We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Midland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Midland Hotel to your Saves list
Midland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forster Square, Bradford BD1 4HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Bradford
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I attended my brothers wedding here, the wedding coordinator as brilliant! I haven't been to a wedding since that has been so organised and well run! Timings was brilliant! Food and atmospher great! Everyone went well out there way to ensure we had a great day!
Only down point is that the mens toilet by the princes ball room is smelly and makes the corridor smell of wee! Nice!
But overall 5 star!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Alex,

I am very grateful to you for your review after attending your brother’s wedding at the hotel. Your feedback regarding Denise, who co-ordinated your brother’s wedding, is particularly pleasing and I will ensure she is thanked personally. I will also offer my thanks to the Head Chef and the Operations team who took care of the wedding food and service delivery.


Thank you most sincerely for having taken the time and trouble to write your review, and as you are obviously local to us here in Bradford it will be a pleasure to welcome you once again very soon.

With grateful thanks and best regards

Gary Peacock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    117
    27
    11
    9
See reviews for
57
110
25
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was fantastic, the rooms were fab, the service was great, the location was epic right smack in the middle of shopping central :) the only thing I have a problem with was the food menu.. Breakfast were excellent but evening meals were repetitive and boring. But if you didn't have to eat there for more than 3 days you would be happy. I would most defo stay again :) :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Bluandfluffy,

Many thanks indeed for your very kind comments following your recent stay. I’ll mention your comments both regarding Dinner and Breakfast to our Head Chef who, I am sure, will take on board your constructive feedback.

I hope it’s not too long before we are able to welcome you back to the hotel.

In the meantime thank you once again

Best Regards

Gary Peacock

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

As I live locally I would not normally opt to stay in Bradford City Centre, however I was unable to get a babysitter for Valentines night so I booked Midland Hotel for the 16th Feb on the basis it was ranked number three on Trip Advisor and it was hosting a Valentines Dinner Dance. My first few dealings with the hotel were over the telephone and I found the staff to be engaged, friendly and helpful. On arrival to the hotel my wife and I were there before check-in time but thought we would try our luck with free parking at the hotel – I spoke with reception and they were obliging. Later on when we checked in we were given a glass of wine. At this point my opinion of the hotel couldn’t have been any higher. We had an executive room which was big, comfy and traditional decour but with a wall mounted flat screen TV. Downside was the view from the room was a building and a bus stop – the hotel is next to a train station but I couldn’t see or hear any trains, to be honest we didn’t get disturbed by any form noise from inside or outside the hotel throughout our stay. This is a lovely old fashioned building – the residents bar has an open fire, the reception is like a massive front lounge and the dining areas are all high restaurant standards. The Valentines Dinner Dance was a very pleasant occasion with a live band and efficient waiter service – there are certainly no problems with a lack of staffing. Breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked to order with also a continental buffet with included fresh slices of pineapple and kiwi fruit. Again the service and staff were impeccable. Check out was quick and easy. If you don’t have the kids and you want to stay in Bradford City Centre then this hotel is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Chowny,

Thank you most sincerely for your very comprehensive review following your stay over last weekend for the Valentines Dinner Dance.

I am grateful that you noticed, and were very complimentary about the level of service, food and the overall guest experience that you had throughout your stay and during the Dinner dance. I will pass on your comments to all the staff whom I am sure will be thrilled. It is particularly pleasing when one of our guests openly recommends the hotel to other travellers and for that I thank you.

It is very rewarding for us all when our customers give us such positive feedback and it reinforces our beliefs in the journey that we are on; that is to be recognised as one of the best hotels in the region.


I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future, but in the meantime thank you once again.

Best Regards


Gary Peacock

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Midland. Once again the food and staff were very welcoming. Even offering to send coffee up to our room as soon as we arrived. We had room 114 which was adequate although a little warm, even though radiators off and a humming noise that started around 7am but wasn't a major problem.Last time had room 145 which was much bigger and quieter and should have requested this again. Robes and slippers available in the room. Evening meal was very good with plenty of choice and served efficiently. Breakfasts, plenty of fresh fruit, juices, cheeses, meats, pastries and also cooked breakfasts. Hotel itself was very quiet as there didn't seem to be many guests which was quite surprising as it is by far the best hotel in Bradford. Location is in town centre, with a car park for guests and railway station very close by that takes you to Ilkley, Skipton etc. in a short time. Will definitely be staying at this lovely grand hotel for a third time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Susan C,

I am delighted to have read you review, particularly as you have been so kind and returned to the hotel for the second time after your first visit last summer. It is essential that we maintain a consistent improvement in the overall service and guest experience, and I am very grateful for your kind feedback. I will look into the maintenance issue regarding the humming noise.

I will ensure that I have the pleasure of meeting you on your next visit to the Midland Hotel. In the meantime may I thank you once again for taking the time and trouble to post such a favourable review.

Warmest Regards

Gary Peacock

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

had a family room which was really big (had 2 double beds) lovely hotel only problem was the room was very hot and couldnt switch the heating off.
breakfast was including which was nice.
location is right in the town centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Carl0s77

Thank you for your time in reviewing the hotel following your recent visit. Clear concise and please accept my sincere thanks. Apologies in regards to the heating, the old system does take a while to cool down, and as we’ve had such cold weather recently we’ve had to keep the system on and high almost 24 hours a day.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Gary Peacock

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just back from a great weekend uni reunion (30 years on!) at this hotel- from start to finish, from booking to checking out, the staff were attentive and friendly. It is right next to Forster Square Station in the city centre so conveniently located. We had an Executive Room- huge room and huge bathroom, both spotless. Value for money too- As we booked four rooms the hotel gave us a good rate, booking directly with the hotel. Sympathetically restored keeping the old station memorabilia etc and large function rooms. My husband said he'd definitely book the Midland if he were to come to the area on business. All our party loved it. The breakfast was included and a wide range of continental/cooked to order and fresh fruit available. We also sat in the cosy bar by the fire on our return from a night out and ate from the bar menu for lunch on Saturday- great value for money. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Moot,
Thank you most sincerely for your very generous appraisal of the hotel following your recent stay.

I appreciate your overview of the hotel and its facilities, we feel very proud and privileged to have such history and tradition in our hotel and throughout the company customer service ethos.

I will pass on your very kind comments to all the staff, who continuously strive for excellence, and they appreciate the recognition of their commitment to the hotel.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel at some future date, but in the meantime thank you very much for your review.

Best Regards

Gary Peacock

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I came north for work +decided to stay here.

Its a building with lots of character - just look at the restaurant ceiling - wow!

It's a very spacious building +has the usual bars +free parking or literally next door to the station but no noise.

WiFi everywhere +free!

Easy walking distance to shops, museums, pubs etc.

The service is remarkable, with
particular thanks to Rose for excellent customer service +local information :-)

Breakfast a good choice, and lovely salmon++++

Overall nothing at alk to fault!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Madkelt,

Thank you for your recent review on the hotel which was all encompassing and extremely complimentary.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel once again very soon.

In the meantime thank you once again

Best Regards

Gary Peacock

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midland Hotel

Address: Forster Square, Bradford BD1 4HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bradford
#3 Business Hotel in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Midland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland Hotel is now Bradford’s Premier city centre hotel by reputation. Blending contemporary facilities with an era of opulence, the hotel offers some of the finest Victorian interiors in the County, ornate plaster work, high ceilings and glittering chandeliers. Classically designed new Four Poster Suites, Family,Premium, Executive bedrooms and all the modern day facilities that you would expect of a 4 star hotel, including Free Wireless broadband to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Midland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midland Hotel Bradford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.