We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Leeds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kendells Bistro

Kendells Bistro
3 St Peter's Square, Leeds LS9 8AH, England
01132436553
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kendells Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 1,368 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Leeds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Last night’s dinner confirms my continued assertion that Kendell’s Bistro is still the best restaurant in our home city of Leeds.

I’ve been banging the drum for Steve Kendell and his fantastic team for many years and will continue to do so on last night’s evidence. Judging by last night’s packed out restaurant, the word has seriously got out and diners seeking sublime food and drink in an intimate ambience need to look no further.

As our local restaurant scene continues to grow and become more competitive, Kendell’s will simply stick to its knitting carving a niche as the only french bistro style restaurant worth visiting in Leeds, which is amazing really.

My wife had home cured salmon to begin which she declared delicious and a change from her usual Chicken main (which is amazing in itself) to hake with mussels cooked in a bag, which was aromatic and delicately beautiful. Still reeling from the wife's non-chicken choice, I stayed true to type and hoovered up the boudin noir (rich and unctious) followed by the ribeye with bone marrow which was a dish so rich and comforting I could have used it as a sleeping bag in minus 20 degrees weather conditions (which I might indeed try). This was washed down by a superbly unusual Sancerre Pinot Noir recommended by Maitre D, a seriously good wine for the price.

We rarely get to dessert and as such, we’re rubbish gourmands. But in truth the starters and mains are so consistently good we’re not worried. Service was attentive and well organised as it needed to be on a jam packed Saturday night. Dinner for two is usually around the £100 mark at Kendell’s and it’s possible to eat here for a lot, lot less if you get in early for the early bird menu (see pic above) but we were a la carte and went for it. Still, I think it’s great value compared to what £100 will buy elsewhere in the city.

I think it’s highly unlikely that you’ll be reading this and not been to Kendell’s. On the off chance you’re a Martian that has recently decamped to Leeds then ‘zarjaz difox flox di eppient coazkip jixe di quiaxet’ which roughly translated means go to Kendell’s for the early bird or if you’re feeling flush opt for the al la carte as soon as you can.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    778
    186
    63
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Perfectly cooked steak and friendly service are just two reasons to visit this restaurant.

The decor is charming, the wine list extensive and although the a la carte menu is not cheap, it is still excellent value for money. The food quality is very good with an obviously talented kitchen team.

The menu is on a blackboard on the wall, which is a bit hard to read. But the staff are more than happy to take a picture of it on your phone. I saw some people at the back had binoculars to read it, but this all adds to the experience.

Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited the restaurant on a Saturday night and received a very warm welcome. We spent a little while studying the blackboard menus and there were some lovely dishes to choose from. However we were surprised that a few dishes were sold out at just after 8pm.

The very small portion of scallops served were lovely. The lamb, duck and pheasant were excellent. Also the prune parfait and the Iles Flotant were delicious. The cheeseboard wasnt too generous.

The wine menu offered an excellent choice of wines but we felt were a little pricy. We really enjoyed the Chablis and Fleuri though.

I felt that the noise level from the music and busy restaurant, and the warm atmosphere was a little uncomfortable.

The complimentary birthday sparkling wine was a lovely gesture.

All staff were very friendly and efficient. A very pleasant evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hidden Gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our second visit to Kendells and we were not disappointed. It lived up to all our memories and more!! We were greeted promptly on arrival and seated at our table. We had made a special request when booking which was dealt with without any fuss. The service throughout our meal was exceptional. We never felt rushed and never left waiting for anything. Amazingly we were told that it was a year to the day that we last visited them and on explaining it was a birthday treat we were promptly served complimentary glasses of champagne!! Lovely touch I thought. The food here is fantastic. Complimentary warm French bread basket was swiftly consumed whilst reading the blackboard full of culinary delights. So many nice dishes made it difficult to choose. We had French onion soup and scallops to start. Both were excellent and soon polished off. The duck leg and calves liver were again faultless and tasty. Both served with different potatoes as we were reminded of when ordering chips as a side!! Be warned that you need to leave room for pudding as the portions are quite generous. Sides are extra but they are definitely worth it. Cauliflower and broccoli cheese is perfect. Once explained by a knowledgeable waitress Ile Flottante was ordered and did not disappoint. Large white fluffy meringue floating in a delightful well of vanilla custard sprinkled with almonds and spun sugar was just heaven. We were offered the "2 spoons" which was a nice touch. With a bottle of wine, couple of beers and soft drinks and a cocktail our bill came to just over £100 which I feel is real value for money for such a wonderful dining experience. Thank you Kendells for making more birthday memories to treasure.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rushed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was a get together with colleagues and ex colleagues and was an opportunity to catch up. We pre- booked our choices and the food was nice but not startling. The noise in the restaurant meant conversation was limited and the courses came thick and fast. An hour and a half and we were out on the street! I like to savour my food, eat delicious and unusual choices and enjoy good conversation, Kendell's is not a place to do that.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kendells Bistro also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Kendells Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kendells Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.