We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Great Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Great Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Bridge Street, Bradford BD1 1JX, England (Formerly Victoria Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Bradford
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Myself and my work colleagues attended The Great Victoria Hotel for a christmas party. The atmosphere was fantastic. The room had beautiful oak pannelling and origional features, blended with an ultra modern touch. The staff were professional, friendly and attentive. We were seated at our table, which set the festive scene, next to the christmas tree. The starters were brought out, and even though there were lots of people to serve, the waitresses asked if we requested anything else. There was adequate time left between each course. The food was fresh and cooked extremely well and I could not fault any one of the three courses. A DJ was provided, which got everyone on the floor dancing. I would definately recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to put your comment. We are pleased to hear you and your colleagues had great time during Christmas Party in our Hotel.

We look forward to your next visit in Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    138
    61
    33
    23
See reviews for
37
169
41
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Branston Pickle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

This was the first Hotel I took my wife to nearly 16 years ago; In the interim period I had often checked their web site but had refrained from booking a return visit as it appeared to have 'changed' and become quite 'modern' and I suppose that I wanted to remember it as the fabulous place we had first visited together all those years ago.
Having read recent reviews I decided it was well overdue a return visit and booked a weekend for our wedding anniversary and wife's birthday.
I needn't have worried the room we were allocated was still as wonderful as on our first visit, with the added bonus of modern bathroom fittings. All the 'public' areas were as elegant as we remember, the entrance lobby and the dining area were beatifully decorated for Christmas and there was a welcoming fire in the reception area.
On the second night we dined in the Hotel Restaurant and because we chose to eat early had the dining room to ourselves and the exceptional meal was served by Evia and her colleague who deserve special praise for making our weekend memorable.
Hopefully we will return, but not leave it so long this time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear you had enjoyable stay in our hotel and that we could help make it memorable for you and your wife on that special occasion.

We look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed on the 4th Floor, a real treat. Individually designed luxurious rooms, great spaces to spend a few nights in.

As always, there is a 'however' ... there are little details that just slightly spoil the fun ... there are small service issues, lack of attention to detail, and it's hard to put the finger on what exactly it is. It is a bit like someone has had great ideas, did 95% of the work and then lost interest - actually a bit disappointing, because the Great Victoria has it all, space, location, value for money, and and and to be an outstanding place, at the moment it is above average, but could do with finishing on the extra 5%!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 4th floor, so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dera Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear you had enjoyable stay. Your feedback is very appreciated and helpful in improving our standards.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We have just returned from a nights stay. This is a lovely hotel, the staff are extremely friendly and service was very good. The food was of a very high standard and excellent value for money. The room was lovely and clean. Sitting slap bang in the middle of the city with a car park as well it is also convenient. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Great Victoria Hotel and look forward to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Got a good price of £42 for a comfortable double room. Staff pleasant and helpful apart from not warning me that the wi fi had been playing up for the previous two weeks and might not be working when I asked for the log in password. Very irritating that the wi-fi kept on dropping out without knowing why. Also poor choice of television channels and (in common with just about every other hotel) no radio. No real ale in the bar, so did not try it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011 via mobile

Only paid £55 for a luxury room plus a two course meal with wine.

Pro's

1. Nice modern room
2.comfy beds
3. Lovely meal
4. Great breakfast delivered to the room on time
5. Nice bar for pre dinner drinks
6. Attractive lobby
7. Free parking
8. Central location
9. Customer service was excellent, they dealt swiftly with the noise problem ( see cons below)

Cons

1. Bathrooms let the side down, not as modern as the bedroom.
2. Toilet didnt flush properly
3. Bath was a bit grimy around the tiles
4. Bed side tables dust
5. There was a loud function directly below our room, going on until the early hours, however when we complained they moved us to a quieter room ( down grade but didn't care, just wanted to sleep)

We really enjoyed our stay. The good out weighs the bad. Would recommend. Cons are minor when you consider the value for money

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you had enjoyable stay and we appreciate all your feedback. All points mentioned had been rectified and dealt with.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here for my Birthday treat in a Penthouse suite - lovely, clean and beautifully decorated! We also ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent. We shall definitely be returning!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Lizzie,

Thank you very much for your time to post your comment. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us especially on that special occasion. We are looking forward to welcome you again in Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Victoria Hotel

Address: 39 Bridge Street, Bradford BD1 1JX, England (Formerly Victoria Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Old-fashioned Hotel located opposite Bradford Interchange Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Great Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bradford
Great Victoria Bradford
Victoria Hotel Bradford
Great Victoria Hotel Bradford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.