We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The New Ellington to your Saves list
The New Ellington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Cornwall, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Clearly designed to be a 'boutique' hotel - unorthodox decor, downtown localtion etc. [ Although it's in the financial quarter, so quite a long walk to the shops, restaurants, etc.. However failed on the basics - the limited carparking spaces were gone so the only option was the NCP adjacent to the Crowne Plaze - quite a walk away, £18 for 24h - and only the vaguest of directions from receptionist - no map no satnav code, pretty much sort it yourself.

The carpets in the hallways were also plain dirty[photos], and the rooms have weird sliding wooden shutters with no nets, so unless you want the workmen in the rooms opposite, about 25ft away, to watch you changing and dressing, they have to be closed, plunging the room into darkness.

However the absolute deal-breaker was the broken aircon, on a sweltering night. We got a fan, and the young lad who brought it pretty much admitted it wasn't working all over the hotel. Most bizarrely of all, the guy checking us out in the morning, having briefly apologised, said that a lot of hotels in Leeds were getting warm air out of their aircon!! Presumably some alien forcefield interfering with aircon units??

Basically it's no good being stylish and trendy, and having lovely shower fittings, if you don't provide good basic hotel services, and above all make guests feel welcome, valued, and comfortable. And if design trumps function, it's bad design.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Mr Harvey

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor readers I was disappointed after checking our feedback on check out that you didn’t mention any of the concerns during your stay.

We did have an issue on the air conditioning units which has now been addressed. We were unable to get an engineer out in the evening as it would have meant access to several rooms which were occupied.

I have reviewed the comments on the carpets and they were cleaned two days before your stay and can only assume it is how the pile is brushed on the carpets which make it darker. Rest assured Mr Harvey we take cleanliness in all the areas of the hotel seriously and wouldn’t leave stains on carpets for more than 24 hours.

Your observations regarding the décor and general appearance of the rooms are gratefully received. We have always received positive comments about our shutters that they’re different and look stylish. This being said, I can appreciate that this may not have appealed to your particular taste or style.

If you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail then please contact me direct at the hotel.

Warm regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    109
    56
    23
    17
See reviews for
20
219
13
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night and it was a lovely little place. The rooms are furnished to a really high standard with a top quality bed. Friendly staff who were always very helpful and excellent food. The location is useful being just round from the train station in a quiet road. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Grumpy Jock Uk

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor readers about your relaxing stay with us and in particular our welcoming luxury bed of which 94% of our guest always comment about.

The team were delighted that you found them friendly and welcoming.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and really enjoyed its personal touch. The rooms are very spacious and well-equipped. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The car park was full when we arrived but street parking was available which was safe and cheaper! Breakfast was tasty but did take a while considering not many people were there. The Gin Bar is a must visit with lots of different gins to sample!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Derby Betty

Thank you for taking the time you write about your recent experience I was pleased as were the team that you had relaxing and enjoyable experience.

I have taken on board your comments concerning breakfast but as our all breakfasts are cooked freshly it can take time if we are busy.

I was pleased you like the buzz in our Gin Garden with over 100 bottles of Gin it’s a ginilicous experience!

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights on business in mid July and I booked this hotel as I wanted a smaller and more personal hotel. It certainly lived up to expectations. Check-in was easy and efficient with a friendly and helpful receptionist. The room was excellent with the biggest, comfiest bed I have ever seen in a city centre hotel. The room was well appointed with lots of extra touches that made it home from home. It had a 'proper' hairdryer in a drawer rather than the small wired-in one in the bathroom, there was a decent kettle and lovely selection of teas/coffee and chocolate. There was a fridge with a small carton of fresh milk - a lovely touch when all I wanted was a cup tea after a 3 hour train journey. The fridge was marvellous as it ensured I had a plentiful supply of cold drinks throughout the week in the heat. There were also several sizes of wine glasses, a cocktail shaker, ice bucket and corkscrew - shame I was working and couldn't take advantage! Again a nice touch. There was also a trouser press, full size iron and ironing board, which was really helpful and meant I didn't have to bother house keeping for an ironing board, which is what usually happens. One of the main attractions was the room had air conditioning which was a godsend, although it did struggle at times and wasn't as cool as it said it was - but certainly better than not having it!. There was also free Wi-Fi which was a welcome bonus, as was the peace and quiet at night as the hotel is in a side road away from traffic noise..
The bathroom was lovely, clean and a good selection of quality toiletries and also things like cotton buds and pads etc. There was a bath with a shower where you could have a hand held shower head or a rain shower head above which was a bonus. Plenty of clean towels which were enormous and good quality. Unusually for a city hotel the toilet paper was plentiful and good quality! I appreciate little things like this.
The food was excellent. I ate in the restaurant each morning for breakfast and the choice and quality of food was excellent and the staff cheery and helpful. As I was working in my room late each night I used room service which was just as good with prompt efficient service, excellent food whether it be a sandwich or salad etc. and importantly great value for money.
A special mention to all the staff who were unfailingly polite, cheerful and helpful no matter what.
I wasn't going to write this review as I don't want to make this small hotel too popular as I fully intend to return when next in Leeds! Have to say I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel as I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this hidden gem

Room Tip: I had room 209 overlooking the entrance. Nice and quiet as no traffic noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Nicola L

It was great to read your glowing review about us and that the team are doing what they do best!

The team recall looking after you and are thankful for you taking the time to share your wonderful experience.

Please don’t worry, we only have 34 rooms and even when we are full we can still look after one individually.

Please contact the hotel direct when you wish to return or for future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just the right location for a city break...in a quiet street so you can get a good nights sleep yet close enough to the action.
I have to say it's the staff that really bring this place to life. They all have a sunny attitude and nothing is too much trouble. Special mention to James for making all our requests happen. As a group of women of mixed ages on a hen weekend, everyone had a different agenda and the staff were extremely accomodating.
The rooms are very nice and the fixtures are of a high standard.
Overall, I WILL BE RETURNING without hesitation on my next trip to Leeds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Jacq1234

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff accommodating during your special weekend with us.

We wouldn’t have known that it was a Hen Weekend for you all as you were all very sophisticated and very behaved like all our guest’s!

I have shared your comments with James who was extremely delighted that you gave him a special mention.

Please contact the hotel directly when you wish to return or for future special offers, or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the New Ellington last Saturday for 1 night.

We had an all-round excellent trip.

On arrival we were greeted by James on reception who offered a warm welcome and some great advice on the area and where we could eat/ drink.

I believe we were in a standard city room ( room 108) which was a lovely room with a big bed, tv nice bathroom and some nice extras like a robe, slippers all different types of glasses ( champagne, wine etc if you brought your own drinks/ brought a bottle from bar)

Location of hotel is more in the business area but saying that there was 2/3 bars down the same road and only 5 mins into Leeds city centre.

The Gin Bar at the hotel was really good, best G&T I’ve had in a long timeand team behind bar where very friendly.

We ate at their restaurant next door, Diggbys which was excellent food and service, we had Emily as our waitress who was very friendly and professional.

Only downside to the hotel was that the room was very hot and the air-conditioning was very noisy so we ended up open up the window and as a result heard loads of noise from the nearby bars etc . Also the coffee machine was a bit naff but maybe we weren't doing it right!

Overall, great location, nice rooms, good food and excellent friendly service.

A great choice if your staying in Leeds!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Holidayhan

Thank you for your comments concerning you stay I pleased to read that another satisfied customer enjoyed our beds!

The bar team were delighted you enjoyed their knowledge on G & T with over 100 gins on offer we have something for everyone taste buds.

We are reviewing our coffee machine instructions to see if they can be more user friendly.


Please contact the hotel directly when you wish to return or for future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the New Ellington for two nights for our daughters graduation on her recommendation. Great location and a lovely hotel, a very helpful receptionist and we were delighted to be upgraded to a suite with a wonderfully comfortable bed albeit in the attic which due to the weather was hot to say the least. Unfortunately it is let down for what I can only describe as staff lacking an eye for detail. There is a service lift next to the guest lift however on 3 occasions we used the guest lift it was full of laundry bags or toilet rolls. We used the bar a couple of times, the second time was a painful experience with 3 people behind the bar and we were the only two guests at the bar but it still took about 5 minutes to get two soft drinks by the time the barman had found his bottle opener, ice etc and absolutely no sense of customer service. The small things slightly let down what could be a 5* boutique hotel, it would not take much to fix.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Flyer1960,

Firstly many congratulations on your daughters graduation, I was pleased you appreciated the complementary upgrade to our suite, all our suites are located on the third floor which takes in the quirkiness of the roof lines so I’m sorry you felt you were in an attic.

I have spoken with the team on duty concerning your service comments and corrective training as taken place.

Our service lift is next to the main lift although it’s clearly marked occasionally guest do use it which during the day which result in having to use the guest lift to take items to rooms.

Please contact the hotel directly when you wish to return or for future special offers, or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Address: 23 - 25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#10 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You’ll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington – but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and a restaurant spearheaded by renowned Yorkshire chef Andrew Brookes. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 –inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. Also available are Nintendo Wiis and Xbox 360, coupled with pre-loaded ipods with a variety of genres are available to borrow.**Please note that parking is limited and will be allocated on a first come first served basis** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Ellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.