We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MIDDLE OF THE ROAD” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nando's - Leeds (Briggate)

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nando's - Leeds (Briggate)
152-154 Briggate, Leeds LS1 8BR, England (Leeds City Centre)
+44 (0)113 242 7736
Improve this listing
Ranked #658 of 1,304 restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $0 - $43
Cuisines: Portuguese
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Haddington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“MIDDLE OF THE ROAD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Dined at Nando's due to the insistence of our grandsons when were staying at the Crowne Plaza, Leeds. Service was pretty slow, the food fair but I guess you shouldn't expect much else from a chain. They call it Portuguese cuisine but having worked in Portugal I can tell you there is more to that country's cuisine than piri piri. Probably wouldn't go there again unless we are pestered to. However, watching the antics of very pissed and scantly dressed lassies tottering around outside on the pavement was probably worth the cost of the meal. Hilarious and it was freezing cold to boot!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

40% Recommend
    3
    11
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food nice as usual but Staff pretty grumpy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My fiance and I recently visited Nando's in Briggate Leeds for an evening meal. We arrived about 10 minutes before our friends and the hostess wanted to seat us on a small table (2 person) which we declined, as we were expecting at least 1 more person. When our friends (2 of them) arrived we had been seated on a table right in the window downstairs. On going upstairs to toilets (on the third floor) I noted a large amount of tables available up there.

We were served within 30 mins of ordering, Food as always with nando's was nice and came as requested. The staff all seemed pretty miserable and had no smiles for customers which was a bit uncomfortable. We paid £22 for two pitta bread/chicken fillets which is a bit steep, so I would have liked a little more service/smiles from the staff, but aside from that food was good.

Probably wouldnt go to that particular one again and my fiance has told me he will never go to Nando's again, he hated it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good But Slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I'm working in Leeds at the moment so needed somewhere I could go on my own, (and quick), so decided on Nandos last week.
The service was very slow, although it was very busy.
The food was very tasty, (and spicy which I like). I think the prices are very high for what you get, but there you go.
Would visit again, (but not when it is busy).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lunch in Leeds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My Grand-daughter and I went to Leeds to do birthday shopping last week.Jess suggested that we go to Nando's for lunch as I have never been in any Nando's though she goes frequently with her friends.The service was excelent and the staff were very attentive and pleasant.I had a salad with Chicken which was very good fresh and tasty.I also had a glass of house wine which was very nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“mmmmmm"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've tried quiet a few of the Nandos restaurants all over the place and I so do not understand all the hype and rave review it gets, I could get much better value for money else where. Didn't enjoy.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nando's - Leeds (Briggate) also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Nando's - Leeds (Briggate)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nando's - Leeds (Briggate), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.