We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Midland Hotel

The Midland Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Midland Hotel to your Saves list
The Midland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   97 Aberford Road, Leeds LS26 8LQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Leeds B&B and Inns
Inverness-shire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night on 2nd January 2012. We arrived at 8pm on the dot and asked if we were too late for food. We were informed that the hotel were not doing food this week. Having travelled all the way from Aberdeen, this was a big disappointment. However, the manager appeared and said he would rustle up scampi and chips for us. We were very impressed with this and when the food arrived it was piping hot, plentiful and tasty. We enjoyed some drinks in the bar in a very relaxed and informal atmosphere. Our room was very cosy, warm and spotlessly clean. Lovely comfortable bed and excellent supply of tea, coffee and biscuits. The shower room was adequate with good shower, toiletries supplied and plenty towels. Breakfast next morning was very good with excellent service. We really enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to return if in the area again. Thank you very much to the staff who really went out of their way to be helpful and kind. My only slight complaint was that the room lighting was dull and due to the room layout drying your hair is difficult as the mirror is high and you can not sit down to do this. I'm sure this could be easily addressed and would make it even better.

Room Tip: Bring your own mirror to dry your hair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
18
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Stayed in the Family room and the whole customer experience was excellent. From booking in to departure, all the staff delivered a first class service. The Food was excellent especially the Penne Pasta which is the best Pasta dish I have ever had. The room was spotless and well colour co-ordinated with a great bathroom with shower and heated very well.. Because the stable block is not adjoined to the pub and well away from the busy road, we all slept soundly on very comfortable beds.The location is great as after getting full train departure and arrival times from the very knowlegible staff, we only had to walk 4 mins to the station and from there it was only 10 mins into Leeds station with all 3 of us getting there for just £6.00 return. The Cask ales were exceptional and you can tell by the number of regulars that this is a well supported Public House/Hotel. The breakfast gets 10/10 as it was cooked to order and served very hot as were all the meals.If you want to stay outside the busy bustle of leeds and have an excellent night with good food, great beer, and cosy surroundings, you would have to travel a very long way to find a better place to stay for Value & money. Thank you to the whole team and we will stay with you again very soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

It was great to stay somewhere different to the usual rep filled hotels I usually stay in. A nice little locals pub with the rooms in the converted building next door. I stayed in room 1 which was a small, cute room, with nice furnishings and a good shower. It was very cosy and I slept like a log for a chance. I happened to stay on a Wednesday which was steak night at the pub, and it really was great. Service is first class - very friendly and natural. I'll always stay here on future trips in and around the Leeds area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Lovely little hotel, you are looked after from the second you arrive, the rooms are good as is the food the Beer and the breakfast, quiet location but the city centre is a 10 minute taxi ride.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauchline, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Clean, comfortable family room with a good shower.
The staff were friendly and the breakfast was nice. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Midland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland Hotel

Address: 97 Aberford Road, Leeds LS26 8LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Midland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Midland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Midland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.