We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value food and good beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haworth Old Hall

Haworth Old Hall
Sun Street, Haworth, Keighley BD22 8BP, England
+44 (0) 1535 642 709
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 28 Restaurants in Haworth
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent value food and good beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Chummy staff in a pleasant village, easy parking in a town with not much room for cars, log fire and fairly priced food with excellent beer and our dog was allowed in the bar. Our evening meal was really restaurant quality and if ever we're in the area again we'll eat here.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyPoulter, Manager at Haworth Old Hall, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Brilliant , thank you Roger , the fire has been on full capacity this week , especially with this cold weather , just another great reason to have a bite and a pint.
Glad you enjoyed your evening meal , we do make everything fresh and try to use as much local produce as possible , it's worth it when we get reviews like this.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    71
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Always exceptionally good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We eat at the old hall regularly and the standard is always top quality. The staff are always very friendly and accommodating and the food is excellent. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyPoulter, General Manager at Haworth Old Hall, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you Jo , always nice to see you and your hubby , always nice feedback on our vegetarian options and we know you love the New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc , see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

As a member of the local community I frequent the Old Hall from time to time whether it's a meal out with the old ball and chain or a quick beer with one of my friends. I can honestly say I have never had a bad experience in this establishment with the food and beer (Hobgoblin is excellent) being superb at all times. If you wish to experience yorkshires friendly atmosphere and have a hearty meal at the same time this is one of the best places in the local area. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyPoulter, Manager at Haworth Old Hall, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks Alasdair , very kind of you , the Hobgoblin is a great beer and you and your friends and the "ball and chain" are more than welcome everytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and Dogs Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We recently stayed in a lodge outside Haworth with our hairy hound Al. We visited the Haworth Old Hall twice as we were made to feel very welcome including Al. The bar is very cosy and welcoming - it is very traditional with a lovely open fire. The food was delicious and well priced. Food was also served later than a lot of the other local pubs. Definitely will return!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyPoulter, Manager at Haworth Old Hall, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a nice review.
It is great this time of year sat in front of the fire , with a pint and a bite to eat.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place, shame about the food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Lovely historical building with a lovely fire burning in a large stone fireplace.

The first day we had a few drinks and sandwiches which were OK and the staff very friendly.

The second day we returned but staff and service very bad and the "Soup of the Day" was so watered down and tasteless it was inedible and we left and went to eat elsewhere. If a chef can't make a half decent soup I didn't want to stick around to find out how bad the rest of their offerings might be.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyPoulter, Manager at Haworth Old Hall, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Sorry you didn't enjoy your soup.
We do make soup fresh in our kitchen and try to keep it varied throughout the week.
The soup you tried wasn't to your taste.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haworth Old Hall also viewed

 

Been to Haworth Old Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haworth Old Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.