We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Brasserie

Malmaison Brasserie
1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England (Holbeck)
+44 (0)113 398 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Malmaison Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #487 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $47 - $70
Cuisines: European, English, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Holbeck
Description: "In the very heart of Leeds, Malmaison Brasserie reigns supreme as a superlative place to meet and eat. The highly chic brasserie has sleek stylish decor, with soaring vaulted ceiling, an open through fireplace and cosy booths. The staff are passionate about food, wine and service, and the dining room is lit with that brasserie buzz. Malmaison Executive Chef Keith shearer has overall direction, which Head Chef Peter Conlin carries out beautifully. What's cooking? Inspiration is taken from great 'French brasserie-style dishes' and further enhanced with a unique contemporary twist. "
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“business lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

good food....was disappointed they didn't serve water throughout the meal....was very thirsty and they didn't come by for me to ask. food was good though.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    43
    29
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice enough but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My friend booked us in to the Brasserie for a Christmas Lunch during a girls shopping trip to Leeds.
We started with cocktails in the lounge area. Service was fantastic and the cocktails were nice. There was Christmas music playing but other than that there wasn't much atmosphere.
We moved into the restaurant area to eat and we were the only ones in. There was no music in there so it felt a little bit flat.
The starters came out and mine was salmon. It was nice enough but not wow. The main course was even more ordinary. Fair enough it was a turkey dinner so hard to be adventurous but still lacked any wow factor. No-one commented on how great the food was and that surprised me seeing as we were eating at the Malmaison. I had Christmas pudding, others had cheese and biscuits for dessert but again we all thought it was ordinary. Then we were asked if we wanted coffee and mince pies for extra. They should really have been part of the price.
Its a shame as my friend had booked this for us all as a real "posh" treat and in the end it was lacklustre.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
738 reviews 738 reviews
507 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
“visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

called in for a visit christmas eve with my daughter and her friend sat in the bar area and had drinks beer .cocktails. the staff were friendly and on the ball .there were people waiting for tables sitting near us and seemed happy to wait for there table to eat.its really is a very nice place to go .will book a table next time i am in leeds.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Overall Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Good Interiors, Food and customer Service, general atmosphere great very enjoyable with good company.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

one of the best breakfasts i have had
very clean and very wfficient service
can be busy but its worth the wait

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malmaison Brasserie also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Malmaison Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.