but still ended up spending a fair bit). I can think of at least two fantastic French restaurants in Leeds where I've had much better food for less money, and would choose them over returning to Cafe Rouge.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bland and disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Although staff were attentive, we found the food to be bland and expensive. The table next to us sent back their choices three times. I was looking forward to trying Cafe Rouge as I had heard good reports from others but based on this experience I wouldn't return

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Leeds Headrow also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Rouge - Leeds Headrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge - Leeds Headrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.