We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toby's Tea Room

Toby's Tea Room
Bottom Farm | Dobson Lock, Apperley Bridge, Bradford, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Bradford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Toby's Tea Room, located next to the canal on the edge of a farm in Apperley Bridge, West Yorkshire is a beautiful, serene and exceptionally welcoming establishment that you rarely come across, and when you do, you'll definitely want to visit again.It's as well hidden as they come, but a true gem. Set in an old barn conversion with a decent sized outdoor terrace, Toby's provides a chilled out, relaxed environment with a fantastic menu selection, amazing staff and a truly unique tranquil setting.The staff are so friendly and professional, the food and drink exceptional, and the overall experience is really something you have to experience to believe - what a find !!!! thanks Toby's for providing this getaway from everyday life !!!
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

a leisurely walk on the canal or one of many sponcered walk events on the leeds liverpool canal (near Bradford) passes this little cafe, where you can sit in or outside, being dog freindly too makes it great for walkers. The service was first rate and fabulous food. The sandwiches were generously filled on lovely fresh bread and there was a good choice of beverages. Homemade cakes were tasty (especially the scones) and all food was made fresh to order. The tearoom had a very relaxed atmosphere and we will definatley be returning. I would definately recommend a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobynot, Owner at Toby's Tea Room, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing your experience, we're so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    10
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Far to expensive!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The majority of the items on the menu were incredibly over priced for what they were. I also recieved quite poor service from a young waitress who served me. After reading all the great reviews on here I was really looking forward to going but my overall experience was poor and I will not be going there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobynot, Owner at Toby's Tea Room, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you Barry C for taking the time and effort to share your thoughts with us. We're obviously devastated you didn't enjoy your experience with us and will take on board all of your comments. We strive to deliver great food and service, and whilst we appreciate that we can't cater for everyones taste and budget, we do try to offer a wide range of items on our menu to suit everyone, so we're so sorry that you didn't feel this lived up to the expectation you had of us. We use local suppliers as much of our produce as possible, and we know we pay a premium for this, but supporting the local economy is something that's very important to us. As for poor service, well there really is no excuse and all we can do is apologise for the poor service you felt you received. Please be assured that we do not take such disappointing feedback lightly and will be sharing your feedback with the team and working hard to ensure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linslade, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A gem on the canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

While cycling the Leeds Liverpool canal, we came across this gem of a place, very friendly staff, excellent coffee, the tented seating areas are a great idea as are the cushions. Loved the doggy menu, really made me chuckle!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobynot, Owner at Toby's Tea Room, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks you Susan M for sharing your thoughts with us. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us, and that we made you smile with our doggie menu. We like to cater for all tastes, young, old and canine! We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cute little tearoom - food on the little expensive side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We came here with my family and we loved the outside gazebo tents we great as it got us out of the cold- it's a lovely place we didn't eat but the hot chocolates and latte we order were gorgeous.
Children and well behaved dogs are allowed both on the decking and in the tearoom.
The only down fall to me was the food was abit expensive but that's just me :)

Great place will be fabulous in the summer months xxx

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobynot, Owner at Toby's Tea Room, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Toby's. We know you didn't eat with us, and may think some of the food a little on the expensive side, we hope that if you ever do get around to sampling some of our food you'll think its worth it! We've worked hard to sample lots of breads, cheeses and meats and now work with some lovely local suppliers to ensure we're always using the freshest and best quality produce. If you do come back to visit and eat we'd love to know your thoughts. If you don't already like us on Facebook please take a peek at our page, we regularly post offers for our Facebook friends which means you get to enjoy good discounts on our menu. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I pass Toby's tearoom quite regular during my Sunday strolls along the canal, not quite sure why I have never before considered popping in for a cuppa? Anyway, today was different as my family accompanied me on my walk and we decided to stop for tea, coffee and hot chocolate. From the moment we walked in we were hit by the amazing atmosphere. The tea room visually looked impressive with its wooden decks, gazebos and fairy lights ( my daughter and I got pretty giddy about that) inside was lovely as well, warm, homely and inviting! Your staff delivered brilliant service and the beverages were beautiful. Also worth mentioning that all your customers looked happy, like they came here all the time! Can't wait to visit again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobynot, Owner at Toby's Tea Room, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Wow thank you - what an amazing review to read. We massively appreciate you taking the time to review us and we are extra delighted that you felt so well looked after. We strive to deliver the highest standards in all we do, and when it makes a difference to someones day, quite honestly that makes ours! Thanks once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby's Tea Room also viewed

 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Toby's Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby's Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.