We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good night. Definitely gone to the dogs.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sky

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blue Sky
18 East Parade, Bradford BD1, England
01274 788333
Improve this listing
Ranked #287 of 525 Restaurants in Bradford
Price range: $20 - $30
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a good night. Definitely gone to the dogs.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked for a big birthday party bash of about 30 people and told them we were all good drinkers, though NOT drunks.
Bear in mind this is a Saturday night. They started running out of draught beer as we were at the bar (7:30pm) getting our first drinks. By 8;30pm they said only bottled beers. Diabolical. When several of us complained we were told they were short staffed and sorry. Why should they be our of beer because they were short staffed? We had warned them when we booked that we were going to need plenty of beer.

The food was just ok

Overall a poor night. We wont go again and tell all our friends it wasnt good

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Waste of money and an evening”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I'd not been for years, but decided to go on 28/11. Sadly the place has gone way downhill. The food on the buffet was nice, but a very poor choice. There were a family with 'very well nourished' children who not only ran to and from the dessert station but also stood there stuffing themselves over it in between. So eating from there was out. Afterwards, said children were running the whole length of the restaurant, chasing and shrieking. This should have been addressed if not by the disinterested parents then by the staff, but wasn't. While people are eating this is not acceptable. It seems the place now caters to this market. No itemised bill, as it seemed expensive, I would have liked to have checked the drinks were billed correctly. Sadly, what used to be a pleasant evening meal has now become an annexe of the Jeremy Kyle show.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, UK.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unbelievably bad.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Visited earlier this month as we were invited by family members. Reluctant to go as we'd been a few years earlier and didn't like it then.

Worse now than it was then.

£8.50 a head to stand in line, plate in hand, school dinner style, while the buffet was re-stocked. Took a while too. Once there was some food, it didn't look very good. Tasted worse though. Deep fried this, that and t'other.

Dog rough clientele. Most of Bratfud's Daz's n' Shaz's and their little prince and princesses who are left to run round the place.

Two adults, a 15 year old and a 12 year old. Two beers, three soft drinks. Just over £40. Left feeling cheated.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKSHIRE
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gluppy food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Its in an isolated bit of Bradford. I am not a massive fan of Chinese restaurants and buffets even less. My tummy hates the gluppy sauces - msg maybe

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Bad Buffet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I ate the buffet and lost half a stone over the following 2 days. I hadn't felt so ill in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Sky also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Blue Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.