We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The New Ellington to your Saves list
The New Ellington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Warfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Really enjoyed the stay here, it's a very stylish hotel with high specification fittings and some nice design touches. The operating model is upper end Premier Inn so don't expect to see lots of staff around but those we encountered we're polite and helpful. The room we were in, 207, was quite small even though it was supposed to be a Superior room. The hotel is located at the end of a quiet side street about ten minutes walk from the centre. The bonus of this is that it is very quiet. Put that together with a huge bed and comfy bedding and it was a great night's sleep. I cannot class it as a luxury hotel but it is a real antidote to the formulaic chain hotels. Parking was easy in a gated courtyard directly opposite the hotel. Will definitely use again next time we are in Leeds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    109
    55
    23
    17
See reviews for
20
217
13
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay at The New Ellington recently, room was good value and bed was huge! Excellent facilities and very handy location in the city centre, I would definitely return.
After being open for 18 months, it's already picked up awards and the dining is very good (London prices however)

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The New Ellington is a conveniently located hotel in a quiet back street providing for a peaceful nights sleep. Slightly "trendy" but not overly so (at least I can read the newspaer and laptop in the bar- which is difficult in MalMaison nearby). We agreed a very good rate as a result of extended number of visits with multiple colleagues. Everybody found the hotel clean, well maintained. Rooms are fairly standard size and standard layout but with a couple of nice design touches. Bar is welcoming, although the small size of the hotel means that the staff are often trying to multi task and hence sometimes not immediately available. The restaurant is reasonably high quality (choice, quality and presentation of food) and if a more casual meal is required the bar is a good place for a simpler meal. I would recommend this hotel as a "safe bet". as a business hotel.

Room Tip: Keep away from ground floor and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our room was very luxurious and we were more than happy with the cleanliness and style of the room. To my delight we were the only room in our party of 5 rooms to have a shower accompanied by molten brown accessories. Lovely! The room was spacious, the bed huge and the sliding door onto a balcony a real treat. However, others in our party for the same price did not have the extra added touches we experienced and therefore looking at previous reviews, I think that there certainly are excellent, good and bad rooms. (we were in 304). 10 minute walk into town but close to Greek street restaurants if desired. Thank-you New Ellington.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted and booked in quickly. Booked an Executive room but we were upgraded to a suite (room 301) which was fantastic. We found the staff very friendly, attentive and helpful. Loved the bar area and although we didn't have an evening meal the breakfast was really good with both a buffet and a choice of cooked breakfasts off the menu.
The hotel is located in the business area, 5 minutes from the station and a further 5 minute walk to the main shopping area.
We have stayed in Leeds on various occasions and will stay again in The New Ellington on our next visit. Thank you to the New Ellington for making our stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: If money is not an issue book the suite or try for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Nice size rooms and excellent service. Chap who was supervising checkin was excellent and deserves a special mention.

Quiet room with great facilities inc coffee machine.

Great bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford Upon Avon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is tucked down a quiet side street and a car park directly opposite £14 for 24 hours. There is also on street pay & display for a max of 2 hours for £5. It's also near the train station. We were able to walk to all the shops and restaurants in 5 mins and it was lovely being tucked down a quiet side street. The service from the staff was excellent my only one slight complaint was there was only 1 person to check you in & out but this was not a big problem and the lobby has nice sofas and magazines to read while you wait. The room what can I say! We are regular travelers and this is the best room we've every had Ian city centre. Amazing super king bed, robes, slippers, coffee maker, shower with rain drenching head and a bath big enough for two. I would have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Address: 23 - 25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#11 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You’ll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington – but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and a restaurant spearheaded by renowned Yorkshire chef Andrew Brookes. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 –inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. Also available are Nintendo Wiis and Xbox 360, coupled with pre-loaded ipods with a variety of genres are available to borrow.**Please note that parking is limited and will be allocated on a first come first served basis** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Ellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.