We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just .....ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dubrovnik Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dubrovnik Hotel to your Saves list
Dubrovnik Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Oak Avenue, Bradford BD8 7AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Bradford
hull
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“just .....ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We went to this hotel on a group on!!
It was good position for Haworth, saltaire,etc but if you just fancied a nice stroll around the hotel or even sit outside and enjoy the hotel grounds we'll... then this is not for you!!
The bar was only open some of the time, it was decorated lovely and the staff were really nice!!.
The rooms were very clean but the bathroom was very smelly!!
The food in the restaurant was good but we just felt a little embarrassed when the waiter kept announcing,,,"are you a groupon"..I know its a little niggle but when the restaurant was full it just made everyone turn and look at the "groupons" lol!!
We were not on our own with this, he did it to a few people!!
Overall good value!! I suppose you do get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    71
    27
    9
    14
See reviews for
31
68
17
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

On arrival we were given the keys to a room which was not made up.Looked and smelt unhygienic throughout.The whole hotel appeared to be jaded and the environs uninspiring.Turned around and left. Who is writing these reviews?Tripadvisor at its worst.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here overnight with my husband. When we got there we were told there had been a booking error and we had to go into another room which was quite dated. The towels were pretty threadbare and small, no anti slip mat and no plug in the bath, headboard was a bit grubby looking and the bed wasn't very comfortable. To be fair Simon did offer us a free evening meal as compensation which was delicious although drinks and the food took some time to arrive as was the breakfast. We couldn't get wifi to work in our room on in the restaurant or bar area. When checking out no one asked how our stay had been. Customer service was a bit lacking in areas. Overall, it was a reasonably pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trees007, Guest Relations Manager at Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Helen


Many thanks for taking the time to respond. We do apologies for the mix up. The booking system failed that day meaning the room you were allocated was not the room you stayed in. We did compensate you above the value of what you payed. These rooms are due to be refurbished.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My pregnant wife & I had the recent misfortune of booking accommodation at The Dubrovnik Hotel. We were looking for the weekend break, so I booked a deluxe room and made the arrangements by phone with the Hotel.

It's website gave an enticing description of the Dubrovnik as a modern, elegant boutique hotel, offering the finest standards. However, on arrival it was evident to us that these terms were in fact a travesty of the reality. The exterior was immediately discouraging: the building was very shabby with peeling paintwork, damaged woodwork and masonry everywhere, and the grounds were untidy, with an uncut lawn featuring items of litter strewn across it.

Any remaining confidence was shattered on entering the building and approaching the poky counter that served as reception where we were treated to utterly dire and unprofessional service by the bored and casually dressed individual on station. She told us that the room we booked is not ready yet and we should come back after 30-40 minutes, though we went to the hotel after the advised check in time 1400.

We decided to go out for lunch & come back but when we returned we were not offered any help with our luggage, as well as the reception was unstaffed. After a long wait, a lady appeared from the other side of the corridor & asked us to complete the registration form.

Our rising apprehensions about the hotel were more than justified by the tawdry and disgusting interiors. Firstly, the public areas were in a shabby state of disrepair, with corridors and stairwells being uniformly smelly. Although we had been allocated a room on the first floor no working lift was available: a lift shaft appeared to be covered with a cloth, so this presumably was also an unrepaired facility. When it seemed that things could not get worse, we entered our room, which was disgustingly dirty generally, with grimy surfaces everywhere and evidence that no proper cleaning had been undertaken. Worst of all:

* There were dirty marks on the bed sheets and stains were clearly visible beneath.
* Rubbish bins were not emptied.
* The room was very smelly.
*The kettle had a large pink/grey patch of grease on one side, including the pouring lip.
*There were white splashes across the bathroom floor.
* There were black marks on the glass wall of shower tub.
*The door to the corridor had dirty finger marks down one side.

This was the final straw: my wife and I concluded that we could not stay in such unhygienic accommodation in which even basic facilities were either missing or in a condition that precluded any prospect of a comfortable stay. The conditions were so poor that we concluded that this was somewhere that neither we - or anyone else - should stay in, and we left immediately. On informing the receptionist of this, she was clearly unsurprised. Although she said that my comments would be passed on, exactly who to was not indicated and the remark lacked any conviction. There was no expression of regret at our experience, no request for specific details of our complaint and certainly no offer of either remediation or recompense.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trees007, Guest Relations Manager at Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Saffy


We are very concerned that this review is not meant for us. We do not have a lift or a lift shaft or any cloths covering things. We do not have a lawn, are you sure this is for our Hotel?

We have never had such a comment before and are very suprised by your comments

Please contact the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I cannot fault this hotel and its efforts. The room was perfect, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the charity function was very successful with fantastic entertainment, the menu tasted delightful and the management took utmost care to endeavour that my stay at the Dubrovnic Hotel was one to remember.
Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trees007, Guest Relations Manager at Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Kevin


Many thanks for taking the time to respond , we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Best wishes from all the Dubrovnik team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very close to Bradford Grammar School and walking distance to a couple of nice restaurants, one a Thai and an Italian. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bed was especially comfortable with a nice firm mattress. Inspired by Alex Polizzi, I always check for mattress protectors which were provided. The hotel has free WiFi which is reasonably fast. It did all the business jobs I needed but struggled with downloading video later that night. The area is very quiet. Squirrels were playing in the trees outside my room and there was no traffic noise at all. The bathroom was clean. The shower was functional. It was the mixer type, so quite difficult to get the temperature right. Good selection of teas, coffees and hot chocolate in the room. My room had a faulty heater, so it did get quite chilly in the evening.

I went for the continental breakfast at £5, which was reasonably good. Toast was offered. Fruits and yoghurts were good quality and there was the usual array of breakfast cereal on offer. The tables were clean and the room was bright and well decorated. The only slight grumble was that the croissants were not fresh.

I got a room only deal for £49 from hotels.com and breakfast was £5 extra, so the whole deal was better value and better quality than staying in a Travelodge.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trees007, Guest Relations Manager at Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest


Many thanks for taking the time to respond , we appreciate your feed back and do hope to see you here soon



Best wishes


The Dubrovnik Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very friendly staff, hotel looking a little tired in places and lighting could do with an update (it was a dull day though) evening meal excellent and such good value. Quiet and very clean room. Only short drive to delightful Saltaire UNESCO world heritage site salts mill with nice lunch overlooking the river at The Boathouse well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rear at hotel quiet but generally a quiet parkland area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dubrovnik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dubrovnik Hotel

Address: 3 Oak Avenue, Bradford BD8 7AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dubrovnik Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Family run hotel and have been established for 35 years. We make sure that all our guests feel at home when staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dubrovnik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Hotel Bradford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dubrovnik Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.