We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Sabai

Thai Sabai
2 The Parade | North Lane, Leeds LS6 3HP, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #207 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Street Food
Description: If you're looking for a cheap, chic and cheerful Thai restaurant in Leeds then look no further. Thai Sabai means 'a place to relax', and the staff here will go out of their way to make make you feel welcome. The d��cor is simple, but the authentic fare at Thai Sabai is exquisitely presented, and all meals are cooked to order meaning you can tailor each dish to your spice-sensitive/gluten-free/vegan needs. With over 80 dishes on the menu, choosing just one will be the hardest part. Favourites include the Tom Yum seafood soup; Gai Hor Bai Toey ��� chicken wrapped in Pandan leaves served with sweet chilli sauce; and the spicy Thai-style fish cakes.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food & value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Looked around Headingley for an Early Bird menu on a Friday night and Thai Sabai looked friendly with a great offer - 2 courses + drink for £10.95 if ordered before 7pm!
This was around 6pm.
There was only one other couple in the restaurant, so we thought we'd take a gamble.
Greeted pleasantly and given a choice of tables, we were quickly offered the Early Bird menu as well as a la carte.
Early Bird was a choice of 5 starters, 6 mains & 4 sweets plus a soft drink, hot drink, glass of wine or Thai beer.
Hot & Sour Soup and Thai Fishcakes with 2 Singha beers followed by Green Curry with rice and Pad Thai and 2 more beers - bill came to £27. Bargain!
Tasty, spicy and authentic food with unobtrusive service make this a hot spot in the area.
We left just after 7pm and the place was full. Book for busy nights, especially when Rhinos are playing a home game!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, affordable Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had booked a table for two and when we arrived we were given the opportunity to book our table. The restaurant is small, clean with a cozy, oriental atmosphere but not over the top. The service was friendly, quick and affective. The menu is extensive with a huge range of choices for vegetarians. Among the dishes we tried, the steak was absolutely amazing. King prawns and vegetable salad were also great. If you prefer your food sour and spicy, you just have to ask for it because otherwise you might end up with something rather mild. We'll be definitely going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great food, cheap price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

we visited the thai sabai for the first time using dealmonster vouchers so had a 4 course meal. The service was excellent, as was the presentation and the food. The menu is amazing - although ours was more limitted as we were using vouchers. The waiter listened to our needs (I don't like chillies or coriander) whereas myfriend loves chillies. The food was hot, quickly served and delicious. What more can you ask. We are visiting again this weekend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I come from Malaysia and always eat Thai cuisine in Malaysia and in Thailand. Unfortunately, the food here is not as expected. All the food is sweet instead of Sour & Spicy. I understand that maybe chef has to consider people who cannot eat spicy food but the sweet taste is so much different with the original Thai foods. I'm so sorry to say that - this is not Thai food at all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent value Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We arrived for our booked table and were given a choice of where we'd like to sit. Quickly seated we started to look through the extensive menu. Make sure you look through all of it before making a decision though. The fantastic vegetarian selection is towards the back, almost like a second full menu listing. Drinks were chosen and served and we were given some Thai prawn crackers and dip before our starters arrived - mixed starter plate for two (excellent value), chicken sesame toasts and tiger prawns. Starters were a good size and very tasty.
Main courses were weeping tiger - a sliced rump steak with a chilli sauce, served with sticky rice. This was absolutely delicious and some of the best steak we've ever had. Other main courses were various noodle dishes with duck, squid and prawn respectively. Ingredients for these were all lovely and fresh although we felt perhaps were a little lacking in taste.
Portion size is excellent, especially for the price.
And service simply can't be faulted - very friendly, welcoming and attentive.
We will definitely be back, but (apart from the amazing steak) will make a different choice for main courses next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Sabai also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Thai Sabai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Sabai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.