We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wharf Approach | Granary Wharf 2, Leeds LS1 4BR, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Leeds)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #9 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Hull
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Night away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Doubletree by Hilton in Leeds on a Friday night. The hotel has a great location and there is a walkway to the bars and shops. The hotel is superb and our room had a great view on the 6th floor. We went to the sky lounge and had drinks before we went out, the cocktails are ok but rather expensive. I have had a better mojito if I am honest! The shower in the room was excellent and the bed comfy. The hotel has a great lounge and Restaurant and the breakfast was brilliant, excellent choice although no mushrooms?? You get looked after and the hotel really has the feel of a 4 star hotel and the staff are all very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    764
    195
    62
    35
See reviews for
170
933
130
540
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed at the hilton for 2 nights, the free cookie upon arrival was great, especially after travelling. All the staff were friendly and polite.
The rooms aren't huge but they are still very good. The iMac in the room was an excellent feature, as well as the speaker system - As we were told that the rooms were soundproof, we had our music fairly loud, only to find a staff member coming to our room to ask us to turn the music down. I would suggest that the Hilton removes this "soundproof" claim or changes their choice of speaker system if it's too loud. The hotel itself is very nice, i didn't eat there so can't comment on the food, reason being that it was quite expensive.
My only problem with this hotel was the ridiculous prices in the sky lounge. A double vodka and lemonade was £8.50, this was more then some of the cocktails on the menu, which made no sense to me. Also, there is a no trainers policy which was annoying as some of our group were turned away, despite many other people in the bar also wearing trainers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Pretty average really, rooms were pokey, not particularly well cleaned & no bath??? Even the premier inns have a bath!! Good location & breakfast was again, pretty average...

Better hotels for the money in Leeds...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Other people have already written about the great views from the canal side rooms, the fact that everything is clean and smart, and the rooms are a decent size and well fitted out. The staff are friendly and efficient, and even found me some soya milk for the in room fridge for my morning tea as I'm lactose intolerant.
The cost of breakfast and the bar prices are surprisingly high considering the easy access to alternative venues only a short walk away. Access from the station was almost all under cover, and whilst it is through the old railway warehouse tunnels under the station, it is all well lit and well frequented.
It was recommended to us, and we recommend it to you.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get the canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjedgar, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. I will share this to the rest of the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Regards,

P.J. Edgar
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding nearby and enjoyed the hotel greatly. It is modern and clean, well run and extremely well located for the city centre and station. The room was well apportioned and spotless. Wireless was free and working well throughout. The only drawback was the lifts situation. One of the only 3 lifts was out of action so there were constant long ques to use them. Going up to the room after check-in meant a wait behind 30 or more people bottle-necked into the lobby waiting for lifts! Breakfast was fine though the few staff were a little over-run, especially on the Sunday. Otherwise a great hotel with really good customer service.

Room Tip: Stay on the lower floors to give a choice to use stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjedgar, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much with your kind words. I will share these with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

P.J. Edgar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just returned from a lovely weekend in Leeds having stayed at the Doubletrees Hilton. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were spotless and the breakfast was excellent. Will definitely choose to stay at this hotel in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A good location close to Leeds station but not a very pleasant walk at night to get to the hotel! Once you are there, it's lovely and I had a large room on the 7th floor with a great view of the Canal. The room was spacious with a good double shower cubicle and the toiletries - shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and shower cap provided are welcome and smell good. The bed is comfortable and the TV/Computer is excellent. Breakfast is good but if the hotel is crowded it can take a long time to get seated so if you're there on business go to breakfast early! The restaurant for dinner was a disappointment on the day I went but there are some great restaurants in the square opposite the hotel. I ate at 'Fazenda' in Liverpool which is an amazing experience and well worth trying if you're a meat eater. There is one opposite the hotel but do book as it was totally full when we gave up on the hotel restaurant and tried to eat there. But I'd definitely stay at the hotel again and the staff were all helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a Canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre

Address: Wharf Approach | Granary Wharf 2, Leeds LS1 4BR, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Leeds)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#3 Business Hotel in Leeds
#4 Family Hotel in Leeds
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Leeds hotel, built in 2009 is part of the revitalised Granary Wharf area, next to Leeds station and the Leeds to Liverpool canal. All 333 of our bedrooms are styled with absolute consideration for your comfort and feature our award winning multimedia iMac computer, complimentary wi-fi and Sky in every room. Dine in the sophisticated surroundings of City Cafe restaurant or dine alfresco on our south facing, canalside terrace. There are two bars, our Ground Floor Granary Lounge bar and the very popular 13th Floor Skylounge where you will find a breath taking view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.