We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great service, not so great mattress” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicar Lane Leisure Exchange, Bradford BD1 5LD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Bradford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great staff, great service, not so great mattress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Needed a hotel in Bradford at short notice - chose the HIEx Bradford for convenience and location - and a great price.

Nice welcome, even though we were really late, an unexpected room upgrade on top floor: surprisingly large floor space, nice bathroom with large walk in shower and all perfectly clean. Could hear the road noise a little but nothing intrusive.

Nipped down to bar for a nightcap and a snack - again excellent service and we were offered an alternative, free of charge side dish, as the kitchen had run out of something we ordered. Hollie was the bar person and she was a delight - very friendly and customer focused.

Unfortunately we had the worst mattress in the world on our bed: too soft, no support, lumpy and it had that annoying thing where you rolled together in the middle every time you moved. Not the best nights sleep.

Nice brekkie - simple, fresh, hit and plenty available.

On check out, we mentioned the mattress situation to the wonderful Hollie - who was now on reception duty (long shift!!!) and she was mortified.

She promptly removed the food and bar charges from our bill, to compensate us, and made notes to have the mattress looked at.

We were very impressed with Hollie - she is a credit to the HIEx Bradford - thank you Hollie, and the rest of your excellent team for doing a great job.

Will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Shirley C
Thank you for all your kind comments about the hotel and the service of the staff in particular Hollie our Guest service Manager. I am delighted about your comments and I am very sorry that you did not have a good asleep due to the soft mattress. Your feedback will help us improve the quality of products we offer.
l have great pleasure in sharing your comments with the team.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre and I hope you can visit the hotel again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Moez Romdhani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    124
    56
    25
    17
See reviews for
53
73
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Booked in for a night to visit the blues festival in hebden bridge. Once you have negotiated the car park and wandered the lovely steps of a car park in England is is through the exit and on the right. A bit confusing then the lift up to reception. After that everything was fine. Check in ok and the room was HIE standard. Clean and tidy. Shower had good pressure and the squeezy things worked. Breakfast was fine. The only downside was the noise. Ok for one night and the proximity to the train station was what sold it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Spiderpig41
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel.I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Moez Romdhani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I have stayed here a number of times, and it's fair to say that this establishment has improved since my first visit a few years ago.

The hotel now has a wider range of breakfast stuff, the rooms are fine for this class of hostelry, and it's 'close to all amenities' as the blurb would have it.

The bus/railway station are about 3 minutes;' walk away, and the centre of the city a couple of minutes more. It's all down hill too, but obviously not so when on your way back .. That said, it's fairly quiet in this neighbourhood (busy road within eyesight notwithstanding) so you're pretty much guaranteed a decent night's sleep. Good value for money when there's offers advertised too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear DoctorDarkeDerby
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.co.uk. I am thrilled that you had a great stay with us and that you were able to enjoy our reakfast and the surroundings of our property.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Kind regards
Moez Romdhani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well this hotel was not only poorly run but was severely short of staff on the weekend we stayed.the rooms although it seemed we had booked smoking rooms were filthy with stains on the carpets no ventilation and little in the form of comfort.the break fast we did not take as it was little more than scrambled eggs ,very pale looking sausages and toast !!!!!
Although it appeared the hotel was exceptionally busy on the nights we stayed the staff looked totally warn out and even the reception staff were serving dinner on the first night when there seemed to have been a large bus trip of older people in and a huge Asian influx of guests all arriving at once.the access to the hotel is through doors by the cinema then either upstairs or a lift however with the latter group of guests they were all made to wait downstairs therefore making the lift up obtainable.as an elderly couple we found taking suitcases up 2 flights of stairs rather exaughsting
I would certainly not stay in this hotel again.a disgrace to the holiday inn group.

Room Tip: Do not get a smoking room even if you smoke !!!!!it is that bad!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear lesleyallan2512

Thank you for all of your comments and constructive feedback, it really helps us to maintain our standards and focus on areas that we need to improve.
I am sorry to hear that your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre was not up to your expectations and I apologize if you encountered so many disappointing aspects of our hotel operation.
I can assure you that you have not experienced our ordinarily high standards of service.

I thank you once again for your feedback that I will share with the management here at the hotel.
Kind Reagards
Moez Romdhani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food terrible,dessert was frozen and i don't mean cold I mean frozen you couldn't get spoon into it Lifts were out of order had to walk up to 4th floor As for staff most of them could not speak any English all in all it was a nightmare

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for all of your comments and constructive feedback, it really helps us to maintain our standards and focus on areas that we need to improve.
I am sorry to hear that your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre was not up to your expectations and I apologize if you encountered so many disappointing aspects of our hotel operation.
I can assure you that you have not experienced our ordinarily high standards of service.

I thank you once again for your feedback that I will share with the rest of the team.
Kind regards
Moez Romdhani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just stayed 2 nights at the holiday inn express Bradford
very clean, hotel staff very helpful and central location.
Also free breakfast in the price which was exellent value
and would suit all.....overall very pleased look forward to
next years trip

Room Tip: would recommend staying if visiting Bradford Stayed here 2 imes had the same room..which was weird...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Paul K

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review - I am delighted that you had a good time at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre. Your comments about our hotel and the service of the staff are most kind, and I'll be sure to pass them on to the team.
Kind Reagards
Moez Romdhani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was very comfortable, the room was big, clean and well designed. Even the staff was friendly and helpful.

The english breakfast was also very appetizing. Being very close to lot of restaurants,city centre, railway station and bus station makes this place very ideal for tourist looking for a break.

A must stay hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear AkshitaBajpai

My sincere thanks for taking the time to write such a review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre. Needless to say, I was delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay, your comments about the staff, the room, the food, and the location are very much appreciated.

I look forward to sharing this great feedback with all of the team.

I hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Moez Romdhani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre

Address: Vicar Lane Leisure Exchange, Bradford BD1 5LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 10 miles from Leeds Bradford International Airport and 12 miles from Leeds City Centre, our Bradford hotel is also within easy walking distance from Bradford Interchange Train Station. Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre is located within the Leisure Exchange, which is a restaurant and leisure complex. All of our room rates include hot breakfast and free WiFi is available for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre Hotel Bradford
Holiday Inn Bradford
Bradford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.