We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel staff I've encountered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Bradford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Bradford to your Saves list
Campanile Bradford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Roydsdale Way | Euroway Industrial Estate, Bradford BD4 6SA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL £7 DISCOUNT
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Bradford
South England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best hotel staff I've encountered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for conference. Very large room with huge comfortable bed. All brand new, some of the public areas are a little tired but if the upgrade is as good as the bedrooms it will be great when all finished. We had all meals at the hotel and they were really good, fresh veggies and wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    119
    36
    14
    7
See reviews for
44
77
18
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Warwickshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed in the Campanile as part of a conference booking package. The conference was held in another hotel a few minutes away, and our first surprise was the cost of the room. Normally, the conference we attend negotiates a discounted price for accommodation. I was surprised to be charged the rack rate. It turned out that the conference organisers had negotiated the price two years ago before the economic downturn and when the hotel was under different ownership (Novotel). In 2007, the price we expected represented a fair discount. With the passage of time, the new owners had brought the rack rate down to the discounted rate. Nice for everyone, except those of us expecting a discount.

The hotel itself is a 1970s system-build concrete box on an industrial estate, though to be fair, the hotel was there first - one of the earliest of the breed of 'hotel by a motorway junction' establishments. The surroundings have some rural aspects visible in the distance, though we were treated to the sight of a fox in the car park when returning one night. Otherwise, the view mainly consisted of a pet food cash-and-carry warehouse.

The refurbishment that other reviewers had mentioned was in its final stages. Our floor (1st floor, now confusingly known as the second) had been handed back the day before, so we were the first occupants of our room. Handover hadn't been accompanied by proper hotel management checks, so our room was lacking a welcome pack or a telephone. It was like being royalty - a smell of fresh paint everywhere (and a few signs of builders' activity in the form of some dust in hard-to-reach corners of the room).

The real shock was the room itself. It was a white minimalist space on a restricted budget. The furniture was cheap with no doors to any of the storage space, the lighting harsh fluorescents, and the decor was appalling. Campanile Group uses a virulent green colour in its corporate branding. The whole wardrobe area of the room was finished in the same green!!!!!!!! Lights were almost unnecessary as you expected it to glow in the dark...

My overall impression was that this was a room that could easily be mistaken for one in a hotel belonging to the budget chain Etap. It seemed little more luxurious. OK, there were tea & coffee facilities and aircon, the beds weren't bunks and the hotel restaurant was better (in breakfast terms) - but still, I felt I was getting an Etap room at more than double the price. That's just not good enough.

Ground floor was still under refurb but due to be handed back within the week. Some of the public areas, such as the corridor to the restaurant, looked dingy and could easily be mistaken for closed service areas. The restaurant was another minimalist space, and cried out for some decoration on the huge, empty white walls. And why are the three-phase electricity outlets so prominently featured in what should be one of the principal public spaces?

Breakfast was OK, though you have to like your eggs scrambled because there was no alternative and the quality of the sausages was definitely down to a price. On the other hand, the staff were friendly and helpful - possibly the best thing about the hotel. But it has to be said that our room was not serviced on the Sunday at all.

Luggage handling facilities were restricted to one trolley that appeared to have been liberated from an airport. And the lift - a modern Otis job - had been heavily misused by the contractors and was badly scratched and internally damaged in terms of decor. Some of the internal doors - especially to the staircase - are still 1970s originals.

The refurb needs to be completed in terms of public areas, and the contractors definitely have to pay for reapirs to the lift decor. And either the room decor needs a rethink or the price needs to be dropped. I would only stay here again if someone else was paying and I was only staying the odd night in transit to somewhere else. But for choice I'd go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

Booked to stay at the Campanile Bradford for 2 nights in May 2008. This place was so bad we left after 1 night. The hotel is located on a trading estate near M606. The reception area was quite smart. But then everything went down hill. The lift wasn't working and we were staying on the 4th floor. The only good thing you could say about the rooms was that they are a decent size. They were very dated with shabby furnishings. A strange combination of a separate toilet and separate bathroom also very dated complete with the last occupants hairs. The cups provided were dirty. We looked out of the window for a lovely view of a used condom on the ajoining flat roof.

I understand this hotel is due to be refurbished so I would check to make sure this has happened before visiting.

  • Liked — Size of room
  • Disliked — dated decor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

i have just returned from a 2 night stay as part off a coach party. i read reviews and feared the worst. the check in was the quickest i have experienced. staff were pleasant and helpful, rooms large clean and very comfortable. the food was excellent. as we were a coachparty we had set meal times but that was ok. yes we were stuck in the middle of a business park but taxis are plentiful even on a saturday night . this was an ideal stay for a short break and would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Bradford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Bradford

Address: 6 Roydsdale Way | Euroway Industrial Estate, Bradford BD4 6SA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Bradford 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, full service hotel with multilingual staff, restaurant and bar; located near M62 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Campanile Bradford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Bradford Hotel Bradford
La Quinta Bradford
Novotel Bradford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Bradford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.