We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Round Excellance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bon Restaurant & Wine Bar

The Bon Restaurant & Wine Bar
19 Low Street | Sherburn in Elmet, Leeds LS25 6BG, England
01977 682146
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $16 - $59
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All Round Excellance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

we have recently moved to this part of Yorkshire from York and decided to give The Bon a try for my Birthday in January. The whole experience was amazing, the food was amazing and reasonably priced, I have had more expensive meals of lesser quality and would definitley recommend this restaurant and we will indeed be back for more.

The staff were very attentive and helpful with our requests (husband is a fussy eater and didn't want the sauce that came with his steak so they made him an alternative sauce).

Such a pleasant experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaunatTheBon, Owner at The Bon Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Lovely review, thanks for that. So pleased we accommodated you well and we look forward greeting you again real soon

Regards

Shaun & Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    50
    34
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“007 bond night, and what a night.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Lots of time and effort put into this night...... Aston Martin borrowed from a customer which was stunning..... Food was gorgeous and the sax player absolutley fantastic........ Small touches like the packs that were given made it....Thanks for having us and making our night, the best...... I love this restaurant............ Go there and be amazed by the food........ Amaze......

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaunatTheBon, Owner at The Bon Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Brilliant review, thank you for taking the time to write
Bond was well and truly back with a bang. The way everyone gets into the character of the night is great. We really do enjoy it just as much as you lot ! The car did bring a little extra this time, not sure how we can improve on it..........but I will come up with something

See you again soon folks

Shaun & Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Okay Food, Great Service and Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Came here for our anniversary dinner after driving past for years and never getting around to actually going in.

We had heard lots of good feedback about the amazing food and whilst the food did have some highlights, overall we were not wowed and thought the meal was overpriced for the quality of the food but we would go back and maybe try a Sunday lunch.

Food
We had the £35 per head four course meal. Our complimentary salmon nibble was okay but it had lots of potatoe in so was really a very small fishcake? Our starters - my duck was delicious, my partners crayfish and crab cocktail not quite as nice as the crab was bitter. Onion soup yummy, sorbet vile and sweet, no way a refreshing taste before the main course and deffo needs a re-think. My partners venison was very very gamey almost livery in taste and my steak was okay, my chips were fat and yummy the sauce was bland but fortunately I had asked for it in a seperate bowl so just dipped my chips in it only.

Desserts were pretty much the same merenguey, creamy run of the mill - sorry cant remember the selection and as puds are one of my favourite bits of a meal - that says it really.

Our bottle of wine from the wine menu was okay for the price.

Service
The waitress service was really excellent, they were attentive and very keen and the girls all looked really lovely in smart sassy black dresses. We were offered extra bread as well. It was a busy night and they worked really hard - well done girls

Decor and Atmosphere
Loved the purple theme and the napkins folded on the table like a jacket and tie were cute and the real fire was sublime on a very very cold evening. Atmosphere was great with a good crowd in and some obvious regulars. Would be a great place for a private party.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaunatTheBon, Owner at The Bon Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
16 excellent reviews before and 8 (to date) excellent ones after !

Now I know we can't be everything for everyone, law of averages says we will get it wrong once in a while. I'm just sorry it was you guys, particularly after you had heard glowing reports about us.

All I can say is please try us again (you do say you will)

Thank you for appreciating the service from the girls, they did comment and we're pleased at least they did their bit right

Hope to see you soon

Shaun & Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“bond night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

another fabulous bond night, great atmosphere and the food was superb as always, well done to all the team for making it a special night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaunatTheBon, Owner at The Bon Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Bond was definitely back with a bang. We enjoy those evenings just as much as everyone else. The effort that goes in is nothing compared to the enthusiasm we get from everyone on the night. Well done to you and all who attended the 2nd SKYFALL evening

James Bond will return

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Superb meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Table for 6 ....lovely welcome, cosy open fire and aperitif whilst making our menu choices ...Could have picked any number of dishes ...good paced meal, plenty of time with each course, which is just as well as the food was delicious and very rich...! We had eaten out twice in a week and possibly could have been a bit jaded ...but we actually had a great evening and all the party were pleased with the presentation and fab taste of the food delivered. A lovely meal and a perfect birthday treat...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaunatTheBon, Owner at The Bon Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you all and we are so pleased you enjoyed

Hope to see you again very soon

Shaun & Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bon Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Bon Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bon Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.