We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cartwright Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Cartwright Hotel to your Saves list
The Cartwright Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   308 Manningham Lane, Bradford BD8 7AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Bradford
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have just stayed at the cartwright hotel for two nights. we were very happy with the services, the room was lovely and clean. Tanya was really friendly and she couldnt do enough for us. The food was so lovely, i would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to stay in bradford.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    12
    9
    18
See reviews for
4
46
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cartwright Hotel for 2 nights... And loved every minute. Looking at the reviews on Tripadvisor there was mixed reactions, but we decided to not bother too much we will try it ourselves, well we arrived, the outside does need a tidy up, but so do a lot of hotels every where. We were greeted by Ruth, who made us feel very welcome as soon as we walked through the door. She took us to our room which was right at the top of the hotel. This was brilliant, as the room we had was very lean and tidy , and had everything we wanted.... If you read the other reviews still no wardrobe, but hey we were warned, this did not bother us.
We booked a meal for that evening , and we were not disappointed, it was fantastic from the starter to the dessert.... We shuld of had a bottle of champange on arrival free, but we had a bottle of rose instead, as my husband is not keen on the bubbly stuff. We ordered a grill each which was £21.50 with a free bottle of wine,so we ended up with two bottles of wine free, fantastic....Starters start from £3.95 t0 £9.95 for a como antipasti plate. Mains start from 8.95 - 13.95 with special deals on salads £ 15.00 for 2 with free wine. Or two grills and bottle of wine 21.50 as I have mentioned. Vinny the chef cam to ralk to us to see exactly how my husband wanted his lamb cooked, a rare treat as most places you never see the chef.... We had Tanya who served on us, she has a bubbly personaliy and a great sense of humour (needed with my husband). We have never laughed so much in a hotel.
Across the road from the Catwright is the Lister Prk which is fantastic a great area to have a walk before dinner...

Breakfast was well catered for again, very good service and value for money, and a good choice, from continental, vegetarian, I recommend the full english breakfast....
Overall we have no complaints at all. The bar area was clean and tidy as well, beer prices quite goos as well.
There is an automated carpark barrier, and this stops at 11.00 pm but there is a night porter on all night. And lots of security cameras around...
But I would recommend that you talk to all the staff, Ruth, Tanya, Vinny and Kevin all great and have lots of knowledge of the area.

We are going back there as there are lots of places we stll want to visit.

Room Tip: Room 202 is at the top of the hotel, no wardrobe but you could if need be use the towel rail in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham Worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed here for two nights.Very happy with everything, accept our window in room 101 was painted shut.We did ask for this to be rectified as it was in the middle of our heat wave! This was not rectified, so we had to buy a fan to help with the red hot room.They have had refurbishments, but attention to detail on finishing was poor.For ex tiles on onsuite floor cut ragged around toilet and left, also tiling to walls big gaps left at reaching ceiling.But plus side is its very clean, lovely ironed clean bedding and comfy bed.We were very happy with breakfast plenty of.Buffet and full cooked.Staff very friendly and helpful.Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 101 does not have a window that opens also no hanging rail in the wardrobe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had a 2 night stay at the Cartwright Hotel. Although it is on a corner of a very busy road, directly opposite is the beautiful Lister park. Rooms were recently refurbished and so were very clean. The staff were very cheerful and helpful especially Tanya who was kept busy with reception, serving at the bar and waiting on tables.
The Full English breakfast was very good ,compliments to the chef and service was very quick.
The only down side was it was very hot in the room, even with the window open fully all night. It was unusually hot temperatures over the days we were there so i imagine this would normally not be a problem.
Would definately go again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front very noisy with trafic -lots of ambulances and police cars with sirens .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We have just come home from spending two nights at the Cartwright hotel. We had a lovely big room with a comfy bed,nice bathroom . The only downside was the wardrobe had no hanging rail and the window would not open to let fresh air in.
Our major concern was at night that the fire doors where wedged open and there were no fire evacuation instuctions to be found which we are sure would go against fire regulations.
Staff were very friendly and couldnt do enough for you, the first night we had our meal at the Lister hotel again was well looked after and the food was lovely and plentiful. Breakfast at the Cartwright were lovely,lots of choice, everything hot as it should be we will most likely return again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Have just spent two nights at the Cartwright using discount voucher. Location is ok but a bit noisy at night. Room was lovely and clean. Bedding and bed were great- meant a good nights sleep which is so important. But nowhere to hang clothes- not even a drawer. Was told at reception that wardrobes were on order !
Breakfast was fine- plenty of it, served hot. Obliged with my request to take meal to the room for my partner.
Lounge/bar area has a bit of a dated feel about it - not helped on the day we arrived by the three locals who had clearly spent the best part of the day there and needed to go home! No decent beers on sale which is very disappointing for Yorkshire!
Was just a bit worried by all the doors wedged open on the landings- not sure that would meet with fire regulations?
Clearly the management are trying hard to refresh this hotel and it shows. Don't think we would stay there again but that's because we felt we have exhausted the local area. Others should not be worried about booking- but remember you get what you pay for (which may or may not include wardrobes!).

Room Tip: try to get one away from the road and with a wardrobe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Myself and my fiancee checked in which took all of 2 minutes,we were told what breakfast times were and then given our key and we went off to our room which was very clean,and had a lovely comfy bed which is always a bonus,we decided to eat at The Lister Hotel where we were not rushed to choose our meal,the meal was delicious and although the restaurant was busy we didnt have to wait ages between courses,after our meal we went back to the Cartwright and had a couple of drinks and then went to bed,in the morning I had a full english and my fiancee had a bacon sandwich,which was all cooked very nicely,the staff at both hotels were fantastic and nothing was to much trouble,we are due to come back to bradford in a couple of months and will be staying here again,keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel

Address: 308 Manningham Lane, Bradford BD8 7AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cartwright Hotel has just changed ownership in 2012 and has undergone a £350k refurbishment. All 14 Rooms have modern en-suite facilities, Large Flat Screen TV's with built in Freeview and DVD players.The Bar area offers a wide range of Drink. Breakfast is served in our Churchill Room from 7am every morning ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cartwright Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.