We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning food, excellent service, beautiful atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kendells Bistro

Kendells Bistro
3 St Peter's Square, Leeds LS9 8AH, England
01132436553
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kendells Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,368 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stunning food, excellent service, beautiful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

As I write this review, Kendells is rated only #12 of 747 restaurants in Leeds. I certainly deserves a much higher ranking than this. I've been to Kendells three or four times, having smapled both the Early Biord and standard menus. The food is always superb. The last time we visited, we mentioend we were celebrating our engagement, and a couple of glasses of complimentary bubbles soon came our way - how thoughtful and lovely. I always recommend Kendells to everyone I speak to about restaurants in Leeds - it's absolutely my favourite place, and I can't wait to return again soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    187
    63
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a find!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Four of us went to Kendell's bistro last night. We all had the menu prix fixe/early bird menu with the half bottle of wine included for £26 each and the food was wonderful. Really tasty, hot and good sized portions. You choose from menus on big blackboards along one wall and there's more choice than indicated on the website. We had a choce of 7 starters, 6 main courses and 5/6 desserts. Everything we had was lovely and we all really enjoyed it. The house wine was good too. we were there early 6.30ish, so that we could have the early bird menu and the place was really buzzing. It remained like that when we left at around 8.45. The decor might look a bit dark from the outside, but inside it really gives you that French bistro feel.
Service was really good, if at times a little too efficient. As soon as you'd emptied your wine bottle/glass it was removed. Can't fault the tidiness.
This was our first trip, but it certainly won't be our last.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Meal for two on Friday at 8.30, busy but not packed so service was very good as you come to expect here.
Food as always was excellent, have been a number of times over the last couple of years and you have to try very hard to find fault.

We always love the lighting of the place, the hustle/bustle etc., it just feels like an easy place to eat quality food in a relaxed yet stylish environment. This would not be enough if it was over priced but the place provides some interesting choices and I would say solid value for money so overall it is a great place in my opinion as long as you don't mind a bit of noise.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I went ot Kendells with a party of friends, on arrival I realised that they had booked the early bird menu, a mistake in my opinion. The restaurant is very small and the tables are all squashed in, the room is so noisy as a result that you couldn't really hear what anyone was saying. Some of the choices were unavailable when we tried to order and then you have to vacate your table within a short time. The food was really very good but the other issues mean that I wouldn't recommend it or return.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An experience not to miss.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had a brilliant meal here with fiends last Saturday. All four of us had different starters and mains. All were excellent. Will definitely be going again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kendells Bistro also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Kendells Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kendells Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.