We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but, Room needs attention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Great Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Great Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Bridge Street, Bradford BD1 1JX, England (Formerly Victoria Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Bradford
Scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel but, Room needs attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

It would have been five stars but the large, quiet room with a huge comfy bed was in dire need of redecoration. The plaster was repaired (poorly), odd furniture in various states of disrepair, and a weird built in wardrobe. The bathroom worked but was tired and dated. That's the bad news, now for the good news:
The public rooms and halls were in excellent condition- really grand and actually sparkling clean.
The staff were great - pleasant, helpful, and attentive. Perfect service - what we needed when we wanted it.
The breakfast was incredible. A large buffet with loads of choices. Great produce prepared well.
If the room had a bit of a makeover, I would have given the place five stars... Maybe the I other rooms are better.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, General Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I am grateful of your feedback and look forward too seeing you again soon,

I can ensure you that i will be addressing the room you stayed in.

Kind regards
Dan Kirkham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    153
    69
    37
    24
See reviews for
42
200
43
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I have stayted in this particular hotel on a number of occasions and I can be very honest when i say I have only ever had one issue which I raised and was rectified immeadiately.

The rooms are a good size (pending price), en-suites are clean and fully functional.
Staff are polite, friendly and able to assit.
Lift, is a little 'old' but its to be expected in a building/hotel of this age
Restuarant food is quality, not quantity but you are certainly not left feeling unsatisfied.

Excellent locatin, short walk to the high street shops, casino, cinema etc and quiet frankly a well placed and enjoyable hotel.

I would glady stay again and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Always worth checking for deals on groupon as you will grab a bargain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, General Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I am very grateful of your kind comments and look forward too seeing you again soon

Kind regards
Dan Kirkham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I booked this hotel for 2 nights. I was on a 2 days training course in Harrogate. I could not get late booking in Harrogate due to Tour De France and Great Yorkshire Show taking place in Harrogate. I booked this hotel in Bradford which was about 20 miles from my training venue. The room (117) was furnished with knackered furniture. The window in the bedroom was non-functional (broken mechanical parts) as I could not open it to get fresh air. There was no ventilation in the room. There was no air-condition or fan in the room. I had 2 uncomfortable and partial sleepless nights due to the uncomfortable environment in the room. The house keeping and cleanliness was very good. The WiFi was non existence most of the time. The staffs were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, General Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I am terribly sorry to read of your comments regarding your accommodation, i hope that you will come to stay with us again soon and may i ask that upon booking you request to speak to my reservationist Asma who will ensure that the room you are placed is of a higher standard.

Kind regards
Dan Kirkham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My family and I stayed here in May for a local wedding nearby. We were later serving than planned due to heavy traffic while travelling. The hotel were understanding and checked us in with no problems offering us fresh sandwiches as we hadn't eaten. Rooms were lovely well equipped and beds were very comfortable to sleep on. Didn't hear much noise from other guest even though there were two weddings that weekend at the hotel.

Breakfast was excellent both morning full cooked English if you wanted a big breakfast along with smaller items if you wanted a small meal. Choices were good and fresh eggs were available to cook.

Staff were great reception ladies ordered us a taxi and got us to our wedding as we weren't sure of the area. Thank you.

We all had a wonderful stay. The hotel is Victorian with a few slight scratches here and there but don't feel put off with reviews I was worried after reading other peoples but it was fantastic!!!!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, General Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
It is great to note, that we have outweighed your expectations over the reviews and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Dan Kirkham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Had a great weekend here for two nights. Ideally located next to the Bradford Interchange station, free parking and wifi added to the convenient location of this charming Victorian hotel. If you need somewhere reasonably priced (despite the Tour de France weekend, this was still cheaper than the so called budget Ibis hotel down the road!!!).

Busy with weddings all weekend, the atmosphere added to the pleasurable stay, friendly reception staff (24hr check in), and a welcome relief as you walk into the lobby. The bar is 24hrs, and after a nightmare 8.5hrs drive it was perfect for a nightcap!

Although there's not much around the hotel, cabs are inexpensive into Leeds (20mins away), it made for a quiet restful night. Room was pleasant, spacious and at the right temperature! Bathroom could do with an update, toilet directly behind the door not ideal, on the small side but stocked with White Company complimentaries. Shame about the picture quality and tiny TV! Breakfast was ok, not an exciting selection but both full English and continental available.

An all round beautiful hotel popular with weddings for obvious reasons, definitely worth avoiding the chain hotels for a night or two for the charm of this nicely refurbished hotel.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room, do ask. We were granted just that and made the difference of an exhausting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, General Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
I am delighted to read of your pleasant stay and look forwarding to welcoming you again soon

Kind Regards
Dan Kirkham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Fabulous hotel for a wedding. Most of the staff are really friendly but the receptionists are argumentative and not very welcoming. They let the place and the other staff down. The manager works really hard to make sure the weddings run smoothly. I refused to pay £10 for a cot after already paying for a family room. The hotel itself is spacious and clean and the breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was here on a business trip last week, and have nothing but great feedback for this hotel.

The room was clean, spacious and the bed comfy.

The service was exemplary, Guna/Guner (sorry if im spelling this wrong) was an absolute star and couldnt do enough for my boss and I- to the extent she offered me her own hayfever tablets from her own supply, which I thought was just something else, and so generous. I wasn't expecting this!

Breakfast was spot on, hot, tasted good and there were plenty of options too.

I'd highly recommend staying here if you need somewhere very good value for money with great food, location and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, General Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
To whom it may concern

I am grateful of your feedback and will pass your comments on to your team particularly Guna

Kind regards
Rachel Pollard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Victoria Hotel

Address: 39 Bridge Street, Bradford BD1 1JX, England (Formerly Victoria Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Old-fashioned Hotel located opposite Bradford Interchange Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Great Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bradford
Great Victoria Bradford
Victoria Hotel Bradford
Great Victoria Hotel Bradford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.