We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square

Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square
31-33 East Parade, Leeds LS1 5PS, England
0113 246 0669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $14 - $47
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

had a lovely meal at blackhouse, from arrival to leaving the staff were extremely friendly and attentive. the food came fast but not too rushed, every mouthful was a dream. definitely will be returning! the atmosphere was really nice and relaxed. can't wait for our next visit, highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    162
    60
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Howden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been to the Blackhouse on several occasions over the last few months, and am consistently impressed by the high level of service and quality of food. The steak selection is excellent and will suit all pockets, and there is enough variety on thye menu to please all palates. A good sensible wine list, and good background entertainment. A cracking venue with all sorts arriving, familes, couples, young groups - this place appeals to everyone. Very helpful and knowledgable staff, I think this is probably the best place to spend two or three hours in Leeds. Will return!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The evening here exceeded our expectations........ Great ambiance, friendly staff and efficient service. Pre dinner cocktail at the bar, followed by a lovely meal & nice wine all with pleasant live background piano music. Would highly recommend an evening here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“"Great Buzz 2"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Fellow diner “ColinFCA” has beaten me to it with his review of our meal.

Would endorse his views fully and definitely go again if visiting Leeds.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Came to Blackhouse for Valentine's Night (2013) after hearing a lot of positive reviews from friends about both the food and the atmosphere. These positive reviews were not misplaced as everything lived up to expectations!

Myself and the missus were booked in for 7pm but due to traffic and a taxi driver that wouldn't shut up we were a little late in getting there. As it was Valentine's Night they had requested a £5pp deposit to secure the booking, which is standard for this night. Not wanting to lose our booking and not really knowing when we would arrive I rang the restaurant saying we were going to be a little late, which was totally fine.

Arrived at the door on a mildly moist February night and were greeted by the maître d’ with a pleasant smile and a polite "Hello". We were swiftly taken to our table which was a nice little booth towards the back wall. The restaurant was "mood lit" and there was a nice buzz coming from the other diners and staff.

Upon being seated we were quickly attended to by a young waiter who informed us of the House Specials for the evening and an order was taken for drinks and nibbles which arrived quickly after. We had opted for a 2 glasses of Prosecco (it was Valentine's night) and some bread and butter. The bread wasn't particularly fancy, no seeds or oats but it was light and tasted nice enough to no impair the appetite for the Starter/Mains/Desserts which we were yet to choose.

After a long deliberation we opted for the Posh Surf and Turf (sirloin steak, baby scallops, prawns and crayfish - Medium) with Home Cooked Chips and the Fillet Steak with chips and Diane sauce, also Medium. The food arrived very promptly and presented well. The portion size wasn't amazing and I had concerns about needing to order another meal I was pleasantly filled in the end. The steaks were cooked just how we liked them, the fillet was very tender and juicy. The missus seemed to enjoy her food and I even managed to steal a prawn off her plate. Stolen food always tastes nice!

We finished the meal we a portion of Warm Fudge Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream. This was nice, although the cake was a little drier than my personal taste but I'd be very happy to order it again.

We had 2 bottles of Peroni (Red) and a large glass of Merlot to accompany the meal.

The bill came to £76.20 which is touching the high side but the food was nice and the atmosphere pleasant so couldn't really of asked for much more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.