We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel but needs a lick of paint” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicar Lane Leisure Exchange, Bradford BD1 5LD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Bradford
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel but needs a lick of paint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on business and it's definitely gone downhill since I visited last year.
At check in the keycard they gave me didn't work & I had to go back to reception to get a replacement. Once inside the room, I was particularly disappointed as there were only 2 small spotlights working and the room was dingy. The TV was small with a poor picture and the double glazing didn't work properly as the street noise came through. The room was cold & even when I turned the heater up it made little difference as the heat went straight out the window.
The bed was comfortable.
Breakfast is really not that good, but as it's free I don't suppose I can complain too much.
The best thing about this hotel is that it's situated right next to a cinema, casino, bowling alley & 3 restaurants (Nandos, F&Bs and Pizza Hut).
Not much choice around the area, but not sure I'd stop here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Whukev

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I am sorry that you found your room disapointing, i can only assume that when you entered the room only the two bedside spotlights came on.
As you are aware the hotel is located in the city centre which does then mean that some rooms may get traffic noise at times. We do however have well over half of our rooms not facing the road so a quieter one can be requested on booking or check in.
The free hot breakfast overs a full range of cold items togeather with sausage, scrambled egg and beans, as you did not expand further on your comment about breakfast it is difficult for me to judge what you though was not good.

Kind regards

Dean Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    124
    56
    25
    17
See reviews for
53
73
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was my first visit to the Holiday Inn Express, Bradford. It is located within a leisure complex in Bradford City Centre (above a cinema - I think) but the warm welcome, the clean comfortable room and the friendly staff made for an enjoyable stay.

There is a short walk from the multi story car park (park on level 4) and when you reach the hotel lobby you need to take the lift to the second floor to check in at reception (there are rooms on floors 1, 2, 3 and 4).

Wifi is complimentary and is available throughout the hotel. There is a small bar and a relaxing seating area in the great room. The bar has a small selection of hot items in the evening (choice of pizza or curry) and as usual with Holiday Inn Express there is a complimentary breakfast.

I paid £35 for a double room which also had a sofa bed. My only gripe - they gave me a connecting room - one of my pet hates - but it didn't disturb me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear WB3

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I hope that you were or signed up to our priority club scheme to enable you to earn points that can be used for overnoght stay and much more.

The hotel is very pleased to offer free wifi to all our guests now.

I will pass on your comments to the team regarding their attirude, we do aim to offer a friendly welcome to all. and am pleased that you found our 21 day saver rate value for money, our best rates are our advance rates that must be booked and paid for either 21 or 5 days in advance of your stay.

I look foward to you staying with us again should you be in Bradford

Kind regards

Dean Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The room was spacious & clean with a modern fresh look. You parking in the multi-storie car park then a short walk take the lift up to reception.

The location is excellent with plenty of restaurants less than minutes walk away, the cinema is next door which is handy if you are on a business trip with spare time. My room had a nice view of the cinema roof.

The only complaint would be they were out of bottled mineral water :-0 Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Prehaps choose a room high up top away from all the noise in the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Jeddati

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I will pass on your comments to the housekeeping team regarding the room.

The hotels location is ideal for the city centre and the restaurants on the site such as Nandos do offer good choice

I am sorry that we did not have any water in stock which has surprised me so i will be looking into this

Kind regards

Dean Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I booked this hotel for 1 night when we were visiting universities with our daughter. Parking was very easy and cheap, and check in was speedy with cheerful helpful staff, room was on the 4th floor although the lift was a bit confused about which floor it was stopping at. Room was very clean with 2 good sized beds.
We ate in Nandos which was very nice and there is a choice of other resturants adjacent to hotel.
We had had a busy day so didn't venture any further afield.
The beds were comfortable and although we thought the road noise may keep us awake this wasn't the case and we had a good nights sleep.
The breakfast which is complementary was quite adequate with sausage, beans and scrambled egg as the hot choice and plenty of cereals, fruit juice,toast, pastries and tea and coffee to fill up on. Overall I would stop here again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Yorkshireroxylady

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and the hotel met with your needs.

The Leisure Exchnge does offer guests a good choice of restaurants and parking at reasonable rates all in very easy reach of the hotel on a plaza.

We look forward to welcoming you back if you are in the area , if you had more time you could take the opportunity to visit the city park or Bronte country

Kind regards

Dean Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel several years ago and found it really useful as the location was perfect.

Originally I booked into the Premier Inn by accident. Luckily they called me to check I knew that there was no car park and that they had been open for only a few months. That's when I realised I'd booked into the wrong hotel. I cancelled the Premier Inn and booked into the Holiday Inn instead. Big mistake! The check-in was great but when I got to the room (321) there was a problem with the window frame. It was like the window was open. Lots of drafts and lots of noise! The traffic noise was awful. At 1am, I was close to checking out and driving 2 hours home. I could not get any sleep at all. Before going to bed, I decided to have a quick beer in the bar. They only sell low strength beer at high prices. The lager is only Becks Vier at 4% and for bitter it was Boddingtons at 3.5%. The only regular beer I could find was Perroni (5%) at an eye-watering £3.85 for a 330ml bottle! I guess that's why the bar was completely empty.

When I checked out very tired after no sleep due to the room noise, I complained about the window problem and they didn't seem to care, shruggling it off, but enjoying charging my card, so I'm assuming they expected it. If you are anything but a very heavy heavy sleeper do not stay here, or sleep in your car (at least it's free)

Was a great place to stay, but now if you live within 2 hours, GO HOME! You will regret staying here.

Room Tip: If your room was like mine, you are probably better off sleeping in your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Istate75

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

I am sorry that you found the room required some maintanence. If you had reported this to reception we would have been able to move your room.
The hotel bar does offer a range of products and the prices are competitive with other outlets on the complex. It is not unusal for the hotel bar to be quiet at one in the morning most days due to the mix of clients that stay in the hotel.

Once again i am sorry that the hotel did not meet with your expectations on this occasion

Kind regards

Dean Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was my husband's first trip to a hotel without me after 24years of marriage and he was very nervous! He was staying overnight waiting for our son and had a 7 hour trip up the M1 from Windsor. So, arriving exhausted, he was very pleasantly suprised. The room was spotless, large and the bed extremely comfortable. The en suite was large and the shower was perfect. All in all he had a great night's sleep and left feeling refreshed. Can't comment on breakfast because he didn't go down for it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Tracy W

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

I am pleased that we exceeded your expectations and we were able to provide a service that enabled your husband to have a restful night without you. The saying- Behind a good man there is always a good woman springs to mind.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you be travelling to bradford again

Kind regards

Dean Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here with coach party weekend Very good clean rooms. Evening meal good, but was disappointed with the breakfast only scrambled egg sausage and beans. Have always found with these holiday express hotels you get a good evening meal or a great breakfast, never both.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Jf40

Thank you for taking the time to wirte a review on your recent stay.

I am pleased that you found the hotel meet your requirements following your stay with a coach tour. The Holiday Inn Express Brand offers a free full continental breakfast that includes Hot Items and i am sorry if this was not made clear to you by the agent you booked with.

Your comments regarding your room will be passed onto the housekeeping team

Kind regards

Dean Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre

Address: Vicar Lane Leisure Exchange, Bradford BD1 5LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 10 miles from Leeds Bradford International Airport and 12 miles from Leeds City Centre, our Bradford hotel is also within easy walking distance from Bradford Interchange Train Station. Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre is located within the Leisure Exchange, which is a restaurant and leisure complex. All of our room rates include hot breakfast and free WiFi is available for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre Hotel Bradford
Holiday Inn Bradford
Bradford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.