We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat for the wife” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St George's Hall

St George's Hall
Bridge Street, Bradford BD1 1JT, England
01274 432000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 92 things to do in Bradford
Attraction details
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Birthday treat for the wife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

i visited here in july 2011 to see gary mullen a queen tribute act. The bar was expensive but the entertainment was brilliant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    10
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I like St George's - seen some great shows over the years, but there's no getting away from the fact that it's not dating well and the seats are REALLY uncomfortable!
Try not to let that put you off if there's something you want to see though!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lack of fire exits in Grand Tier is a disaster waiting to happen!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I visited on Friday to see Jimmy Carr. A great show.

At the interval when attempting to visit the toilet I realised that there were no fie exits on the grand tier except the entrance through which we came. This means that several hundred people have only one way out in the event of a fire and even that one route is very slow to exit.

I estimate that at the end of the show it took more than twelve minutes to leave the Grand tier and another five to actually reach the ground floor. This of course was leaving in an orderly fashion, god knows what chaos there might have been if a fire had broken out.

It is impossible to understand how a fire safety certificate could have been issued for this building, installation of fire exits at the rear of the Grand Tier is essential if a potential disaster is to be averted.

I can only assume that safety certificates were issued on examination of an empty theatre becauuse there is no way a certificate would be granted by anyone trying to leave a full upper tier
in a hurry.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTheatres, Public Relations Manager at St George's Hall, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hi BrianandNas
Thanks for your enquiry.
As a public venue we have very strict safety guidelines that we must adhere to and which we do. There is actually 4 emergency exits on each floor of the building including the Grand Tier. (1 in each corner of the floor) which are continuously checked by both the Fire Brigade and the local authority of which we're run and owned by. Without passing these strict regular safety checks we would not be open our doors so please be assured that we meet and surpass all current safety checks and the safety of our patrons is a paramount concern.
Theatres Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent seating for dwarves”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

this is a great venue if you have five mates and a leader called snow white. the chairs are too small for men and when one cannot sit down the rows behind get upset as they too have paid and cannot see through or over you,

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fine building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

They frequently have excellent artists. Useful for lots of other purposes. Level access for disabled. A feeling of quality architecture in a fine city.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St George's Hall also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to St George's Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St George's Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.