We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilsons of Haworth

Save Saved
You added Wilsons of Haworth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wilsons of Haworth
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 West Lane, Haworth BD22 8DU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off in July
Ranked #2 of 19 Haworth B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Although we have visited Haworth many times, this was our first overnight stop and we couldn't have made a better choice for accomodation. Our hosts made us very welcome and made sure our visit would be very enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble, Dale had even gone as far as to research our dietary requirements and prepared a special "treat". The general layout and decor of the building and of our bedroom was splendid. Breakfast was excellent with generous portions of freshly cooked food - I particularily enjoyed the sausages !!
I don't know when we will next be stopping overnight in Haworth but if and when we do, then one thing is certain, we'll be staying at Wilsons

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale W, Owner at Wilsons of Haworth, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the sausages! Hope to see you again soon. Regards, Martin & Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
74
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Wilsons for one night. It is beautifully decorated with many quirky features and the rooms are lovely. We stayed in the Mocha Room which is very roomy with lots of light. The complimentary bottle of wine was much appreciated. When we arrived, we were told that the owners had researched vegan diets anticipating our arrival.

The hotel is opposite the Bronte museum, a very short walk to the main street and very convenient for the museum car park, which the hotel reimbursed us for.

The breakfast was very good and we were very impressed on leaving to be given home baked cupcakes, including a special vegan version, both of which were beautifully decorated.

We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The Mocha room is a large luxury room, very light and well decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale W, Owner at Wilsons of Haworth, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi Catherine. Thanks for the fab review. Glad you liked the cupcakes, we always like to give all our guests a special little something to take home. See you again next time you're in the area. Regards, Martin & Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed at Wilsons with my daughter recently and was very impressed.

The location is excellent, right opposite the Bronte Museum.

The hospitality at Wilsons was very good, with lots of extra touches such as water and wine in the rooms, bath robes and fresh milk instead of UHT with the hospitality tray.

The breakfast was superb and my daughter was particulalry impressed with the home made cup cakes presented to us on our departure.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale W, Owner at Wilsons of Haworth, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for your fantastic comments. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, Martin & Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stated at Wilson's on Saturday, and can not fault our experience. We were greeted by the hosts on arrival and made to feel at home. The Reception and lounge is light & airy and retains some old features with give an old world feel, which is in keeping with the Haworth vibe. We stayed in the Peacock Room which is a lovely large room, made even nicer by the complimentary wine!
Breakfast was excellent , and service to a high standard.The cupcakes on departure were a nice touch.
As an overall experience ,we would rate this as one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in and will be returning.
Phil & Karen Carter

Room Tip: Book the Peacock Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale W, Owner at Wilsons of Haworth, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi Phil & Karen, thanks for your great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay, maybe next time you can stay a bit longer! Regards, Martin & Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

lovely b&b spotless very nice decor - a very warm welcome from dale & martin,we were offered tea or coffee on arrival this was served to us with a slice of delicious homemade cake ! yum yum. we stayed in mocha room very nice with complimentary tea, coffee, water, biscuits and a bottle of wine . Breakfast was great cooked to order . We were given 2 boxed homemade cupcakes on departure which i thought was a lovely gesture. If we go to Haworth again would definitely stay at Wilsons - Shelagh B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale W, Owner at Wilsons of Haworth, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Would be interested to know how far you got before you ate the cakes!! :-) Dale & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just back from a lovely stay at Wilsons. I agree with other reviewers. The establishment is well run and it was a delight staying there. The breakfast was cooked to order, the sausages were particularly nice and nothing was too much trouble. My room was very clean and modern. One was struck my the attention to detail. The shower worked nicely. There was a bottle of water, a complimentary half bottle of wine and tea/coffee making facilities. The view from the room was on the surrounding hills and valley. Above all the bed was very comfortable. Like everyone else I received a nicely boxed cup cake on check out. I will be back.
Mike Carter

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale W, Owner at Wilsons of Haworth, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for your great comments. Hope you enjoyed your day on the railway and got hoe safely. Dale & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just stayed at this B and B - down for a gig in nearby Hebden Bridge. We stayed in the Wedgewood Room - you need to like climbing stairs but this is a Yorkshire B and B what else do you expect in 173 year old property . Owners could not have been more helpful – beautiful room with complimentary bottle of red or white wine, toiletries , bathrobes . Wardrobes had coat hangers and skirt hangers – its that level of attention that makes this places special – they really have thought about their service from an “OK what would make a B and B special for us?” and then gone and done it . The breakfast was superb with some lovely fresh fruit mix that stuffed many a big hotel’s as well as the usual FEB . Even that had very obviously locally sourced sausages . The tea making facilities were excellent with full choice of drinks including hot choc. There is an excellent little lounge downstairs with a well-stocked library and given that the B and B is literally opposite Haworth parsonage a certain family figure prominently… and they even have a decent games library ! They even ordered taxis for us to the gig and back and the taxi firm was superb also . Choice of great pubs within 60 metres for food too. Beds were superb – firm and supportive but not overly so . And cream cakes on departure!!!!! In short perfect !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale W, Owner at Wilsons of Haworth, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Wow, we're really blown away with your fab review. Many thanks for taking the time to write it, really do appreciate it. Martin & Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wilsons of Haworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilsons of Haworth

Address: 15 West Lane, Haworth BD22 8DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Haworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilsons of Haworth 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilsons Guest House is 4* accredited by both the AA and Visit England and is located a stone's throw from the Bronte Parsonage Museum and the historic cobbled Main Street. We offer modern and stylish Bed and Breakfast accommodation. All our rooms are individually styled and designed with modern facilities yet retaining the traditional character associated with Haworth and the Brontes. Our luxury accommodation includes spacious en-suites, spa quality towels and bathrobes, Duck Island luxury toiletries, hairdryer, complimentary wine, LED Freeview TVs and free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Wilsons of Haworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilsons of Haworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.