We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lister Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lister Hotel to your Saves list
The Lister Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 North Park Road, Bradford BD9 4ND, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Bradford
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed on the 3rd March on a Wowcher deal with bed, breakfast and evening meal. First thing to say is that the food is excellent, I had black beef in red wine jus and it was really good. My wife had the lamb shank which was also excellent.The wine prices are reasonable and also the bar prices are OK for a hotel at £3 a pint.

As someone else pointed out, the fags ends on the front doorstep don't look too good. The room was clean, the shower very good although I didn't find the bed that comfortable, but then I never do wherever I stay so that's not a criticism really.

The staff are very friendly and attentive.

If I lived in Bradford I would probably eat there regularly.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    43
    21
    17
    31
See reviews for
11
88
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnet, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We chose this hotel courtesy of an excellent value Wowcher offer which made for a change from our usual B&Bs in more pricey Harrogate. We were very pleasantly surprised :a) by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, b) by the spacious high-ceilinged rooms with all mod-cons: piping hot water shower, good quality towels and toiletries, large screen TV, kettle and coffee/tea making ingredients, underfloor heating and a separate oil-filled heater. The bed mattress was a trifle soft and creaked at the slightest movement but once asleep this didn't matter.
The piece de resistance however was the amazing breakfast. For the first time ever I could not completely finish my full english as there was a huge plateful with 2 of everything. The next day I asked for just scrambled egg on toast and the waiter/cook suggested I might like some bacon as well - which I did and found this was a perfect combination.
We also dined in the restaurant once and found a good-value fixed price 2 or 3 course with lots of choice - again the helpings were large and the food fresh, nicely cooked and presented
The hotel is bang opposite Lister Park and a short stroll from Cartwright Hall - Bradford's Civic Art Gallery. It is also very close to Salt Mills at Saltaire, and it's only 19 miles from Harrogate and probably fewer from Ilkley.

Room Tip: There's a bus stop round the side and rooms are proably noisier (engine noise and passengers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last night, a valued weekend away from the kids. I can honestly say I was so surprised when i walked in. The gentleman on reception was very friendly and works very hard to keep everyone happy and nothing is too much trouble.

The room was lovely, very spacious with underfloor heating and very clean. The bathroom was also very spacious with a lovely shower.

The food was beautiful and well presented in a nice relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast was superb, just what the doctor ordered to send us on our way.

The only gripe I would have is all the fag ends outside the front door, which was the first thing we noticed when we arrived.

All in all what a wonderful hotel to stay in with such pleasant staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Both myself and my gf stayed in this hotel just last night , and was pleasantly please with the service , cleanliness and value for money.

The room was spacious, warm and clean with a resonable size bathroom, with a corner shower which had a overhead shower spray. The bed was comfy and we enjoyed a goodnites sleep without any disturbance.

All the staff were very helpful, especially the gentlemen at the reception who you could tell would stop at nothing in making sure your stay was nothing short of perfection.

The breakfast was amazing , we opted for the full English and I could honestly say I don't think I've had any better , the perfect way to start the day .

Would defo recommend this place and would return if we needed to stay over in the same area again

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Unfortunately my stay is similar to Philip's experiences (below). Must have been the same room, because the shower was awful and it was also so cold in the bathroom. The bed was small and squeaked when just turning over. Staff were helpful though, especially the man in the morning who couldn't have done more. The breakfast was freshly cooked and was delicious. Some money was taken off the bill because of the problems with the room, lift not working etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The hotel is in a good position with plenty of car parking. There are steps up to the hotel. Greeted courteously and checked in we found that the lift was not working. However the young man on reception carried our bags up about three or four flights of stairs.

When we eventually arrived in the room we found that there was only one set of towels one glass and one cup. We had booked a "Superior Room" with "Luxury Rainforest Shower". What a joke the bed was a standard double and the shower was a small corner shower with sliding doors that was a squeeze to get in. The bed squeaked with a thin mattress and to try to put the kettle on was an extremely physical manoeuvre to plug it in. There was no heating at all in the shower room and it was very cold.

Had to make reception aware as a mistake had clearly been made with our room allocation - no telephone in the room, a telephone socket but no phone. So down all those flights of stairs and the receptionist confirmed that we had been given a "Superior Room" with "Luxury Rainforest Shower". He went and got the towels and cups etc and took them up to the room but I still had to climb all those stairs!

There was no welcome pack in the room such as fire escapes,TV Channels times of dining etc but there was a printed menu at reception. The menu looked quite interesting but if it was going to be of the same standard as "Superior Room" with "Luxury Rainforest Shower" we decided we would eat out and went to Habbib's which is a fantastic Indian Buffet but take your own wine.

However breakfast was great which was a freshly cooked English and a cafertiere of coffee.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

check in - smooth and efficient Room - Bed lovely spotless white bedding, lovely comfortable beds and an excellent nights sleep undisturbed. Shower - perfect flow of water and temperature perfect, towels perfect size and toiletries full size rather than fussy travel size shampoos and lotions. Tea and coffee making facilities, large flat screen television in perfect position for viewing while relaxing on the bed. Staff - as perfect as the room.

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely comfortablebed and excellent shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lister Hotel

Address: 22 North Park Road, Bradford BD9 4ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lister Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Purchased in Aug 2010, The 14 en-suite bedroom hotel on the outskirts of Bradford City Centre overlooking the award winning Lister Park. We also have a relaxing bar with a function room that is ideal for both social and corporate events. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Lister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lister Mansion Hotel
Lister Mansion Bradford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.