We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teppanyaki

Teppanyaki
Belgrave Street, Leeds LS2 8DD, England
+44 113 245 3345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 1,387 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Teppanyaki Japanese Restaurant. Sit around our teppan hot plates and watch as our chefs skilfully cook your food in front of you, using their theatrical skills, juggling, flipping and with a dash of fire, your meal is prepared for you before your very eyes.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We attended Teppanyaki as a group of seven for my boyfriends birthday. On arrival they sat us down and took our coats, asked us for drinks and gave us menus. We didn't have long to wait for our table, they had already taken our orders to make it easier. Our starters came first, the sushi plate was really nice and so was the soup. I have no idea how to use chopsticks so the lady came over and showed us all, my mum still struggled so they got her the child friendly ones :) It wasn't long before our chef was infront of us, he got the whole party involved even getting us up to try put the egg shells in the bin slot across the table. He was aiming egg into our mouths and kept us all really entertained. All the meat was freshly cooked infront of us, the veg was gorgeous and the egg fried rice was the best I had. For dessert we had ice cream, my boyfriend hadn't ordered one but they brought him one with a sparkler in so we could sing happy birthday which was really nice. To make the night even better we had a taste card so the bill was almost halved. Overall a fantastic meal - will definitely be going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    45
    11
    12
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Helens
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful time we had in this restaurant. Staff are so very pleasant and were only too happy to help. Lovely lady explained the menu and gave great recommendations as it was our first time.
Food was sublime - huge portions of steak and chicken! Next time I visit Leeds I will definitely eat there again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous service, good quality food and great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The service was fantastic! Nothing was too much for the lovely staff here. Food was delicious and Great value for money. Great choice of beautiful fish and meats. Would recommend this restaurant for large groups or special occasions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our first visit to Teppanyaki since the new management took over. We were delighted with every aspect of the evening, from the new carpets to the greetings from the staff.
The food was, as usual, delicious and cooked perfectly by Elmer. The attentive service and atmosphere added to a great experience.
The restaurant was busy for early evening and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.
This is a wonderful start for the new owners, who were very friendly and we wish them every success.
Looking forward to lunchtime openings and perhaps a Sunday buffet!!
Takara Plum wine would have made our visit perfect

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Recently celebrated a friends birthday here and had an excellent time, the food and atmosphere were top notch and definately an ideal place for a group of friends. The chef was very friendly and entertaining as the food was prepared infront of us, i wouldn't recommend this restaurant for a couple wanting an intimate meal. I would recomment the mixed Japanese starter to begin with followed by terriyake chicken and fried rice rather than a set menu as there is very little difference between a starter and main and a set (trust me, you wont be hungry for any more food!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teppanyaki also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teppanyaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.