We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The New Ellington to your Saves list
The New Ellington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This hotel is small but perfect. The staff are very welcoming and provide fantastic service overall. The car park is across the street through electronic gates. If you pull up outside the hotel the reception staff pop out and let you in. It is only £14 for the day which we didn't think was too bad. It is under a 10 minute walk in to town/ 5 minutes to the train station.

The reception/bar area is lovely and had some beautiful christmas decorations up whilst we were there. The staff are very attentive and the attention to detail with the service was brilliant.

The room was lovely with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The bathroom was possibly the smallest I have ever seen but had everything you would need in it. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but wished we had - the menu and atmosphere in the restaurant looked fantastic with a brilliant live band.

I have one fault with this hotel: breakfast. The two female staff serving breakfast hid in the kitchen whilst there were four irate tables of customers waiting well over an hour to receive their food. I believe there was only one chef on that morning but I am sure 8 customers in total for breakfast shouldn't take over an hour to serve. Regardless - the behaviour of the serving staff was an embarrassment to this lovely hotel. This was in complete contrast to the service within the rest of the hotel and such a shame. They avoided any eye contact when they did manage to venture out of the kitchen - and laughed at our complaint after having waited an hour and a half for a sausage sandwich. Luckily the reception staff acknowledged the problem and gave us our breakfast for free. Otherwise a faultless hotel that we would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay for breakfast - terrible service
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    109
    56
    23
    17
See reviews for
20
219
13
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Had a lovely large room which was very quiet, no view, close enough to town. Bathroom wasn't in proportion to bedroom but not a problem.Lovely decor throughout the hotel, atmoshpere in hotel bar wasn't brilliant.Little niggles only one hand towel and facecloth in room. room was cold, despite lodging a complaint. Down lighter blown in bathroom, only 2 coffee pods provided and no biscuits. Breakfast was ok, ran out of bowls first morning, table not cleared when hot food brought out. Then overcharged when check out, would i go again, probably not.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Modern hotel which needs time to "bed in" before they can call themselves a luxury hotel.

Pros: Large Super king bed, Modern decor, new and clean feel, flat screen tv, complimentary WIFI, decent bathroom,, good location (10 minutes walk from the Station and down a quiet side street)
Cons: None really
"Could do better": Room service needed to be called twice to get order right, no turn down service, no complimentary iphone docking speakers (although they advertised them).

Friendly helpful staff. They should get in a consultant to show them how their hotel could be so much better!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed here 9th December 2011 for 2 nights. Hotel was quiet and well decorated in the bar and restaurant but starting to look worn around the corridor areas. It was a close walk to the centre but in business district, so lovely and quiet.
Our room was great. It was decorated nicely with a huge bed, which was incredibly comfortable. There was a coffee machine but a few biscuits wouldn't have gone amiss!
The food in the restaurant was beautiful, it was very quiet and relaxed and I liked the idea of late breakfast on a weekend (11am) and check out wasn't until 12 noon.
A little overpriced, but this hotel could be great.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade for a quiet night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011 via mobile

Loved it! Rooms not masdive but so comfy; fresh milk in the fridge, gorgeous fluffy towels, great bathroom. Proper ironing board and iron. Only negatives: no mobile signal and no biccies!! Location excellent, very friendly and professional staff, great ambience - there was live jazz the night we were there!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on the evening of Friday 2/12/2011. From the moment I arrived the service was personal and attentive. I got a good price for the night (£92.50 for a double room including full breakfast) and it compared favourably to anything else on offer. The hotel itself has been designed to a very high standard with a boutique feel to it. My room was a fab size, with a bed that must have been 7ft wide! As another reviewer has said, the room had a Nespresso coffee maker which was a nice touch and the bathroom was fitted with a full sized bath and fantastic "rain shower" as well a hand held shower. We had a drink in the Gin Bar and the ambience was really lovely, the drinks were a good price (less than £5 for a gin and tonic) which I thought was surprising given the surroundings and usual hotel prices. I didn't hear any noice at all during the night; in fact I was worried about oversleeping as it was so quiet! I really cannot think of anything to criticise; if you are in Leeds and fancy something a little bit different, do try the New Ellington!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011 via mobile

Nice hotel, over priced and missing silly items such as biscuits in the rooms.

The staff say that they get so many complaints and management are looking into it! Just provide them and stop the inexpensive offer becoming a cause to write a negative review.

Minimal staff on duty.

Poor room allocation created an unnecessarily noisy night.


FANTASTIC BEDS, and linen

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Address: 23 - 25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#10 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You’ll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington – but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and a restaurant spearheaded by renowned Yorkshire chef Andrew Brookes. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 –inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. Also available are Nintendo Wiis and Xbox 360, coupled with pre-loaded ipods with a variety of genres are available to borrow.**Please note that parking is limited and will be allocated on a first come first served basis** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Ellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.